Skip to Search Skip to Navigation Skip to Content

Directory

Administrative Core

Principal Investigator

George Perry, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Sciences

Office: BSE 2.110
Phone: (210) 458-4450
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu

Principal Investigator

Andrew Tsin, Ph.D.
Professor of Biochemistry and Cell Biology
Director, SCORE Program

Office: BSB 1.03.36
Phone: (210) 458-5480
Email: Andrew.Tsin@utsa.edu

Scientific Associate Program Director

Thomas Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology

Office: BSE 3.250B
Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: Thomas.Forsthuber@utsa.edu

Associate Program Director
of the RCMI Administrative Core

Floyd Wormley, Jr., Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Microbiology and Immunology

Office: MBT 1.242
Phone: (210) 458-7020
Email: Floyd.Wormley@utsa.edu

Program Manager

Brittanii Rogers

Office: BSE 2.304B
Phone: (210) 458-7741
Email: Brittanii.Rogers@utsa.edu


 

Biophotonics Core

Interim Core Leader

George Perry, Ph.D.
Dean, College of Sciences

Office: BSE 2.110
Phone: (210) 458-4450
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu

Interim Lab Manager

Brandi Betts
Lab Services Supervisor I

Office: BSE 3.110
Phone: (210) 458-7043
Email: Brandi.Betts@utsa.edu


 

Computational Systems Biology Core

Core Leader

Jianhua Ruan, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Computer Science

Office: NPB 3.202
Phone: (210) 458-6819
Email: Jianhua.Ruan@utsa.edu

Director

Zhiwei Wang
Special Research Associate

Office: MB 2.424
Phone: (210) 458-7078
Email: Zhiwei.Wang@utsa.edu


 

Nanotechnology and Human Health Core

Core Leader / Director

Miguel Jose-Yacaman, Ph.D.
Department Chair and Professor of Physics

Office: AET 3.322A
Phone: (210) 458-6954
Email: Miguel.Yacaman@utsa.edu

Assistant Director

Carlos Garcia, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: BSE 1.104L
Phone: (210) 458-5774
Email: Carlos.Garcia@utsa.edu

Assistant Director

Arturo Ponce-Pedraza, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Physics

Office: AET 3.218
Phone: (210) 458-5474
Email: Arturo.Ponce-Pedraza@utsa.edu


 

Protein Biomarkers Core

Core Leader

Stephan Bach, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Chemistry

Office: BSE 1.104D
Phone: (210) 458-4466
Email: Stephen.Bach@utsa.edu


 

Research Projects

"Photo-Induced Unfolding of Cancer-Specific Membrane Receptors"
Principal Investigator

Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Physics

Office: AET 3.386
Phone: (210) 458-4919
Email: Lorenzo.Brancaleon@utsa.edu

"Biomarker Discovery in Glucocortiocoid Resistance in EAE"
Principal Investigator

Thomas Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Immunology

Office: BSE 3.250B
Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: Thomas.Forsthuber@utsa.edu

"Advanced Data Processing for Capillary LC/MS Data"
Principal Investigator

Jianqiu Michelle Zhang, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering

Office: BSE 1.328
Phone: (210) 458-6856
Email: Michelle.Zhang@utsa.edu