Faculty


Adjoint  |  Emeritus

Kristabel Aguero
Kristabel Aguero
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-4482
Email: kristabel.aguero@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biosciences II laboratories
» Contemporary Biology I

Emmanuel Akwar
Emmanuel Akwar
Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-7899
Email: emmanuel.akwar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry
» General Physiology

Alfonso Apicella
Alfonso Apicella
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4543
Email: alfonso.apicella@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cortical microcircuit physiology

Bernard Arulanandam
Bernard Arulanandam
Professor and Interim Vice President for Research

Phone: (210) 458-5492
Email: bernard.arulanandam@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cellular immunology
» Microbial pathogenesis
» Mucosal immunity

Edwin Barea-Rodriguez
Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez
Professor and Associate Dean for Student Success and Instructional Innovation

Phone: (210) 458-4511
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Learning and memory
» Neuroscience
» Science education

Hong Cai
Hong Cai
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6493
Email: hong.cai@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics
» Genomic signal processing
» Systems biology

Astrid Cardona
Astrid E. Cardona
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5071
Email: astrid.cardona@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Immune-modulation during neurocysticercosis
» Immunopathogenesis of neuronal damage in multiple sclerosis
» Neuroinflammation, chemokines, and microglial function

Aaron Cassill
J. Aaron Cassill
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5491
Email: aaron.cassill@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Student success in STEM

James Chambers
James P. Chambers
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5477
Email: james.chambers@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Acinetobaster baumannii enzymology
» Biosensor sensing element development
» Francisella tularensis enzymology
» Glycoconjugate isolation/characterization
» Influenza nucleic acid based detection

Ashok Chaturvedi
Ashok Chaturvedi
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: ashok.chaturvedi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Fungal biofilm
» Fungal proteomics
» Immunology

Susan Dalterio
Susan Dalterio
Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5924
Email: susan.dalterio@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drugs & Society
» Introductory Biology
» Pharmacology and Toxicology

Donna Degen
Donna Degen
Lecturer I and Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-7414
Email: donna.degen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Microbiology

Jurgen Engelberth
Jurgen Engelberth
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7831
Email: jurgen.engelberth@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Metabolic analysis of signaling compounds
» Regulation pathway leading to jasmonic acid production

Mark Eppinger
Mark Eppinger
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6276
Email: mark.eppinger@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics
» Infectious diseases
» Microbial genomics

Thomas Forsthuber
Thomas G. Forsthuber
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: thomas.forsthuber@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Mechanisms promoting autoimmune diseases
» Translational research that can be directly applied

Jesus Garza-Decanini
Jesus Garza-Decanini
Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-7496
Email: jesus.garza-decanini@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Human Anatomy
» Physiology

Gary Gaufo
Gary Gaufo
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7196
Email:gary.gaufo@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Molecular and cellular approaches in neural development

Rachel Grotte
Rachel Grotte
Lecturer I and Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-7414
Email: rachel.grotte@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Ecology
» Entomology
» Microbiology

Neal Guentzel
M. Neal Guentzel
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4473
Email: neal.guentzel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Acinetobacter baumanii
» Chlamydia trachomatis
» Francisella tularensis
» Microbial pathogenesis
» Microscopy
» Vaccines

Rishein Gupta
Rishein Gupta
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: rishein.gupta@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Host-pathogen crosstalk
» Multi-omics approaches for identifying immune regulators
» Small RNA mediated immune modulation

Michael Hanna
Michael Hanna
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-4509
Email: michael.hanna@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell and Molecular Biology
» Immunology
» Neuroscience

Kirsten Hanson
Kirsten Hanson
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5904
Email: kirsten.hanson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Antimalarial drug discovery
» Automated high content imaging
» Host-parasite interactions
» Plasmodium cell and developmental biology

Luis Haro
Luis S. Haro
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5484
Email: luis.haro@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry
» Endocrinology
» Molecular biology

Hans Heidner
Hans W. Heidner
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5767
Email: hans.heidner@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alphavirus-based vectors for cell targeting and vaccine applications and development
» Replication of alphaviruses

Brian Hermann
Brian P. Hermann
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8047
Email: brian.hermann@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Male infertility and fertility preservation
» Single-cell gene expression
» Spermatogonial stem cells

Eddie Hernandez
Eddie Hernandez
Assistant Professor in Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5661
Email: hector.hernandez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cardiovascular Physiology
» Diabetes mellitus and renal disease
» Human Anatomy & Physiology

no photo available
Matthew Higgs
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-4511
Email: matthew.higgs@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neural oscillations
» Synaptic integration

Jenny Hsieh
Jenny Hsieh
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email: jenny.hsieh@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epilepsy
» Neurogenesis
» Stem cells

Chiung-Yu Hung
Chiung-Yu Hung
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7018
Email: chiungyu.hung@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Flow cytometry
» Host-pathogen interaction
» Medical mycology
» Vaccine development against microbial infections

David Jaffe
David B. Jaffe
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5843
Email: david.jaffe@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epilepsy
» Hippocampal function and Alzheimer’s disease
» Post-traumatic stress disorder
» Synaptic and axonal signal integration

Amy Jones
Amy Jones
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: amy.jones.utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics

Craig Jordan
Craig Jordan
Senior Lecturer, Senior Associate Dean-College of Sciences, and Associate Dean for Academic Programs (Undergraduate Studies)

Phone: (210) 458-5926
Email: craig.jordan@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Evolutionary Biology
» Population Biology

Karl Klose
Karl E. Klose
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6140
Email: karl.klose@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bacterial pathogenesis
» Francisella tularensis
» Vibrio cholerae

Richard LeBaron
Richard LeBaron
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5841
Email: richard.lebaron@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell adhesion; cell biology
» Disorders of the temporomandibular joint
» Extracellular matrix molecules in cancers and in diabetes complications
» Regenerative medicine; tissue regeneration

Hyoung-gon Lee
Hyoung-gon Lee
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5088
Email: hyoung-gon.lee@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer disease
» Neurobiology
» Neurodegeneration

Soo Chan Lee
Soo Chan Lee
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5398
Email: soochan.lee@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Fungal morphogenesis
» Host-pathogen interactions
» Medical mycology
» Mucormycosis
» Mycobiome

Annie Lin
Chin-Hsing Annie Lin
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8534
Email: annie.lin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Functional genomics
» Stem cell and cancer biology

Kimberly Little
Kimberly Little
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-6569
Email: kimberly.little@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Behavioral Ecology
» Evolution
» Zoology

Jose Lopez-Ribot
Jose L. Lopez-Ribot
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7022
Email: jose.lopezribot@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Antifungal drug development
» High throughput screening
» Immunopathogenesis of fungal infections
» Medical mycology
» Microbial biofilms

Dawn Lovelace
Dawn Lovelace
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-3931
Email: dawn.lovelace@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell Biology

Martha Lundell
Martha J. Lundell
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5769
Email: martha.lundell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drosophila molecular genetics
» Specification of neuronal cell fate

Zane Lybrand
Zane Lybrand
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-4711
Email: zane.lybrand@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Mechanisms of epilepsy
» Neural circuits
» Neural physiology
» Regenerative medicine

Lindsey Macpherson
Lindsey Macpherson
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7845
Email: lindsey.macpherson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Circuit mapping
» Functional imaging techniques
» Sensory neuroscience

Asif Maroof
Asif Mirza Maroof
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7950
Email: asif.maroof@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neurobiology and development
» Pathophysiology in neurological disease
» Stem cell differentiation and patterning

Lucero Martinez Delgado
Lucero Martinez Delgado
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-7496
Email: lucero.martinezdelgado@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Human Anatomy
» Human Physiology

John McCarrey
John R. McCarrey
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4507
Email: john.mccarrey@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epigenetic regulation of cell functions
» Mammalian germ cells and stem cells

Anita Moss
Anita Moss
Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5923
Email: anita.moss@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Human Anatomy
» Human Physiology

Isabel Muzzio
Isabel A. Muzzio
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4810
Email: isabel.muzzio@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Aging
» Animal cognition
» Learning and memory
» Sleep and memory
» Spatial navigation

Christopher Navara
Christopher Navara
Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6497
Email: christopher.navara@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell cycle regulation in stem cells
» Human and non-human primate pluripotent stem cells
» Mesenchymal stem cell growth & differentiation
» Neuronal differentiation of pluripotent stem cell

Richard Nuckels
Richard Nuckels
Lecturer II and Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-7206
Email: richard.nuckels@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics
» Molecular Evolution

Carlos Paladini
Carlos A. Paladini
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4474
Email: carlos.paladini@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Dopaminergic neuron physiology

George Perry
George Perry
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8660
Email: george.perry@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer's disease
» Neurobiology
» Oxidative stress

Clyde Phelix
Clyde F. Phelix
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5495
Email: clyde.phelix@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer’s disease and diabetes mellitus
» Computational biology
» Intellectual property, biotechnology, commercialization
» Predictive biosimulations
» Translational sciences

no photo available
Salma Quraishi
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7493
Email: salma.quraishi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neuroscience

William Ramos
William Ramos
Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-6235
Email: william.ramos@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell Biology lab coordinator
» Hazardous materials authorized shipper
» RISE training specialist

RobertRenthal
Robert D. Renthal
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5452
Email: robert.renthal@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry and biophysics of cell membranes
» Insect chemical communication
» Lanthanide tags in live bacterial cells

Andrew Rodriguez
Andrew Rodriguez
Lecturer I

Email: andrew.rodriguez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Microbiology
» Molecular Genetics
» Mycology
» Plant Pathology

James Allen Rogers
James Allen Rogers
Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-3990
Email: james.rogers3@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biosciences II laboratories

Fidel Santamaria
Fidel Santamaria
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6910
Email: fidel.santamaria@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Computational neuroscience
» Experiments and modeling of cerebellar function
» Learning and memory
» Modeling power-law behavior from molecules to behavior

Stephen Saville
Stephen P. Saville
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: stephen.saville@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetic regulation of Candida albicans cell shape
» Role of morphogenetic and associated changes in Candida albicans virulence

Nazan Saygin
Nazan Saygin
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-6297
Email: nazan.saygin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell and Molecular Biology
» Periodontal soft and hard tissue regeneration and regenerative techniques
» Teaching and learning strategies

David Senseman
David M. Senseman
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5485
Email: david.senseman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Visualization and modeling of cortical network activity

Janakiram Seshu
Janakiram Seshu
Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Phone: (210) 458-6578
Email: j.seshu@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Lyme Disease
» Q-fever

Kenneth Shahi
Kenneth Shahi
Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 724-6403
Email: kenneth.shahi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Microbial Ecology
» Public Health Microbiology

Valerie Sponsel
Valerie Sponsel
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5929
Email: valerie.sponsel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Medicinal plants
» Plant growth and development
» Plant hormones

Matthew Spottswood
Matthew Spottswood
Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: matthew.spottswood@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics labs

Garry Sunter
Garry Sunter
Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5479
Email: garry.sunter@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epigenetics
» Molecular and cellular biology
» Plant virology
» Transcription

Kelly Suter
Kelly J. Suter
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7243
Email: kelly.suter@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neural oscillator control of sexual reproduction

Todd Troyer
Todd W. Troyer
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5487
Email: todd.troyer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Behavioral and neural dynamics
» Computational neuroscience
» Noise and sychnronization in neural circuits
» Songbird learning

Matthew Wanat
Matthew Wanat
Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6684
Email: matthew.wanat@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drug addiction
» Learning and memory
» Neurobiology of motivated behavior
» Stress

Yufeng Wang
Yufeng Wang
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6492
Email: yufeng.wang@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics and computational biology
» Comparative genomics
» Molecular evolution and population genetics
» Systems biology

Nicole Wicha
Nicole Y. Wicha
Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7013
Email: nicole.wicha@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bilingual brain
» Human electrophysiology
» Language and math cognition
» Neurobiology of human language

Charles Wilson
Charles J. Wilson
Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5654
Email: charles.wilson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Brain stimulation as a treatment for neurological disease
» Computational function of neuron
» Ionic mechanisms of autonomous brain activity
» Structure and functions of the basal ganglia
» Synaptic integration and neuronal information processin

Floyd Wormley Jr
Floyd L. Wormley Jr.
Professor and Associate Dean for Research & Graduate Studies

Phone: (210) 458-6635
Email: floyd.wormley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Host-pathogen interactions
» Medical mycology
» Microbial pathogenesis

Jieh-Juen Yu
Jieh-Juen Yu
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: jiehjuen.yu@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Mucosal immunity
» Vaccine development against bacterial infection

Xhavit Zogaj
Xhavit Zogaj
Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7033
Email: xhavit.zogaj@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bacterial biofilms
» Vaccine development against tularemia

Adjoint

Texas Biomedical Research Institute (TBRI)

The Texas Biomedical Research Institute aims to unravel the mysteries of chronic and infectious diseases through innovative thinking, creative problem solving, and cutting edge technologies. Please click here to learn more about our adjoint faculty from TBRI.

United States Army Institute of Surgical Research (USAISR)

The United States Army Institute of Surgical Research's mission is optimizing combat casualty care. The Institute has utilized its expertise by caring for burn casualties from every conflict since World War II and continues to serve as the primary Combat Casualty Care research facility for the Army. Please click here to learn more about our adjoint faculty from USAISR.

Emeritus

Judy Teale
Judy M. Teale
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-7024
Email: judy.teale@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neurocysticercosis

Oscar Van Auken
Oscar W. Van Auken
Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: oscar.vanauken@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Physiological plant ecology