4_5.jpg

"We have Dreamers on our campus. Their presence here is a testament to their fortitude, resilience and their own specific contributions to our familia."

Read President Taylor Eighmy's full statement

 

"You can be certain of our support as you continue to pursue your dreams – the American dream – to obtain an education and build a better future for you and your families."

Read Chancellor William H. McRaven's full statement

Welcome, #UTSA22

Students visiting UTSA for Orientation this summer are invited to visit the Dreamers Resource Center (Student Union 2.01.04) to learn about our services for DACA and unDACAmented Roadrunners.

Training

Ally training and general information sessions for faculty, staff and students will resume in Fall 2018. Check back for updates.

Updates

June 1, 2018

Interim program manager Courtney Balderas-Jacob has been hired to the permanent position of Assistant Director of the Dreamers Center. The center is located within the Student Center for Community Engagement and Inclusion (UTSA Student Union 2.01.04). Inquiries and appointment requests can be made by calling (210) 458-7777 or emailing dreamers@utsa.edu.

Jan 19, 2018

UTSA opens new Dreamers Center to meet escalating needs of DACA students

On Monday, January 22, The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) will open a new Dreamers Center to provide support to the university’s DACA (Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals) recipients and other undocumented students. The center represents a physical expansion of the Dreamers Resource Center website that launched last September, soon after the Trump administration announced its decision to end DACA.

“Given recent indications that DACA may not be resuscitated by Congress, it’s imperative we escalate the support we offer our Dreamers,” said President Taylor Eighmy. “We must do everything we can to ensure they have the right resources and information in the months to come.”
– Read the full announcement in UTSA Today

Jan. 13, 2018

DACA: USCIS Response to January 2018 Preliminary Injunction

"Due to a federal court order, USCIS has resumed accepting requests to renew a grant of deferred action under DACA.  Until further notice, and unless otherwise provided in this guidance, the DACA policy will be operated on the terms in place before it was rescinded on Sept. 5, 2017."
– Read the full statement from US Citizenship and Immigration Services

Campus Resources

The following individuals have been identified as points of contact within critical offices at UTSA to assist with questions related to residency, financial aid, counseling, admissions and more. 

If there are additional questions or concerns, students can call the Dreamers Resource Center at 210-458-7777 or email Dreamers@utsa.eduStudents also may contact the UTSA Student Ombudsperson Carol Gonzalez at 210-458-4040.

In accordance with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), UTSA does not release the personal information of its students, outside of public directory information.

ACADEMIC ADVISING

daca-advising.jpg

UTSA Academic Advising's mission is to support the holistic development of all students by cultivating trusting and collaborative relationships. Undocumented undergraduate students who need academic advising assistance can contact Barbara Smith or Angelica Barrera to get connected with academic advising.

Angelica Barrera | Interim Associate VP of Student Advising & Support | angelica.barrera@utsa.edu | 210-458-6517
Barbara Smith | Executive Director of Undergraduate Advising | barbara.smith@utsa.edu | 210-458-5586

ADMISSIONS

daca-advising.jpg

We can help answer questions about how DACA applicants can apply to UTSA.

Christopher Goldsberry | Senior Undergraduate Admissions Counselor | Christopher.Goldsberry@utsa.edu | 210-458-6937
Georgina Rodriguez | Senior Undergraduate Admissions Counselor | Georgina.Rodriguez@utsa.edu

CAMPUS SAFETY

daca-advising.jpg

The UTSA Police Department’s goal is to provide a safe and inclusive learning environment for all students, faculty, staff and visitors, regardless of immigration status. We will not routinely ask for anyone’s immigration status during the course of our normal police duties.

Lt. Thomas Calucci | University Police | thomas.calucci@utsa.edu | 210-458-4421
Emergency | 210-458-4911

CAREERS

daca-advising.jpg

The University Career Center is dedicated to helping DACA students in their career development process, assisting with the process of finding, applying and connecting with opportunities of which they are eligible.

Martin Saenz | Career Counselor, Career Services | Martin.Saenz2@utsa.edu | 210-458-4589

COUNSELING

daca-advising.jpg

Counseling Services welcomes students with immigration status concerns.  Students can access counselors in a safe, supportive and confidential space.

Dr. Melva Torne-Boyd | Psychologist | melva.torne-boyd@utsa.edu | 210-458-4140

ENGAGEMENT & INCLUSION

daca-advising.jpg

The Student Center for Community Engagement & Inclusion is a safe space for all UTSA students and promotes inclusion as both a process and an outcome that allows everyone to participate fully in campus life and the San Antonio community. 

Lydia Bueno | Assistant Dean of Students, Director of the Student Center for Community Engagement and Inclusion | lydia.bueno@utsa.edu | 210-458-7968

FINANCIAL AID & SCHOLARSHIPS

daca-advising.jpg

Students who have been classifed as Texas residents for tuition purposes may also be eligible to received state financial aid. Additionally, undocumented students may be eligibile for certain scholarships.

Diana S. Martinez | Director of Scholarships | diana.martinez1@utsa.edu | 210-458-7172
Humberto Trinidad | Financial Aid & Scholarships Associate Director | humberto.trinidad@utsa.edu | 210-458-4608

GRADUATE STUDENTS

daca-advising.jpg

Undocumented graduate and doctoral students may be eligible for an in-state tuition waiver; please contact us for more information.

Ana Leos | Associate Director of Graduate Admissions | ana.leos@utsa.edu | 210-458-4681

Undocumented graduate students in need of academic assistance can contact Ginger Hernandez in the Graduate School.

Ginger Hernandez | Assistant to the Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School | ginger.hernandez@utsa.edu | 210-458-6878

IMMIGRATION

daca-advising.jpg

UTSA students can contact International Student Services (ISS) regarding immigration questions or concerns. While ISS does not provide legal services, we are able to provide specific immigration resources and answer general immigration questions.

Courtney Balderas | Assistant Director of Dreamers Resource Center | courtney.balderas@utsa.edu | 210-458-7267

TUITION / RESIDENCY

daca-advising.jpg

DACA students may be eligible to pay resident (in-state) tuition; please contact residency@utsa.edu or go to http://www.utsa.edu/registrar/residency/ for more information.

Stacey Wells | Enrollment Services Associate III | Residency@utsa.edu | 210-458-4534


Faculty Contacts

In addition to the staff/offices listed above, there are faculty members in each college who can assist undocumented students with issues related to the college or department. Students needing further assistance or faculty who have questions about supporting undocumented students can contact Dr. Lilliana Saldana, associate professor in the Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies, at lilliana.saldana@utsa.edu or 210-458-4426.

 

College of Architecture, Construction & Planning

Dr. Antonio Petrov, Assistant Professor
MNT 3.380K | antonio.petrov@utsa.edu

College of Business

Dr. Lisa Montoya, Associate Dean
BB 2.01.08 | lisa.montoya@utsa.edu | 210-458-5782

College of Education and Human Development

Dr. Enrique Aleman, Professor and Department Chair
enrique.aleman@utsa.edu | 210-458-5411

Dr. Margarita Machado-Casas, Associate Professor, Bicultural-Bilingual Studies
MB 3.302E | margarita.machadocasas@utsa.edu | 210-458-5571

College of Engineering

Dr. Krystel Castillo, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering
AET 2.303 | krystel.castillo@utsa.edu | 210-458-8746

College of Liberal and Fine Arts

Dr. Vivianna Rojas, Associate Professor, Communication
MB 2.248P | viviana.rojas@utsa.edu | 210-458-7726

Dr. Catherine Nolan-Ferrell, Associate Professor, History
MH 4.04.34 | catherine.ferrell@utsa.edu | 210-458-7452

Dr. Alistair Welchman, Associate Professor, Philosophy
MH 4.05.30M | alistair.welchman@utsa.edu | 210-458-7215

College of Public Policy

Dr. Patricia Jaramillo, Lecturer III, Public Administration
DBB 4.114 | patricia.jaramillo@utsa.edu | 210-458-2716

College of Sciences

Dr. Edwin Barea-Rodriguez, Associate Dean
FLN 3.02.18 | edwin.barea@utsa.edu | 210-458-5481

Honors College

Prof. John Phillip Santos, Distinguished Senior Lecturer
MS 4.02.20 | john.santos@utsa.edu | 210-458-8843

University College

Prof. Lindsay Ratcliffe, Lecturer III, Writing Core Program
GSR 1.112L | lindsay.ratcliffe@utsa.edu | 210-458-7727

First-Year Experience

Dr. Susan Colorado-Burt, Lecturer II, Academic Inquiry & Scholarship
MS 1.02.04 | susan.colorado@utsa.edu | 210-458-7511


External Resources

LEGAL RESOURCES

Immigrant Legal Resource Center (ILRC) 

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU)

St. Mary’s University Center for Legal and Social Justice

San Antonio Bar Association

Refugee and Immigrant Center for Education and Legal Services (RAICES)

GOVERNMENT RESOURCES

U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services

U.S. Department of Homeland Security