Latest information on vaccines and campus operations » Roadrunner Roadmap

Faculty


Adjoint/Adjunct

Alfonso Apicella
Alfonso Apicella, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4543
Email: Alfonso.Apicella@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical Microcircuit Physiology
Anthony Burgos-Robles
Anthony Burgos-Robles, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6260
Email: Anthony.Burgos-Robles@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical and Amygdala Circuits
  • Emotion
  • Learning and Memory
  • Motivation
  • Stress
Melanie Carless
Melanie Carless, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7017
Email: Melanie.Carless@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cardiometabolic Risk
  • Epigenetics
  • Neurological and Psychiatric Disorders
  • Stem Cells
Kimberly Espy
Kimberly Espy, Ph.D.

Peter T. Flawn Chair, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Email: Kimberly.Espy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Executive Control Development and its Deviations due to Medical Conditions and Environmental Variations
  • Statistical Modeling
  • Translational Neuroscience
Chris Gamblin
T. Chris Gamblin, Ph.D.

Professor

Email: Truman.Gamblin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Electron Microscopy
  • Neurodegeneration
  • Protein Biochemistry
  • Protein Misfolding and Aggregation
Gary Gaufo
Gary Gaufo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7196
Email: Gary.Gaufo@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Molecular and Cellular Approaches in Neural Development
Howard Grimes
Howard Grimes, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President and Associate Vice Provost for Institutional Initiatives

Phone: (210) 458-7689
Email: Howard.Grimes@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry and Molecular Mechanisms
  • Communication of Science
  • Cyber Security for Manufacturing
  • Entrepreneurial Leadership
  • Plant Molecular Genetics
Michael Hanna
Michael Hanna, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-4509
Email: Michael.Hanna@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Immunology
  • Neuroscience
Brian Hermann
Brian P. Hermann, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8047
Email: Brian.Hermann@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Male Infertility and Fertility Preservation
  • Single-Cell Gene Expression
  • Spermatogonial Stem Cells
Jenny Hsieh
Jenny Hsieh, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email: Jenny.Hsieh@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Neurogenesis
  • Stem Cells
David Jaffe
David B. Jaffe, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5843
Email: David.Jaffe@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Hippocampal Function and Alzheimer's Disease
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Synaptic and Axonal Signal Integration
Richard LeBaron
Richard LeBaron, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5841
Email: Richard.Lebaron@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Adhesion; Cell Biology
  • Disorders of the Temporomandibular Joint
  • Extracellular Matrix Molecules in Cancers and Diabetes Complications
  • Regenerative Medicine; Tissue Regeneration
Hyoung-gon Lee
Hyoung-gon Lee, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5088
Email: Hyoung-gon.Lee@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Neurodegeneration
Lindsey Macpherson
Lindsey Macpherson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7845
Email: Lindsey.Macpherson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Circuit Mapping
  • Functional Imaging Techniques
  • Sensory Neuroscience
John McCarrey, Ph.D.
John R. McCarrey

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4507
Email: John.McCarrey@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epigenetic Regulation of Cell Functions
  • Mammalian Germ Cells and Stem Cells
Isabel Muzzio
Isabel A. Muzzio, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4810
Email: Isabel.Muzzio@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Aging
  • Animal Cognition
  • Learning and Memory
  • Sleep and Memory
  • Spatial Navigation
Christopher Navara
Christopher Navara, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6497
Email: Christopher.Navara@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Cycle Regulation in Stem Cells
  • Human and Non-Human Primate Pluripotent Stem Cells
  • Mesenchymal Stem Cell Growth and Differentiation
  • Neuronal Differentiation of Pluripotent Stem Cells
Carlos Paladini
Carlos A. Paladini, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4474
Email: Carlos.Paladini@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Dopaminergic Neuron Physiology
George Perry
George Perry, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8660
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Oxidative Stress
Germán Plascencia Villa
Germán Plascencia Villa, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7043
Email: German.PlascenciaVilla@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Advanced Microscopy Techniques
  • Analytical Techniques of Proteins
  • Neuronal Responses
no photo available
Salma Quraishi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7493
Email: Salma.Quraishi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neuroscience
William Ramos
William Ramos, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-6235
Email: William.Ramos@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Biology Lab Coordinator
  • Hazardous Materials Authorized Shipper
  • RISE Training Specialist
RobertRenthal
Robert D. Renthal, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5452
Email: Robert.Renthal@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry and Biophysics of Cell Membranes
  • Insect Chemical Communication
  • Lanthanide Tags in Live Bacterial Cells
Fidel Santamaria
Fidel Santamaria, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6910
Email: Fidel.Santamaria@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Experiments and Modeling of Cerebellar Function
  • Learning and Memory
  • Modeling Power-Law Behavior from Molecules to Behavior
Francesco Savelli
Francesco Savelli, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8066
Email: Francesco.Savelli@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Neural Basis of Navigation
  • Neural Circuits and Behavior
  • Neurophysiology and Function of the Hippocampal Formation
Todd Troyer
Todd W. Troyer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5487
Email: Todd.Troyer@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Behavioral and Neural Dynamics
  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Noise and Sychnronization in Neural Circuits
  • Songbird Learning
Matthew Wanat
Matthew Wanat, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6684
Email: Matthew.Wanat@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drug Addiction
  • Learning and Memory
  • Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior
  • Stress
Nicole Wicha
Nicole Y. Wicha, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7013
Email: Nicole.Wicha@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human Electrophysiology
  • Language and Math Cognition
  • Neurobiology of Human Language
Charles Wilson
Charles J. Wilson, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5654
Email: Charles.Wilson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Brain Stimulation as a Treatment for Neurological Disease
  • Computational Function of Neuron
  • Ionic Mechanisms of Autonomous Brain Activity
  • Structure and Functions of the Basal Ganglia
  • Synaptic Integration and Neuronal Information Processing

Adjoint/Adjunct

Texas Biomedical Research Institute (TBRI)

The Texas Biomedical Research Institute aims to unravel the mysteries of chronic and infectious diseases through innovative thinking, creative problem solving, and cutting edge technologies. Learn more about our adjoint faculty from TBRI.

United States Army Institute of Surgical Research (USAISR)

The United States Army Institute of Surgical Research's mission is optimizing combat casualty care. The Institute has utilized its expertise by caring for burn casualties from every conflict since World War II and continues to serve as the primary Combat Casualty Care research facility for the Army. Learn more about our adjoint faculty from USAISR.

Λ