College of Sciences

Department of Physics and Astronomy


About the Department


Department Chair

Department Chair - Dr. Angela Speck

The Department of Physics and Astronomy at The University of Texas at San Antonio is a comprehensive academic unit that offers Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctoral degrees.

Our faculty members conduct research in a variety of areas including Astrophysics and Cosmology; Biophysics; Computational Physics; Experimental and Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics; Materials Science; and Nanotechnology and Ultramicroscopy.

Students may choose to train in semiconductor technology, solid-state physics, computer visualization, lasers, biophotonics, and theoretical physics. We also offer courses in the exciting areas of astrophysics, cosmology, and relativity for those interested in that frontier.

We strive to provide UTSA science and engineering students with a solid background in physics and problem-solving skills, critical to their future work, regardless of the nature of that work. We also aim to provide students with as much research experience as possible, to better prepare them for their future careers.

We invite you to look us over and consider the study of physics at UTSA.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Physics and Astronomy department is to provide science and engineering students at UTSA with a solid background in physics, problem-solving skills, and equip students with invaluable research experience.


© The University of Texas at San Antonio