Dean's Bio


Dr. George Perry


George Perry, Ph.D.

Dean of the College of Sciences and Professor of Biology
Semmes Foundation Distinguished University Chair in Neurobiology

George Perry is the 11th dean of the UTSA College of Sciences. Under his leadership, the college has increased research funding by over 95% and endowment by over 100%. Endowed chairs that have been secured during this time include a John Doran Professorship ($5 million), a Welch Distinguished University Chair ($4.25 million), a John Feik Distinguished University Chair ($2 million), two Semmes Foundation Distinguished Chairs ($2 million and $1.75 million), a Kleberg Distinguished Chair ($1.5 million), a Lutcher Brown Chair ($1 million), and a Daniel Parman Chair ($1 million). In 2009, he developed the first UTSA College of Sciences Research Conference, an annual event that highlights the work of undergraduate, graduate, and postdoctoral researchers from UTSA and South Texas.

Dr. Perry earned a B.A. in zoology from the University of California, Santa Barbara and a Ph.D. in marine biology from the Scripps Institution of Oceanography. He received a postdoctoral fellowship in the Department of Cell Biology at Baylor College of Medicine. In 1982, he joined the faculty of Case Western Reserve University, where he currently holds an adjunct appointment. Dr. Perry relocated to San Antonio in 2006 to assume his current position of Dean of the College of Sciences at UTSA.

Dr. Perry is recognized internationally for his work in the field of Alzheimer's disease research, particularly in the area of oxidative stress. He has been cited over 75,000 times and is recognized as a Thompson-Reuters highly cited researcher. Dr. Perry is editor for numerous journals and is editor-in-chief for the Journal of Alzheimer's Disease.

He is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences, the Microscopy Society of America, the Texas Academy of Sciences, past-president of the American Association of Neuropathologists and the Southwestern and Rocky Mountain division of AAAS, a member of the Dana Alliance for Brain Initiatives, and a Fulbright Specialist. He is a Foreign Correspondent Member of the Spanish Royal Academy of Sciences, the Academy of Science Lisbon, and a Foreign Member of the Mexican National Academy of Sciences. He is also a recipient of the National Plaque of Honor from the Republic of Panama Ministry of Science and Technology.


Click here to see a list of previous deans.