winner Andrea Jarzombek
Rowdy Roadrunner at race
Top: Women's division winner Andrea Jarzombek
Bottom: San Antonio Spurs Coyote mascot at Diploma Dash
(Photos by Mark McClendon)

UTSA Alumni Diploma Dash has record-breaking day

By Marcia Mattingly
UTSA Office of Alumni Programs

(March 5, 2008)--The 24th annual UTSA Alumni Diploma Dash for Student Scholars, presented by The Capital Group Companies with Pacesetter Sponsor Valero Energy Corp., was Saturday, March 1 at the UTSA 1604 Campus. UTSA alumni and their families and faculty, staff, students and participants from throughout south-central Texas spent the morning of exercise, food and fun at the premier homecoming event.

A record 984 runners dashed for scholar dollars in the 5K San Antonio City Championship Race that benefits the UTSA Alumni Scholarship Fund, UTSA track athletes, and alumni programs and services.

Westly Keating established a new record this year for men and Andrea Jarzombek for women.

Top Masters runners were Victor Viesca and Jana Stadler. James Eliott won in the Clydesdale division and Mari Kennedy for the Filly. Top students were Reginald Edwards and Krystal Leal. New this year, the Student Challenge Team winner was Alpha Sigma Alpha sorority.

Corporate Challenge Teams winners were first place, KCI; second, HEB-Arsenal and third, Wells Fargo Bank. Air Force ROTC wrested the first place team award from last year's winner, Army ROTC, in the ROTC Challenge.

Co-chairs for the event were UTSA Alumni Association board members Danny Zimmermann, '01, Cleary Zimmermann Engineers, and Susan Campbell, '89, of The Capital Group Companies.

For more information, contact the UTSA Office of Alumni Programs at (210) 458-4133.

University Communications
Contact Us

text size | + | R |