Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Research Achievement

(one award for tenured faculty and one award for tenure-track faculty)

Purpose of award

TENURED: This award is to recognize, encourage and reward faculty who have conducted a sustained program of high-quality, high-impact research that has translated into national and international recognition and has made a substantial contribution to the faculty member’s field.

Tenure-Track: This award is to recognize, encourage and reward faculty who have conducted high-quality, high-impact research that shows distinct promise for national and international recognition and substantial contribution to the faculty member’s field.

Screening process and nomination packet

A President's Distinguished Research Achievement Award review committee will focus on these two research awards and be composed of former research award recipients. The nomination packet for this award will consist of only the following, assembled into a single PDF file in the order indicated:

  1. award nomination form
  2. recent letter of support/nomination from the department chair
  3. self-statement of research and scholarly activity (not to exceed five pages).
  4. current curriculum vitae that includes record of research activity in recognized scholarly venues

Remember that faculty from outside your discipline will review materials. Both the department chair’s letter and the nominee’s statement should make the case clearly, in language that is understandable to non-specialists. They should explain the extent and the importance of the research, the nature of the venues in which it has been disseminated, and the impact that the nominee has had (tenured) or will have (tenure-track) on the discipline. If a claim is made that an article has been published in “top” journals, a brief operational explanation regarding what that means should be included (e.g., impact factor or similar metric).

For tenured faculty, the statement should speak to

  • impact of scholarly activity on the field across time
  • citations or references to your scholarly work
  • sustained research effort and productivity.

For tenure-track faculty, the statement should speak to

  • research agenda and trajectory with a description of research accomplishments and their impact to date.

No additional materials should be submitted.

Previous recipients of the President’s Distinguished Achievement Award for Research Achievement are ineligible for nomination for this award.

Tenured faculty will be considered based on sustained excellence over time whereas tenure-track faculty will be evaluated based on their accomplishments to date and research trajectory.

Each college may submit a maximum number of nominees (based on the size of the college) for each award category (tenured and tenure-track):


Maximum Number
of Nominees















University College


Honors College







Past Recipients

2016  Robert J. Hard, Liberal and Fine Arts
Ram Krishnan, Engineering

2015  Joanna Lambert, Liberal and Fine Arts
Oleg Larionov, Sciences

2014  Rebekah E. Smith, Liberal and Fine Arts
John Quarles, Sciences

2013  William Cooke, Education and Human Development
Zachary Tonzetich, Sciences

2012  Banglin Chen, Sciences
Jill Hernandez, Liberal and Fine Arts

2011  José Lopez-Ribot, Sciences
Doug Frantz, Sciences

2010  Bernard Arulanandam, Sciences
Ashok Lalwani, Business

2009  Karl Klose, Sciences
Anne-Marie Nuñez, Education and Human Development

2008  Charles Wilson, Sciences
Carlos Garcia, Sciences
Ashwani Monga, Business

2007  Miriam G. Martinez, Education and Human Development
Carola Wenk, Sciences

2006  Steven Kellman, Liberal and Fine Arts
Dibyendu Sarkar, Sciences

2005  Da-Hsiang Donald Lien, Business
Chris G. Reddick, Public Policy

2004  Belinda Flores, Education and Human Development
Gelu Popescu, Sciences

2003  Francisco Durand, Liberal and Fine Arts
Da-Hsiang Donald Lien, Business

2002  Robert Bayley, Education and Human Development
Dhiraj Sardar, Science

2001  Palani-Rajan Kadapakkam, Business
Jagannathan Sarangapani, Engineering

2000  Michael J. Ameida, Liberal and Fine Arts
Matthew J. Wayner, Sciences and Engineering

1999  Richard E.W. Adams, Social and Behavioral Sciences
You-Min Amanda Chou, Sciences and Engineering

1998  Aleksandr Koldobskiy, Sciences and Engineering
Lance Brouthers, Business

1997  Su Zhou, Business
James P. Chambers, Sciences and Engineering

1996  Fathali Firoozi, Business
Richard Jones, Social and Behavioral Sciences

1995  Donde Ashmos, Business
William Teale, Social and Behavioral Sciences

1994  Andrew Tsin, Sciences and Engineering
Felix D. Almaraz, Social and Behavioral Sciences

1993  Richard Wenzlaff, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Ziaodong Zhang, Sciences and Engineering

1992  Thomas J. Bellows, Social and Behavioral Sciences
Jeanne Campbell Reesman, Fine Arts and Humanities

1991  Dennis Duchon, Business
Steven Kellman, Fine Arts and Humanities

1990  James P. Chambers, Sciences and Engineering
Woodruff D. Smith, Social and Behavioral Sciences