Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Faculty

Tenure/Tenure Track | Non-Tenure Track | Research | Professor Emeritus

Tenure/Tenure Track

Alfonso Apicella

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4543
Email: alfonso.apicella@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cortical microcircuit physiology

Deborah L. Armstrong

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7557
Email: deborah.armstrong@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Hippocampal pyramidal and granule cell synaptic plasticity

Bernard Arulanandam

Professor and Interim Vice President for Research

Phone: (210) 458-5492
Email: bernard.arulanandam@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cellular immunology
» Microbial pathogenesis
» Mucosal immunity

Edwin J. Barea-Rodriguez

Professor and Associate Dean for Student Success and Instructional Innovation

Phone: (210) 458-4511
Email: edwin.barea@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Learning and memory
» Neuroscience
» Science education

Astrid E. Cardona

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5071
Email: astrid.cardona@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Immune-modulation during neurocysticercosis
» Immunopathogenesis of neuronal damage in multiple sclerosis
» Neuroinflammation, chemokines and microglial function

J. Aaron Cassill

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5491
Email: aaron.cassill@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Signal transduction in insects
» Student success in STEM

James P. Chambers

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5477
Email: james.chambers@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Acinetobaster baumannii enzymology
» Biosensor sensing element development
» Francisella tularensis enzymology
» Glycoconjugate isolation/characterization
» Influenza nucleic acid based detection

Brian E. Derrick

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5661
Email: brian.derrick@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cognitive neuroscience
» Molecular mechanisms of synaptic plasticity
» Neuropsychopharmacology

Jurgen Engelberth

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7831
Email: jurgen.engelberth@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Metabolic analysis of signaling compounds
» Regulation pathway leading to jasmonic acid production

Mark Eppinger

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6276
Email: mark.eppinger@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics
» Infectious diseases
» Microbial genomics

Thomas G. Forsthuber

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: thomas.forsthuber@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Mechanisms promoting autoimmune diseases
» Translational research that can be directly applied

Gary Gaufo

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7196
Email: gary.gaufo@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Molecular and cellular approaches in neural development

Matthew J. Gdovin

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5768
Email: matthew.gdovin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Photodynamic cancer therapy

M. Neal Guentzel

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4473
Email: neal.guentzel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Acinetobacter baumanii
» Chlamydia trachomatis
» Francisella tularensis
» Microbial pathogenesis
» Microscopy
» Vaccines

Kirsten Hanson

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5904
Email: kirsten.hanson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Antimalarial drug discovery
» Automated high content imaging
» Host-parasite interactions
» Plasmodium cell and developmental biology

Luis S. Haro

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5484
Email: luis.haro@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry
» Endocrinology
» Molecular Biology

Hans W. Heidner

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5767
Email: hans.heidner@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alphavirus-based vectors for cell targeting and vaccine applications and development
» Replication of alphaviruses

Brian P. Hermann

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8047
Email: brian.hermann@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Male infertility and fertility preservation
» Single-cell gene expression
» Spermatogonial stem cells

David B. Jaffe

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5843
Email: david.jaffe@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epilepsy
» Hippocampal function and Alzheimer’s disease
» Post-traumatic stress disorder
» Synaptic and axonal signal integration

Karl E. Klose

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6140
Email: karl.klose@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bacterial pathogenesis
» Francisella tularensis
» Vibrio cholerae

Richard LeBaron

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5841
Email: richard.lebaron@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell adhesion; cell biology
» Disorders of the temporomandibular joint
» Extracellular matrix molecules in cancers and in diabetes complications
» Regenerative medicine; tissue regeneration

Hyoung-gon Lee

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5088
Email: hyoung-gon.lee@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer disease
» Neurobiology
» Neurodegeneration

Soo Chan Lee

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5398
Email: soochan.lee@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Fungal morphogenesis
» Host-pathogen interactions
» Medical mycology
» Mucormycosis
» Mycobiome

Chin-Hsing Annie Lin

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8534
Email: annie.lin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Functional genomics
» Stem cell and cancer biology

Jose L. Lopez-Ribot

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7022
Email: jose.lopezribot@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Antifungal drug development
» High throughput screening
» Immunopathogenesis of fungal infections
» Medical mycology
» Microbial biofilms

Martha J. Lundell

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5769
Email: martha.lundell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drosophila molecular genetics
» Specification of neuronal cell fate

Asif Mirza Maroof

Assistant Professor

Phone:
Email: asif.maroof@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neurobiology and development
» Pathophysiology in neurological disease
» Stem cell differentiation and patterning

John R. McCarrey

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4507
Email: john.mccarrey@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epigenetic regulation of cell functions
» Mammalian germ cells and stem cells

Isabel A. Muzzio

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4810
Email: isabel.muzzio@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Aging
» Animal cognition
» Learning and memory
» Sleep and memory
» Spatial navigation

Carlos A. Paladini

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4474
Email: carlos.paladini@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Dopaminergic neuron physiology

George Perry

Professor and Dean of College of Sciences

Phone: (210) 458-4450

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer's disease
» Neurobiology
» Oxidative stress

Clyde F. Phelix

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5495
Email: clyde.phelix@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Alzheimer’s disease and diabetes mellitus
» Computational biology
» Intellectual property, biotechnology, commercialization
» Predictive biosimulations
» Translational sciences

Robert D. Renthal

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5452
Email: robert.renthal@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry and biophysics of cell membranes
» Insect chemical communication
» Lanthanide tags in live bacterial cells

Fidel Santamaria

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6910
Email: fidel.santamaria@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Computational neuroscience
» Experiments and modeling of cerebellar function
» Learning and memory
» Modeling power-law behavior from molecules to behavior

Stephen P. Saville

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: stephen.saville@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetic regulation of Candida albicans cell shape
» Role of morphogenetic and associated changes in Candida albicans virulence

David M. Senseman

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5485
Email: david.senseman@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Visualization and modeling of cortical network activity

Janakiram Seshu

Associate Professor and Associate Dean of the Graduate School

Phone: (210) 458-6578
Email: j.seshu@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Lyme Disease
» Q-fever

Valerie Sponsel

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5929
Email: valerie.sponsel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Medicinal plants
» Plant growth and development
» Plant hormones

Garry Sunter

Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5479
Email: garry.sunter@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Epigenetics
» Molecular and cellular biology
» Plant virology
» Transcription

Kelly J. Suter

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7243
Email: kelly.suter@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neural oscillator control of sexual reproduction

Todd W. Troyer

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5487
Email: todd.troyer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Behavioral and neural dynamics
» Computational neuroscience
» Noise and sychnronization in neural circuits
» Songbird learning

Matthew Wanat

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6684
Email: matthew.wanat@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drug addiction
» Learning and memory
» Neurobiology of motivated behavior
» Stress

Yufeng Wang

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6492
Email: yufeng.wang@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics and computational biology
» Comparative genomics
» Molecular evolution and population genetics
» Systems biology

Nicole Y. Wicha

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7013
Email: nicole.wicha@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bilingual brain
» Human electrophysiology
» Language and math cognition
» Neurobiology of human language

Charles J. Wilson

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5654
Email: charles.wilson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Brain stimulation as a treatment for neurological disease
» Computational function of neuron
» Ionic mechanisms of autonomous brain activity
» Structure and functions of the basal ganglia
» Synaptic integration and neuronal information processing

Floyd L. Wormley Jr.

Professor and Associate Dean of Research & Graduate Studies

Phone: (210) 458-6635
Email: floyd.wormley@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Host-pathogen interactions
» Medical mycology
» Microbial pathogenesis

 

Non-Tenure Track

Kristabel Aguero

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-4482
Email: kristabel.aguero

Areas of Specialization
» Biosciences II laboratories
» Contemporary Biology I

Emmanuel Akwar

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-7899
Email: emmanuel.akwar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Biochemistry
» General Physiology

Susan Dalterio

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5924
Email: susan.dalterio@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Drugs & Society
» Introductory Biology
» Pharmacology and Toxicology

John Fields

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-6200
Email: john.fields@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Diagnostic Microbiology
» Microbiology & Immunology

Maxanne Groven

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5475
Email: maxanne.groven@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Clinical Laboratory Science
» Microbiology Laboratory

Michael Hanna

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-5439
Email: michael.hanna@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell and Molecular Biology
» Immunology
» Neuroscience

Eddie Hernandez

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-7899
Email: hector.hernandez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Diabetes mellitus and renal disease
» Epidemiology
» Human Physiology
» Physiology

Amy Jones

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: ajones.utsa@gmail.com

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics

Craig Jordan

Senior Lecturer, Senior Associate Dean-College of Sciences, and Associate Dean for Academic Programs (Undergraduate Studies)

Phone: (210) 458-5926
Email: craig.jordan@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Evolutionary Biology
» Population Biology

Traci Keck

Lecturer I

Phone: (210) 458-7034
Email: traci.keck@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Clinical Nutrition
» Medical Nutrition Therapy

Lucero Martinez Delgado

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-7496
Email: lucero.martinezdelgado@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Human Anatomy
» Human Physiology

Anita Moss

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5923
Email: anita.moss@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Human Anatomy
» Human Physiology

Richard Nuckels

Lecturer II/ Lab Coordinator

Phone: (210) 458-7206
Email: richard.nuckels@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics
» Molecular evolution

William Ramos

Lecturer III

Office: BSE 2.234
Phone: (210) 458-6235
Email: william.ramos@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell Biology lab coordinator
» Hazardous materials authorized shipper
» RISE training specialist

Nazan Saygin

Lecturer II

Phone: (210) 458-6297
Email: nazan.saygin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell and Molecular Biology
» Periodontal soft and hard tissue regeneration and regenerative techniques
» Teaching and learning strategies

Jyotsna Sharma-Srinivasan

Senior Lecturer

Phone: (210) 458-5928
Email: jyotsna.sharma@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Aquatic ecology
» Marine nematodes ecology and systematics

Matthew Spottswood

Lecturer II

Office: FLN 3.02.36
Phone: (210) 458-5156
Email: matthew.spottswood@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Genetics labs

Alyson Zeamer

Lecturer III

Phone: (210) 458-4509
Email: alyson.zeamer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Animal behavior
» Development of learning and memory
» Genetics
» Neurobiology
» Scientific teaching

 

Research

Hong Cai

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6493
Email: hong.cai@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bioinformatics
» Genomic signal processing
» Systems biology

Sandra Cardona

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5029
Email: sandra.cardona@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Function of glial cells in neuroinflammation
» Neurodegeneration during multiple sclerosis and diabetic retinopathy

Ashok Chaturvedi

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: ashok.chaturvedi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Fungal biofilm
» Fungal proteomics
» Immunology

Rishein Gupta

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: rishein.gupta@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Host-pathogen crosstalk
» Multi-omics approaches for identifying immune regulators
» Small RNA mediated immune modulation

Chiung-Yu Hung

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7018
Email: chiungyu.hung@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Flow cytometry
» Host-pathogen interaction
» Medical mycology
» Vaccine development against microbial infections

Christopher Navara

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6497
Email: christopher.navara@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Cell cycle regulation in stem cells
» Human and non-human primate pluripotent stem cells
» Mesenchymal stem cell growth & differentiation
» Neuronal differentiation of pluripotent stem cell

Salma Quraishi

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7493
Email: salma.quraishi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neuroscience

Karen Wozniak

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7021
Email: karen.wozniak@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Immune response to Cryptococcus neoformans

Jieh-Juen Yu

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: jiehjuen.yu@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Mucosal immunity
» Vaccine development against bacterial infection

Xhavit Zogaj

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7033
Email: xhavit.zogaj@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Bacterial biofilms
» Vaccine development against tularemia

 

Professor Emeritus

Judy M. Teale

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-7024
Email: judy.teale@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Neurocysticercosis

Oscar W. Van Auken

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: oscar.vanauken@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization
» Physiological plant ecology