Neurobiology Ph.D. Program




Program faculty employ a wide range of research approaches and techniques that span the spectrum of the field, from molecular to cognitive neuroscience. Our highly interactive and diverse faculty maintain research programs with strengths in the following:

Electrical and Chemical Signaling

• Alfonso Apicella • Jenny Hsieh • David Jaffe • Lindsey Macpherson • Carlos Paladini • Fidel Santamaria • Kelly Suter • Charles Wilson

Neural Stem Cells, Cell Patterning and Cell Fate

• Gary Gaufo • Jenny Hsieh • Annie Lin • Asif Maroof • Lindsey Macpherson

Motivation, Reward, and Addiction

• Isabel Muzzio • Carlos Paladini • Matthew Wanat


• Jenny Hsieh • Hyoung-gon Lee • Asif Maroof • George Perry

Computational Neurobiology

•  Fidel Santamaria • Todd Troyer • Charles Wilson

Learning, Memory and Navigation

• Isabel Muzzio • Matthew Wanat

Language and Auditory Processing

• Alfonso Apicella • Todd Troyer • Nicole Wicha


  • motor neurons
  • bird song
  • pyramidal cells
  • dopamine release