Faculty


Adjoint

Alfonso Apicella
Alfonso Apicella, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4543
Email: Alfonso.Apicella@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical Microcircuit Physiology
Lacy Barton
Lacy Barton, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5765
Email: Lacy.Barton@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Signaling and Migration
  • Ovary and Testis Development
  • Primordial Germ Cell Dynamics
  • Reproductive Developmental Biology
Anthony Burgos-Robles
Anthony Burgos-Robles, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6260
Email: Anthony.Burgos-Robles@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cortical and Amygdala Circuits
  • Emotion
  • Learning and Memory
  • Motivation
  • Stress
Melanie Carless
Melanie Carless, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7017
Email: Melanie.Carless@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cardiometabolic Risk
  • Epigenetics
  • Neurological and Psychiatric Disorders
  • Stem Cells
Kimberly Espy
Kimberly Espy, Ph.D.

Peter T. Flawn Chair, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs

Email: Kimberly.Espy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Executive Control Development and its Deviations due to Medical Conditions and Environmental Variations
  • Statistical Modeling
  • Translational Neuroscience
Chris Gamblin
T. Chris Gamblin, Ph.D.

Professor

Email: Truman.Gamblin@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Electron Microscopy
  • Neurodegeneration
  • Protein Biochemistry
  • Protein Misfolding and Aggregation
Gary Gaufo
Gary Gaufo, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7196
Email: Gary.Gaufo@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Molecular and Cellular Approaches in Neural Development
Howard Grimes
Howard Grimes, Ph.D.

Associate Vice President and Associate Vice Provost for Institutional Initiatives

Phone: (210) 458-7689
Email: Howard.Grimes@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry and Molecular Mechanisms
  • Communication of Science
  • Cyber Security for Manufacturing
  • Entrepreneurial Leadership
  • Plant Molecular Genetics
Michael Hanna
Michael Hanna, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-4509
Email: Michael.Hanna@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell and Molecular Biology
  • Immunology
  • Neuroscience
Brian Hermann
Brian P. Hermann, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8047
Email: Brian.Hermann@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Male Infertility and Fertility Preservation
  • Single-Cell Gene Expression
  • Spermatogonial Stem Cells
Jenny Hsieh
Jenny Hsieh, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email: Jenny.Hsieh@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Neurogenesis
  • Stem Cells
David Jaffe
David B. Jaffe, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5843
Email: David.Jaffe@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Hippocampal Function and Alzheimer's Disease
  • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder
  • Synaptic and Axonal Signal Integration
Richard LeBaron
Richard LeBaron, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5841
Email: Richard.Lebaron@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Adhesion; Cell Biology
  • Disorders of the Temporomandibular Joint
  • Extracellular Matrix Molecules in Cancers and Diabetes Complications
  • Regenerative Medicine; Tissue Regeneration
Hyoung-gon Lee
Hyoung-gon Lee, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5088
Email: Hyoung-gon.Lee@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Neurodegeneration
Lindsey Macpherson
Lindsey Macpherson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7845
Email: Lindsey.Macpherson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Circuit Mapping
  • Functional Imaging Techniques
  • Sensory Neuroscience
John McCarrey, Ph.D.
John R. McCarrey

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4507
Email: John.McCarrey@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epigenetic Regulation of Cell Functions
  • Mammalian Germ Cells and Stem Cells
Christopher Navara
Christopher Navara, Ph.D.

Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6497
Email: Christopher.Navara@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Cycle Regulation in Stem Cells
  • Human and Non-Human Primate Pluripotent Stem Cells
  • Mesenchymal Stem Cell Growth and Differentiation
  • Neuronal Differentiation of Pluripotent Stem Cells
Vanesa Nieto Estevez
Vanesa Nieto Estevez, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-xx
Email: Vanesa.NietoEstevez@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Brain Development
  • Genetic Epilepsy
  • Induced Pluripotent Stem Cells and Brain Organoids
George Perry
George Perry, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8660
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Oxidative Stress
Germán Plascencia Villa
Germán Plascencia Villa, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7043
Email: German.PlascenciaVilla@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Advanced Microscopy Techniques
  • Analytical Techniques of Proteins
  • Neuronal Responses
William Ramos
William Ramos, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-6235
Email: William.Ramos@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cell Biology Lab Coordinator
  • Hazardous Materials Authorized Shipper
  • RISE Training Specialist
Robert Renthal
Robert D. Renthal, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5452
Email: Robert.Renthal@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biochemistry and Biophysics of Cell Membranes
  • Insect Chemical Communication
  • Lanthanide Tags in Live Bacterial Cells
Fidel Santamaria
Fidel Santamaria, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6910
Email: Fidel.Santamaria@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Experiments and Modeling of Cerebellar Function
  • Learning and Memory
  • Modeling Power-Law Behavior from Molecules to Behavior
Francesco Savelli
Francesco Savelli, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8066
Email: Francesco.Savelli@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Neural Basis of Navigation
  • Neural Circuits and Behavior
  • Neurophysiology and Function of the Hippocampal Formation
Alexey Soshnev
Alexey A. Soshnev, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7950
Email: Alexey.Soshnev@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Chromatin Structure and Function
  • Gene Regulation in Development and Disease
  • Histone Biology and Biochemistry
Todd Troyer
Todd W. Troyer, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5487
Email: Todd.Troyer@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Behavioral and Neural Dynamics
  • Computational Neuroscience
  • Noise and Sychnronization in Neural Circuits
  • Songbird Learning
Parul Varma
Parul Varma, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-xx
Email: Parul.Varma@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Chromatin Structure and Function
  • Molecular Mechanisms in Genetic Epilepsies
  • Single-Cell Technologies
Matthew Wanat
Matthew Wanat, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6684
Email: Matthew.Wanat@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Drug Addiction
  • Learning and Memory
  • Neurobiology of Motivated Behavior
  • Stress
Nicole Wicha
Nicole Y. Wicha, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7013
Email: Nicole.Wicha@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Human Electrophysiology
  • Language and Math Cognition
  • Neurobiology of Human Language
Charles Wilson
Charles J. Wilson, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5654
Email: Charles.Wilson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Brain Stimulation as a Treatment for Neurological Disease
  • Computational Function of Neuron
  • Ionic Mechanisms of Autonomous Brain Activity
  • Structure and Functions of the Basal Ganglia
  • Synaptic Integration and Neuronal Information Processing

Adjoint

Isabel Muzzio
Isabel A. Muzzio, Ph.D.

Ronnie Ketchel Professor, University of Iowa

isabel-muzzio@uiowa.edu
Area of Specialization

  • Behavioral Neuroscience
  • Neurobiology of Learning and Memory
  • Sleep and Memory
  • Spatial Navigation
  • Stress and Emotion
United States Army Institute of Surgical Research (USAISR)
James Bynum
Dr. James Bynum

Adjoint Assistant Professor

james.bynum.civ@mail.mil
Area of Specialization

  • Mesenchymal Stem Cells for Treatment of Trauma
Andrew Cap
Dr. Andrew P. Cap

Adjoint Professor

andrew.p.cap.mil@mail.mil
Area of Specialization

  • Hematology, Transfusion Medicine, and Integrative Physiology
Carmen Hinojosa-Laborde
Dr. Carmen Hinojosa-Laborde

Adjoint Professor

carmen.hinojosa-laborde.civ@mail.mil
Area of Specialization

  • Regulation of Blood Pressure during Hemorrhage
Kai Leung
Dr. Kai Leung

Adjoint Professor

kai.p.leung.civ@mail.mil
Area of Specialization

  • Infections and Wound Healing
Kathy Ryan
Dr. Kathy L. Ryan

Adjoint Professor

kathy.l.ryan.civ@mail.mil
Area of Specialization

  • Prehospital Care of Combat Casualties
Λ