Faculty


Emeritus | Retired

Hend Alkittawi
Hend Alkittawi, M.S.

Lecturer
M.S., Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Office: NPB 3.316
Email: Hend.Alkittawi@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer Vision
  • Image Processing
  • Machine Learning
  • Precision Agriculture
Benjamin Anderson
Benjamin Anderson, M.S.

Associate Professor of Practice
(Joint: COB Information Systems)
M.S., Iowa State University

Office: NPB 3.234
Phone: (210) 458-2672
Email: Benjamin.Anderson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersecurity
Imtiaz Arafat
Imtiaz Arafat, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.358
Phone: (210) 458-5544
Email: ImtiazMuhammad.Arafat@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersickness
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Virtual Reality
Fatma Arslan
Fatma Arslan, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.350
Email: Fatma.Arslan@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer Vision
  • Image Enhancement and Object Recognition
  • Image Processing Applications
  • Orthogonal Transforms
Rajkumar Banoth
Rajkumar Banoth, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University

Office: NPB 3.204
Email: Rajkumar.Banoth@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersecurity
  • Deep Learning in Health Care
  • Information Security
  • Machine Learning
  • Security in Mobile Ad Hoc Networks
Mitra Bokaei Hosseini
Mitra Bokaei Hosseini, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: SP1 340B
Email: Mitra.BokaeiHosseini@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Legal Compliance
  • Natural Language Processing
  • Privacy
  • Software Engineering
Rajendra Boppana
Rajendra Boppana, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern California

Office: NPB 3.312
Phone: (210) 458-5692
Email: Rajendra.Boppana@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer and Information Security
  • Computer Networks
Mohammad Imran Chowdhury
Mohammad Imran Chowdhury, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Florida State University

Office: NPB 3.222.08
Email: MohammadImran.Chowdhury@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Algorithms
  • Machine Learning
  • Robotics
Kevin Desai
Kevin Desai, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at Dallas

Office: SP1 340J
Phone: (210) 458-4166
Email: Kevin.Desai@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Collaborative Virtual Environments
  • Computer Vision
  • Virtual/Augmented/Mixed Realities
Ali Dogru
Ali Dogru, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Southern Methodist University

Office: NPB 3.214
Email: Alihikmet.Dogru@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Complex Event Processing
  • Compositional Software Development
  • Fault Management
  • No-Code Development
  • Software Engineering
Anandi Dutta
Anandi Dutta, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Office: NPB 3.308
Phone: (210) 458-4176
Email: Anandi.Dutta@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Data Mining
  • Natural Language Processing
  • Reconfigurable Computing
  • Systems-on-Chip Design
Alperen Ergur
Alperen Erg├╝r, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
(Joint: Mathematics)
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Office: FLN 4.01.36
Email: Alperen.Ergur@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Algebraic Algorithms
  • Computational Geometry
  • Optimization
  • Randomized and Numerical Methods
  • Theory of Computing
Amanda Fernandez
Amanda Fernandez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Albany, SUNY

Office: NPB 3.326
Email: Amanda.Fernandez@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Adversarial Learning
  • Computer Vision
  • Deep Learning
Matthew Gibson-Lopez
Matthew Gibson-Lopez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Iowa

Office: NPB 3.320
Phone: (210) 458-8732
Email: Matthew.Gibson@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Algorithms
  • Computational Geometry
  • Medical Image Segmentation
Mauricio Gomez
Mauricio Gomez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Purdue University

Office: NPB 3.208
Phone: (210) 458-4967
Email: Mauricio.Gomez@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Ambient Intelligence
  • Cloud Computing
  • Multi-Agent Systems
  • Robotics
  • Systems Survivability
no-photo
Keith Harrison, Ph.D.

Lecturer
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.138
Phone: (210) 458-2184
Email: Keith.Harrison@utsa.edu

John Heaps
John Heaps, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.328
Email: John.Heaps@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Natural Language Processing
  • Privacy and Vulnerability Compliance
Murtuza Jadliwala
Murtuza Jadliwala, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record
Ph.D., State University of New York at Buffalo

Office: NPB 3.340 | SP1 310N
Phone: (210) 458-5693
Email: Murtuza.Jadliwala@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Activity Recognition
  • Adversarial Machine Learning
  • Applied Cryptography
  • Cryptocurrencies and Blockchains
  • Incentive Mechanisms for Security
  • Privacy Enhancing Technologies
Sumit Jha
Sumit Jha, Ph.D.

Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record
Ph.D., Carnegie Mellon University

Office: NPB 470A
Email: Sumit.Jha@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Logic and Automata Theory
  • Parallel Algorithms and Architecture
  • Quantum Computing
Turgay Korkmaz
Turgay Korkmaz, Ph.D.

Professor and Interim Department Chair
Ph.D., University of Arizona

Office: NPB 3.330
Phone: (210) 458-7346
Email: Turgay.Korkmaz@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer and Information Security
  • Computer Networks
Dhireesha Kudithipudi
Dhireesha Kudithipudi, Ph.D.

Professor
(Joint: CEID Electrical & Computer Engineering)
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: SP1 310E
Phone: (210) 458-8539
Email: Dhireesha.Kudithipudi@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • AI Algorithms
  • Emerging Computing Substrates
  • Energy Efficient Machine Learning
  • Lifelong Learning
  • Neuromorphic AI Systems and Architectures
  • Spiking and Rate Based Models
Palden Lama
Palden Lama, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Undergraduate Advisor of Record
Ph.D., University of Colorado

Office: NPB 3.306
Email: Palden.Lama@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Cloud Computing
  • Distributed Systems
  • Operating Systems
  • Sustainable Computing
no photo
Byron Long, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Indiana University

Office: NPB 3.332
Email: Byron.Long@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Logics for Reasoning about Programs
  • Models of Computation
Panos Markopoulos
Panagiotis (Panos) Markopoulos, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
(Joint: CEID Electrical & Computer Engineering)
Ph.D., University at Buffalo, The State University of New York

Office: SP1 340E
Email: Panagiotis.Markopoulos@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Data Science
  • Machine Learning
  • Signal Processing
  • Wireless Communications
Richard Murphy
Richard Murphy, M.S.

Assistant Professor of Practice
M.S., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.222
Email: Richard.Murphy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer Science Pedagogy
  • Network Performance Monitoring and Modeling
  • Protocol Design
  • Protocol Interactions
Paul Rad
Peyman Najafirad (Paul Rad), Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: SP1 310G
Phone: (210) 458-8043
Email: Peyman.Najafirad@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • AI Security
  • Knowledge Representation
  • Probabilistic Decision Making
  • Reinforcement Learning
Jianwei Niu
Jianwei Niu, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Dean of University College
Ph.D., University of Waterloo

Office: NPB 3.314 | SP1 420E
Phone: (210) 458-7360
Email: Jianwei.Niu@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersecurity
  • Data Science
  • Formal Methods
  • Privacy Compliance
  • Software Engineering
John Ortiz
John Ortiz, M.S.

Assistant Professor of Practice
M.S., Air Force Institute of Technology

Office: NPB 3.222
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Email: John.Ortiz@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer Forensics
  • Malware Analysis
  • Reverse Engineering
  • Steganography
Sushil Prasad
Sushil Prasad, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., University of Central Florida-Orlando

Office: NPB 3.344
Phone: (210) 458-7448
Email: Sushil.Prasad@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Data Intensive Computing over Geospatial and Polar Datasets
  • Energy-Efficient Deep Learning Models for Edge Devices
  • Parallel Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Parallel and Distributed Computing
  • Parallel Software Systems
John Quarles
John Quarles, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., University of Florida

Office: NPB 3.322
Email: John.Quarles@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Game Design
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Virtual/Augmented/Mixed Realities
Timothy Richards
Timothy Richards, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Maryland Baltimore County

Office: NPB 3.202
Email: Timothy.Richards@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human-Centered Computing
  • Information Personalization
  • Privacy
  • Usable AI/ML
Jianhua Ruan
Jianhua Ruan, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., Washington University in Saint Louis

Office: SP1 340D
Phone: (210) 458-6819
Email: Jianhua.Ruan@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • AI for Life Sciences
  • Bioinformatics
  • Computational Systems Biology
Linda Rutherford
Linda Rutherford, M.S.

Assistant Professor of Practice
M.S., University of Texas at San Antonio
M.A., AF Air Command and Staff College
M.A., Webster University

Office: NPB 3.316
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Email: Linda.Rutherford@utsa.edu

Amin Sahba
Amin Sahba, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.222.05
Email: Amin.Sahba@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • AI and Machine Learning
  • Big Data
  • Deep Learning
  • Image Processing and NLP
  • IoT
Ramin Sahba
Ramin Sahba, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.222.06
Email: Ramin.Sahba@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • AI and Machine Learning
  • Big Data
  • Deep Learning
  • Image Processing and NLP
  • IoT
Ravi Sandhu
Ravi Sandhu, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University

Office: NPB 3.122K
Phone: (210) 458-6081
Email: Ravi.Sandhu@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Access Control Models and Systems
  • Holistic Security
  • Secure Cloud Computing
  • Secure Cloud Enabled IoT/CPS
Jessica Sherette
Jessica Sherette, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.222.07
Phone: (210) 458-4177
Email: Jonathan.Sherette@utsa.edu

Murtaza Ahmed Siddiqi
Murtaza Ahmed Siddiqi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., Yeungnam University, South Korea

Office: NPB 3.222
Email: MurtazaAhmed.Siddiqi@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersecurity
  • Machine Learning
  • Network Intrusion Detection Systems
Sam Silvestro
Sam Silvestro, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: NPB 3.336
Phone: (210) 458-5542
Email: Sam.Silvestro@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Parallel Systems
  • Secure Memory Allocation
  • Systems Programming
Rocky Slavin
Rocky Slavin, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Texas at San Antonio

Office: SP1 310S
Email: Rocky.Slavin@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer and Information Security
  • Mobile and IoT Privacy
  • Natural Language Processing
  • Security Patterns
  • Software Engineering
Juan Valadez
Juan Valadez, M.S., MBA

Assistant Professor of Practice
M.S., MBA, St. Mary's University

Office: NPB 3.302
Email: Juan.Valadez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cybersecurity
  • High Performance Computing
  • Malware Analysis
  • Web Technologies
Wei Wang
Wei Wang, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Virginia

Office: NPB 3.342
Phone: (210) 458-5667
Email: Wei.Wang@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Programming Languages and Compilers
  • Runtime Environments
  • Software Reliability and Security
Xiaoyin Wang
Xiaoyin Wang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Peking University

Office: NPB 3.208
Phone: (210) 458-7061
Email: Xiaoyin.Wang@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Natural Language Processing
  • Program Languages and Analysis
  • Software Engineering
  • Software Security
Gregory White
Gregory White, Ph.D.

Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University

Office: NPB 3.138 B10
Phone: (210) 458-2166
Email: Greg.White@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Automated Information Sharing
  • Detection of Intrusive Cyber Activities
  • Whole-Community Cybersecurity
Mimi Xie
Mimi Xie, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor
PhD., University of Pittsburgh

Office: NPB 3.328
Phone: (210) 458-5550
Email: Mimi.Xie@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Emerging Non-Volatile Memory Optimization
  • Energy Harvesting System
  • Tiny AI on IoT
Timothy Yuen
Timothy Yuen, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Dean for Undergraduate Studies
(Joint: COEHD Interdisciplinary Learning)
Ph.D., University of Texas at Austin

Office: MB 2.210G
Phone: (210) 458-5047
Email: Timothy.Yuen@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computer Science and Engineering Education
Dakai Zhu
Dakai Zhu, Ph.D.

Professor, Assistant Department Chair, and Graduate Advisor of Record
Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh

Office: NPB 3.338
Phone: (210) 458-7453
Email: Dakai.Zhu@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Dependable and Low-Power Computing
  • IoT and Intelligence
  • Performance Management in Cloud Computing
  • Real-Time Embedded Systems

Emeritus

Anthony Chronopoulos
Anthony Chronopoulos, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Email: Anthony.Chronopoulos@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Science and Engineering
  • Distributed and Parallel Systems
  • High Performance Computing
Kay Robbins
Kay Robbins, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Email: Kay.Robbins@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Data Science and Machine Learning
  • Data Standards and Reproduciblity
  • Visualization
Steve Robbins
Steve Robbins, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Email: Steven.Robbins@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Auralization and Animation
  • Visualization
Weining Zhang
Weining Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Illinois at Chicago

Email: Weining.Zhang@utsa.edu
Google Scholar
Areas of Specialization

  • Databases
  • Data Mining
  • Data Privacy
Λ