Latest information on vaccines and campus operations » Roadrunner Roadmap

Faculty


Emeritus

Emmanuel Akwar
Emmanuel Akwar, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-7899
Email: Emmanuel.Akwar@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry
  • General Physiology
Ursula Alvarado-Miller
Ursula Alvarado-Miller, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Email: Ursula.Alvarado-Miller@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Law
  • Plant Ecology
Edwin Barea-Rodriguez
Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez, Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Dean for Student Success

Phone: (210) 458-5481
Email: Edwin.Barea@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Learning and Memory
  • Neuroscience
  • Science Education
Jessica Beckham
Jessica Beckham, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Email: Jessica.Beckham@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Entomology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Environmental Zoology
Brian Brigham
Brian Brigham, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Email: Brian.Brigham@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Statistics
  • Introduction to Soils
Janis Bush
Janis Bush, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair

Office: FLN 4.02.28
Phone: (210) 458-5660
Email: Janis.Bush@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Statistics
Aaron Cassill
J. Aaron Cassill, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5491
Email: Aaron.Cassill@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Student Success in STEM
Susan Dalterio
Susan Dalterio, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction

Phone: (210) 458-5924
Email: Susan.Dalterio@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drugs and Society
  • Introductory Biology
  • Pharmacology and Toxicology
Kevin Eddy
Kevin Eddy, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Email: Kevin.Eddy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Climate Change Ecology
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Environmental Systems
  • Plant Ecology
Amy Eich-Johnson
Amy Eich-Johnson

Assistant Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: Amy.Jones@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics
Jurgen Engelberth
Jurgen Engelberth, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7831
Email: Jurgen.Engelberth@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Metabolic Analysis of Signaling Compounds
  • Regulation Pathway Leading to Jasmonic Acid Production
Jason Gagliardi
Jason Gagliardi, M.S.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: FLN 4.03.34
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Jason.Gagliardi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Environmental Remediation
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Environmental Systems
Jesus Garza-Decanini
Jesus Garza-Decanini, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-7496
Email: Jesus.Garza-Decanini@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human Anatomy
  • Physiology
  • Respiratory Therapy
Stephanie Gdovin
Stephanie Gdovin, M.S.

Teaching Lab Supervisor

Office: FLN 4.02.34
Email: Stephanie.Gdovin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Desert Biology
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Flowering Plants
  • Woody Plants
Matthew Grunstra
Matthew Grunstra, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Email: Matthew.Grunstra@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Geology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Geographic Information Systems
Jennifer Guerrero
Jennifer Guerrero, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Email: Jennifer.Guerrero@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Plant Virology
  • Teaching Biology Labs
Luis Haro
Luis S. Haro, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5484
Email: Luis.Haro@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry
  • Endocrinology
  • Molecular Biology
Tanoya Harris
Tanoya Harris, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5923
Email: Tanoya.Harris@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Anthracycline Cardiotoxicity
  • Hormone Cardioprotection against Heart Failure and Ischemic Myocardial Injury
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology
Eddie Hernandez
Eddie Hernandez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Phone: (210) 458-5661
Email: Hector.Hernandez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cardiovascular Physiology
  • Diabetes Mellitus and Renal Disease
  • Human Anatomy and Physiology
Mariah Hopkins
Mariah Hopkins, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction and Assistant Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-6569
Email: Mariah.Hopkins@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Ecology, Evolution, and Behavior
  • Spatial Data Analysis and GIS
  • Wildlife Epidemiology and Public Health
Jeffrey Hutchinson
Jeffrey Hutchinson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.56
Email: Jeffrey.Hutchinson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Freshwater Ecology
  • Natural Resource Policy and Administration
Monica Juarez
Monica Juarez, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Email: Monica.Juarez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • General Environmental Science
Brian Laub
Brian Laub, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.36
Email: Brian.Laub@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fisheries
  • Freshwater Ecology
  • River Restoration
  • Watershed Processes
Annie Lin
Chin-Hsing Annie Lin, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8534
Email: Annie.Lin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Functional Genomics
  • Stem Cell and Cancer Biology
Martha Lundell
Martha J. Lundell, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5769
Email: Martha.Lundell@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drosophila Molecular Genetics
  • Specification of Neuronal Cell Fate
Fernando Martinez
Fernando Martinez, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Office: FLN 4.02.28
Email: Fernando.Martinez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Assessment
  • Environmental Botany
  • Environmental System
  • Herpetology
  • Wildlife Biology
Terri Matiella
Terri Matiella, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction and Assistant Department Chair

Office: FLN 4.02.32
Email: Terri.Matiella@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Systems
  • Survey Topics
Kareem Mattis
Kareem Mattis

Lecturer

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Email: Kareem.Mattis@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Intro to Environmental Science I Lab
  • Principles of Ecology Lab
Nicolas Medrano
Nicolas Medrano

Lecturer

Email: Nicolas.Medrano@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Geographic Information Systems
Richard Nuckels
Richard Nuckels, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-7206
Email: Richard.Nuckels@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics
  • Molecular Evolution
Clyde Phelix
Clyde F. Phelix, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5495
Email: Clyde.Phelix@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease and Diabetes Mellitus
  • Computational Biology
  • Intellectual Property, Biotechnology, Commercialization
  • Predictive Biosimulations
  • Translational Sciences
Andrew Rodriguez
Andrew Rodriguez

Lecturer

Email: Andrew.Rodriguez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Microbiology
  • Molecular Genetics
  • Mycology
  • Plant Pathology
James Allen Rogers
James Allen Rogers

Assistant Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-3990
Email: James.Rogers3@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biosciences II Labs
David Senseman
David M. Senseman, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5485
Email: David.Senseman@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Visualization and Modeling of Cortical Network Activity
no photo
Nicholas Shumpert

Lecturer

Email: Nicholas.Shumpert@utsa.edu

Jennifer Smith
Jennifer Smith, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.03.32
Phone: (210) 458-7037
Email: Jennifer.Smith@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Field Ecology
  • Ornithology
  • Wildlife Biology
Valerie Sponsel
Valerie Sponsel, Ph.D., D.Sc.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5929
Email: Valerie.Sponsel@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Medicinal Plants
  • Plant Growth and Development
  • Plant Hormones
Matthew Spottswood
Matthew Spottswood, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: Matthew.Spottswood@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetics Labs
Kelly Suter
Kelly J. Suter, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7243
Email: Kelly.Suter@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neural Oscillator Control of Sexual Reproduction
Robert Thompson
Robert Thompson, J.D.

Lecturer

Email: rst@t2law.com
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Law
Matthew Troia
Matthew Troia, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.38
Email: Matthew.Troia@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Ichthyology
Allison Veach
Allison Veach, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.30
Email: Allison.Veach@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Ecosystem Ecology
  • Environmental Microbiology
  • Plant-Microbe Interactions
  • Stream and Soil Ecology
Thomas Willmott
Thomas Willmott, M.S.

Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Email: Thomas.Willmott@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Botany
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Environmentl Geology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Soil Biogeochemistry
Gwen Young
Gwen Young, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Email: Gwen.Young@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Survey Topics
  • Technical Writing

Emeritus

Oscar Van Auken
Oscar Van Auken, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Office: FLN 3.01.08
Email: Oscar.Vanauken@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Physiological Plant Ecology
  • Woody Plants
Λ