UTSA The University of Texas at San Antonio FACULTY SENATE

Chair's Report Chad Mahood, Ph.D. Faculty Senate Chair Associate Professor Department of Communication May 7, 2020



WELCOME

 We follow Roberts Rules so please wait to be recognized by the Faculty Senate Chair (or SoGF or lead Administrative Assistant)

- Consent Agenda
- Welcome guests

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR ELECTRONIC VOTING

- Current Senate By-laws state that "Voting may be conducted electronically at the discretion of the Chair of the Faculty Senate" unless "a minimum of five senators vote against the electronic voting procedure"
- On a case by case basis, if a vote is called and seconded it will be moved to an email vote with a set deadline (provided fewer than five Senators object)
- Reminder, Senate terms go through August so you may be asked to vote over the summer and summer "Emergency" meetings can be called

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR ELECTIONS

- Secretary
 - Only one nomination
- Parliamentarian
 - Only one nomination
- Vice-Chair
 - Zero nominations



FACULTY SENATE CHAIR POSSIBLE BY-LAW CHANGE FOR ELECTRONIC VOTE



• The Vice-Chair is elected from among the voting members of the Faculty Senate, and remains a voting representative of his/her academic unit. In alternating years, a Chair-Elect will be elected from the Senate at the April meeting. For the subsequent one year period, the Chair-Elect will also serve as Vice Chair, and will eventually assume the role of Chair. If the Chair is re-elected for a second term at this time, there is no Chair-Elect for an additional two years (the Vice Chair position remains intact). If the Chair is unable to complete his or her term of office, then the Vice Chair/Chair-Elect will assume the Chair's duties for either the remainder of the Vice-Chair's term of office, or the remainder of the Chair-Elect's term of office and term of the Chair. In these cases his or her academic unit will be directed to elect an alternate for the remainder of his or her term as Faculty Senator. A new Chair of the Faculty Senate will be elected, if necessary, at the next scheduled election. The Vice-Chair may serve no more than four consecutive terms; however, multiple, non-consecutive terms are allowed. Additionally, the Chair and immediate Past Chair are not eligible for the position of Vice-Chair. The Secretary of the General Faculty is eligible to serve as Vice-Chair so long as the terms of office for the two positions will not overlap. The Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect serves as chair of the Budget Committee. If there are no Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect nominees, a member of the Executive Committee will be appointed to the position.

FACULTY SENATE CHAIR TACTICAL TEAMS

- Currently one Senate Rep on each, email teams leads if you'd also like to serve on one
- Research Excellence & Doctoral Education Recovery
 - co-led by VPREDKE Bernard Arulanandam and Dean Ambika Mathur
- Undergraduate & Masters Education Recovery
 - co-led by Dean David Silva and Interim Vice Provost Melissa Vito
- Advancing Belonging and the "Out of Classroom" Experience in the Digital Era
 - co-led by Dean Gerry Sanders and Senior Vice Provost LT Robinson
- Academic Programs Mix for our Future
 - co-led by Dean Lynne Cossman and Senior Vice Provost Lynn Barnes

- Enabling Clear Pathways to Degree Completion
 - co-lead by Dean Martin Camacho and Vice Provost Tammy Wyatt
- Increasing Inclusive Access to Higher Education in our Communities
 - co-lead by Vice Provost Margo DelliCarpini & Executive Director Roger Enriquez
- Entrepreneurial Revenue Generation
 - co-led by Vice President Karl Miller-Lugo & Associate Vice President for Innovation & Economic Development Rod McSherry
- Efficiencies of Processes and Systems
 - Co-led by Associate Vice President, Mary Hernandez & Vice President Kendra Ketchum



FACULTY SENATE CHAIR COMMITTEE UPDATES



- Monthly:
 - University Leadership Council
 - Joint President's Cabinet and University Leadership Council
 - Space and Planning Advisory Committee (SPAC)
- Occasionally:
 - UT System Faculty Advisory Council (SYSFAC)
 - University HOP Committee