Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Council Members

2018-2019 Staff Council

Executive Officers

Chair John Shaffer
Vice-Chair Matt Keneson
Secretary/Historian Sabina Bhattathiry-Kapoor
Parliamentarian Brandy Barksdale

Twenty-nine of the thirty-five Staff Council positions are divided proportionally amongst UTSA's functional areas based on the number of employees from each area. The remaining six positions are selected from Administrative & Professional (A&P) staff members from any functional area.

If a Council member changes positions to another functional area, they may resign from Staff Council or complete their term under the functional area they were elected to represent. Council members are listed below according to the area they were elected to represent.

Offices Reporting to the President

Jaime Fernandez Jaime Fernandez
Auditing & Consulting Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Jaime.Fernandez@utsa.edu

Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Reuben Aleman Reuben Aleman
Veteran & Military Affairs
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Reuben.Aleman@utsa.edu
Courtney Balderas-Jacob Courtney Balderas-Jacob
Intercultural Programs and Student Engagement
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Courtney.Balderas@utsa.edu
Brandy Barksdale Brandy Barksdale
Resilience & Retention Advising
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Brandy.Barksdale@utsa.edu
Morgan Beard Morgan Beard
Registrar
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Denaire.Beard@utsa.edu
Sabina Bhattathiry-Kapoor Sabina Bhattathiry-Kapoor
Student Placement Advising
Term Expires: 8/31/20 (A&P)
Sabina.Bhattathiry-Kapoor@utsa.edu
Anna Boyer-Chadwick Anna Boyer-Chadwick
Arts & Humanities Advising
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Anna.Boyer-Chadwick@utsa.edu
Vincent Genco Vincent Genco
Campus Services
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Vincent.Genco@utsa.edu
Wanda Guntz Wanda Guntz
Department of Biology
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Wanda.Guntz@utsa.edu
Matt Keneson Matt Keneson
Graduation Help Desk
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Matt.Keneson@utsa.edu
Leticia Longoria-Fisher Leticia Longoria-Fisher
TRC Downtown
Term Expires: 8/31/21 (A&P)
Leticia.Fisher@utsa.edu
Judith Quiroz Judith Quiroz
Department of History
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Judith.Quiroz@utsa.edu
Shannon Rios Shannon Rios
Social Sciences Advising
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Shannon.Rios@utsa.edu
Sarah Sanchez Sarah Sanchez
Transfer & Transition Student Success Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Sarah.Sanchez@utsa.edu
John Shaffer John Shaffer
Graduate School
Term Expires: 8/31/20 (A&P)
John.Shaffer@utsa.edu
Suzanne Stokes Suzanne Stokes
Registrar
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Suzanne.Stokes@utsa.edu
Jason Trevino Jason Trevino
Engineering Advising
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Jason.Trevino2@utsa.edu
Venetta Williams Venetta Williams
Department of Architecture
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Venetta.Williams@utsa.edu

Vice President for Business Affairs

Joe Alderete Joe Alderete
Facilities Housekeeping
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Joe.Alderete@utsa.edu
Elizabeth Corrales Elizabeth Corrales
Human Resource Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Elizabeth.Corrales@utsa.edu
Amy Fritz Amy Fritz
Financial Affairs
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Amy.Fritz@utsa.edu
Hillary Klingman Hillary Klingman
Campus Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21 (A&P)
Hillary.Klingman@utsa.edu
Paul Lozano Paul Lozano
Facilities Utilities Operation
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Paul.Lozano@utsa.edu
Mary Alice Morizen Mary Alice Morizen
Department of Biology
Term Expires: 8/31/20
MaryAlice.Morizen@utsa.edu
Cynthia Orth Cynthia Orth
Business Information Services
Term Expires: 8/31/20 (A&P)
Cynthia.Orth@utsa.edu
 Vacant

Term Expires: 8/31/20
Kristee Phelps Kristee Phelps
Environmental Health, Safety, & Risk Management
Term Expires: 8/31/20 (A&P)
Kristee.Phelps@utsa.edu
 Edward Riojas
Facilities Operations & Maintenance
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Edward.Riojas@utsa.edu
Eric Weber Eric Weber
University Police
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Eric.Weber@utsa.edu

Vice President for Development & Alumni Relations
Vice President for Inclusive Excellence
Vice President for University Relations

Dominick Morales Dominick Morales
Operations & Advancement Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Dominick.Morales@utsa.edu

Vice President for Information Management and Technology

Brian Packer Brian Packer
OIT Infrastructure Services
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Brian.Packer@utsa.edu
Jerry Smith Jerry Smith
University Planning
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Jerry.Smith@utsa.edu

Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics

Jeffrey Miller Jeffrey Miller
Business Service Center Specialist I
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Jeffrey.Miller@utsa.edu

Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise

Daniel Arriaga Daniel Arriaga
Research Support
Term Expires: 8/31/21
Daniel.Arriaga@utsa.edu
 Elba Ramos
Institute for Economic Development
Term Expires: 8/31/20
Elba.Ramos@utsa.edu


In addition to the 35 voting members, there are two non-voting positions representing the UTSA Faculty Senate and the UT System Employee Advisory Council

Non-Voting Positions

Dr. Kimberly Kline
Faculty Senate Liaison to Staff Council
Shannon Rios
UT System Employee Advisory Council Representative

Staff Council Advisor

Veronica Mendez Veronica Mendez
Vice President for Business Affairs