Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Performance, Creative Production, or Other Scholarly Achievement

(one award for tenured/tenure-track faculty)

Purpose of award

This award is to recognize, encourage and reward those individuals whose performance, creative production or other scholarly achievement in the arts or other appropriate disciplines has manifested unusual excellence and merit. Further, this production has directly or indirectly benefited students and the university as well as the artistic or scholarly domain of the faculty member.

Screening process and nomination packet

This President’s Distinguished Achievement Award review committee will focus on this award and be composed of no fewer than three former award recipients. The nomination packet for this award will consist of only the following, assembled into a single PDF file in the order indicated:

  1. award nomination form
  2. recent letter of support/nomination from the department chair
  3. self-statement of performance–creative production activity (not to exceed 5 pages) that places the nominee’s body of work in context and describes the impact of the creative work
  4. current curriculum vitae that includes record of performance, creative production, or other scholarly achievement

No additional materials should be submitted.

Previous recipients of the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Performance, Creative Production, or Other Scholarly Achievement are ineligible for nomination for this award.

Each college may submit a maximum number of nominees (based on the size of the college) for this award category:


Maximum Number
of Nominees















University College


Honors College


Past Recipients

2016  Ben V. Olguín, Liberal and Fine Arts
2015  Kasandra Keeling, Liberal and Fine Arts
2014  Bonnie Lyons, Liberal and Fine Arts
2013  Matthew Dunne, Liberal and Fine Arts
2012  Jeanne Reesman, Liberal and Fine Arts
2011  David Heuser, Liberal and Fine Arts
2010  Wendy Barker, Liberal and Fine Arts
2009  John Silantien, Liberal and Fine Arts
2008  Vincent Canizaro, Architecture
2007  Mahesh Senagala, Architecture
2006  William McCrary, Liberal and Fine Arts
2005  Ken D. Little, Liberal and Fine Arts
2004  Stephen Reynolds, Liberal and Fine Arts
2003  Ken D. Little, Liberal and Fine Arts
2002  Neil Maurer, Liberal and Fine Arts
2001  Charles Field, Liberal and Fine Arts
2000  No award given
1999  Ken D. Little, Fine Arts and Humanities
1998  Ronald Binks, Fine Arts and Humanities
1997  Wendy Barker, Fine Arts and Humanities
1996  Constance Lowe, Fine Arts and Humanities
1995  Valeri Grokhovski, Fine Arts and Humanities
1994  Daniel Gelo, Social and Behavioral Sciences
1993  Stephen Reynolds, Fine Arts and Humanities
1992  John Silantien, Fine Arts and Humanities
1991  Kent Rush, Fine Arts and Humanities
1990  Dennis Olsen, Fine Arts and Humanities