Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Core Curriculum Teaching

(one award for tenured/tenure-track faculty and one award for non-tenure-track faculty)

Purpose of award

This award is to recognize distinguished performance in teaching one or a set of core curriculum courses during the academic year of the award; innovation and involvement in core development projects; thoughtful engagement with the aims of the core curriculum; and excellence in teaching as demonstrated by standard measures of performance. This award will be of similar recognition, quality, character, and process to the other university-level faculty awards which are of high distinction and peer-reviewed at UTSA, signaling the key role of instructional quality and content in shaping what all UTSA graduates should know for their future roles in society.

Screening process and nomination packet

Nominated faculty must have taught at least four consecutive long semesters at UTSA. The awards are based on performance during the calendar year of the award. For example, to be eligible you must have taught consecutively since January 2010 (excluding summer terms) and have taught at least one core course in the 2011 calendar year. Priority will be given to candidates who have not previously won the award.

Nominees must demonstrate excellence in core curriculum teaching in the following areas:

  • innovation and rigor in the classroom
  • a strong commitment to the aims of the core curriculum* through innovative course development and assessment
  • positive student response to his/her instruction

Each college may submit a maximum number of nominees for each of the Core Curriculum Teaching Awards (tenured/tenure-track and non-tenure-track):


Maximum Number
of Nominees















University College




A complete Core Course Portfolio will include the following items contained in one pdf document (in this order):

  1. Completed application form
  2. Nomination Letter from the nominee’s Department Chair
  3. Core Teaching Self-Statement (maximum of two pages) that specifically addresses
    • how the goals of the Core Curriculum were addressed (as stated below),
    • how innovation and rigor were manifested in the course, and
    • how students responded to your instruction.
  4. At least one third-party observation of your teaching a core class. Contact the Faculty Center to schedule your teaching observation.
  5. Applicable course grade distributions, student evaluations of core course(s) including statistical summaries, and student comments for the last academic year,
  6. A syllabus for a core course from the award year corresponding to the student evaluations and summary (above),
  7. Sample core course materials that best exemplify the student learning experience (e.g.: sample student assignment and assessment, including exams and/or rubrics),
  8. Curriculum Vita 

* Goals of the Core Curriculum (as stated in the Undergraduate Catalog, pg. 4-5)
The Core Curriculum reflects the educational goals of the University. It is designed to enable students to assess the perspectives and accomplishments of the past and to move to the future with an informed and flexible outlook. It promotes intellectual adaptability, ethical awareness, and transfer among diverse modes of thought. An essential aim of the Core Curriculum is to cultivate the verbal, numerical, and visual skills necessary to analyze and synthesize information, construct arguments, and identify and solve problems. Another essential aim is to foster understanding of the intellectual and cultural pluralism of modern society as it is reflected in natural science and mathematics; behavioral, cultural, and social science; and literature and artistic expression. By encouraging interdisciplinary study, the Core Curriculum seeks to develop critical awareness of the continuities and discontinuities of human thought, history, and culture, thus helping prepare students to meet the demands of change.

Past Recipients

2016  Gregory Hazleton, University College

2015  Sue Hum, Liberal and Fine Arts
Jodi Peterson, Liberal and Fine Arts

2014  John Helton, University College

2013  Lydia Martinez-Rivera, Sciences

2012  Joel Christensen, Liberal and Fine Arts
Kimberly Massaro, Business

2011  Kirsten Gardner, Liberal and Fine Arts
Lindsay G. Ratcliffe, Writing Core Program

2010  Ermine F. Orta, Management Science and Statistics

2009 Shelley E. Roff, Architecture
Deborah Wagner, Liberal and Fine Arts

2008 Eric Swanson, Sciences
Alycia Maurer, Education and Human Development

2007  Marian Aitches, Liberal and Fine Arts

2006  John M. Giggie, Liberal and Fine Arts
Timothy Strudell, Business

2005  Robert Collinge, Business
Richard Welch, Business

2004  Sharon Navarro, Liberal and Fine Arts
Joleen Beltrami, Business

2003  Mark A. Blizard, Architecture
Vincent A. Di Martino (Posthumous Award), Business

2002  Su Zhou, Business
Deanna White, Liberal and Fine Arts

2001  Amy Jasperson, Liberal and Fine Arts

2000  Ronald M. Ayers, Business
Patricia A. Brewer, Sciences and Engineering

1999  Linda Brandt Collins, Sciences and Engineering
John Rayko, Sciences and Engineering

1998  Robert Collinge, Business
Christine Caver, Fine Arts and Humanities

1997  David M. Senseman, Sciences and Engineering
Sabine F. Thomas, Sciences and Engineering

1996  Christopher Egan, Fine Arts and Humanities

1995  Judith B. Sobre, Fine Arts and Humanities