University Life Awards logo

SGA announces University Life Awards winners

(April 29, 2005)--The UTSA Student Government Association (SGA) announces the recipients of the 27th annual University Life Awards, honoring outstanding service to UTSA by students, faculty, staff and registered student organizations.

The University Life Awards have been presented since 1976. The awards ceremony was April 25.

For more information, contact the Office of Student Activities at (210) 458-4160.


27th Annual University Life Award Winners

Outstanding Students in the Colleges

Education and Human Development -- Cindy Cardenas, Cari Davis
Engineering -- Jason West
Liberal and Fine Arts -- Melanie Neely
Public Policy -- Leah Schier
Sciences -- Kimberly Belongia
Honors -- Kimberly Belongia
School of Architecture -- David Matiella

Greek Man and Woman of the Year

Ross B. Langham III
Theresa Y. Survillion

Outstanding Students by Classification

Freshman -- Emily Mandes
Sophomore -- David Martinez
Junior -- Anthony Velasquez
Senior -- Christine LeBlanc
Graduate -- Kristen Dunn

Most Spirited Student

Jason Palasota

Most Outstanding Resident Assistant

Chaunte McClendon

Jane Findling Award

Jennifer Villarreal
Christine DeLeon
Lluvia Sanchez
Viresh Thusu
Damon Garcia
Samuel Johnson

Golden Feather Award

Ashlesh Murthy
Damon Garcia
Cody Coeckelenbergh
Ross B. Langham III
Rachel Snell
Kimberly Belongia

Alumni Association’s Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award

Rosalie Noyes (non-tenured)
Josephine Mendez-Negrete

Most Outstanding Academic Advisor

Sally Bench

Outstanding Support Staff Member

Eileen Skaggs, Office of Transitional Student Advisement Service

Outstanding Professional Staff Member

Fred Wilson, University Center Operations

Diane Abdo Advisor of the Year

Margaret Jackson, College Democrats

Most Outstanding Organization

Student Alumni Association

Most Outstanding Campus Life Program

Multicultural Greek Council

Most Outstanding Cultural Awareness Program

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Most Outstanding Membership Development

Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc.

Most Outstanding Original Service Programming

F.A.C.E.S. (Finding Awareness by Creating Educated Students)

Most Outstanding Political Action Award

College Republicans

Most Outstanding Service Activity

V.O.I.C.E.S. (Volunteer Organization Involving Community Education and Service)

Most Outstanding Special Interest Award

V.O.I.C.E. S. (Volunteer Organization Involving Community Education and Service)

Most Outstanding Religious Awareness Award


Most Scholarly Program

Students In Free Enterprise

Best Male and Female Intercollegiate Athletes

Brandon Buteaux
Jessica Rogers

Club Sports Leader of the Year

Maria Guana

Best Male and Female Fitness Fanatics of the Year

Brian Kendall
Selena Mena-Fernandez

Bobbie Walker Best Male and Female Intramural Athletes of the Year

Brandon Wenzel
Kylee Valenzuela

Official "Zebra" of the Year

Carlos Perez