Friday, July 31, 2015

More than three dozen UTSA faculty earn tenure, promotion, emeritus status

Arts Building

Arts Building, UTSA Main Campus
(Photo by Mark McClendon)

Share this Story

(Sept. 18, 2013) -- The UTSA Office of the Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs announces the promotion of 42 UTSA faculty members. The promotions were approved by the UT System Board of Regents in August and were effective. Sept. 1, 2013.

The purpose of promotion and tenure at UTSA is to retain and reward those faculty who are best qualified to help develop and execute the university mission. In addition to meritorious accomplishments in the categories of teaching; research, scholarship or creative activities; and service, successful applicants for promotion and/or tenure must demonstrate a high potential for continued excellence and effectiveness.

Thirty-three faculty earned promotion to associate professor with tenure; six associate professors were promoted to full professor.

Finally, three retired faculty members were awarded emeritus status in recognition of their years of valued service and contribution to the university mission.


Promotion to Associate Professor with Tenure

Mark Bayer, Department of English
Daniel Beal, Department of Psychology
Mark Brill, Department of Music
Natasha Burns, Department of Finance
Michael Cepek, Department of Anthropology
Pepe Chang, Department of Management
Joel Christensen, Department of Philosophy and Classics
Karen Daas, Department of Communication
Abraham DeLeon, Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies
Samer Dessouky, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Matthew Dunne, Department of Music
Douglas Frantz, Department of Chemistry
Edgar Ghossoub, Department of Economics
Jamon Halvaksz, Department of Anthropology
Jill Hernandez, Department of Philosophy and Classics
Julie Johnson, Department of Art and Art History
Seok Kang, Department of Communication
Brian Kelley, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Long Liu, Department of Economics
Dennis Lopez, Department of Accounting
Michael McDonald, Department of Management
John Millican, Department of Music
Jianhua Ruan, Department of Computer Science
Fidel Santamaria, Department of Biology
Heather Shipley, Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
Robert Tillyer, Department of Criminal Justice
Todd Troyer, Department of Biology
David Vance, Department of English
Hung-da Wan, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Alistair Welchman, Department of Philosophy and Classics
JingYong Ye, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Juyan Zhang, Department of Communication
Michelle Zhang, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Promotion to Full Professor

Yusheng Feng, Department of Mechanical Engineering
Meizi He, Department of Health and Kinesiology
Yufei Huang, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Martha Lundell, Department of Biology
Misty Sailors, Department of Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Qi Tian, Department of Computer Science

Associate Professor Emeritus

MaryEllen Garcia, Department of Modern Languages and Literatures
Barbara Gonzalez-Pino, Department of Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching

Professor Emeritus

Frank Pino Jr., Department of Modern Languages and Literatures



Did You Know?

UTSA researcher is a star behind the cloud

A revolution in cloud computing is underway, and Ravi Sandhu believes it will be much bigger than the PC and Internet revolutions that have already changed the way we live. Sandhu, director of the UTSA Institute for Cyber Security, says UTSA is taking a leadership role in tackling three fundamental cloud technology problems: how to build and operate the cloud, how to use it profitably for diverse applications and how to keep it secure.

Sandhu, the Lutcher Brown Distinguished Chair in Cyber Security in the College of Sciences, and Ram Krishnan, assistant professor of electrical engineering in the UTSA College of Engineering, are funded by a $500,000 grant from the National Science Foundation to improve cloud security.

Did you know? Sandhu, a world-renowned cybersecurity expert, holds 30 patents, has authored more than 250 papers and been cited more than 30,000 times.

Read More »
July 30, 5 - 7 p.m.

Networking and happy hour with AIA San Antonio's Women in Architecture

Join AIA San Antonio’s Women in Architecture group for their networking and happy hour event, where all design professionals are welcome.
Liberty Bar, 1111 S. Alamo St.

Aug. 1, 9 p.m.

"Inside Peace" documentary screening

This documentary, presented by the San Antonio Film Festival, documents the experience of re-entry after incarceration. The film features Michael Gilbert, associate professor in the department of criminal justice and director of the Office of Community and Restorative Justice program at UTSA.
Tobin Center for the Performing Arts, 100 Auditorium Circle

Aug. 4, 6 - 8 p.m.

Free Teacher Tuesday: Los Tejanos Workshop

Discover resources and strategies for teaching Tejano history and culture and get a special educator's tour of the new long-term exhibit, Los Tejanos.
Institute of Texan Cultures, 801 E. César E. Chávez Blvd.

Aug. 9, 12 - 5 p.m.

Vaquerocation 2015

This cowboy-themed programming, offered in conjunction with Our Kids Magazine's Kidcation Week, gives families the opportunity to visit with cowboy docents, enjoy readings and visit activity tables.
Institute of Texan Cultures, 801 E. Cesar E. Chavez Blvd.

Aug. 22, 6 p.m.

UTSA Alumni Gala

The UTSA Alumni Association hosts this annual gala honoring the Alumna of the Year, Alumnus of the Year and the Alumnus of the Year Lifetime Achievement award winners.
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort & Spa, 9800 Hyatt Resort Dr.

Other Calendars
» UTSA Events | » Academic | » Institute of Texan Cultures

Submit an Event

Meet a Roadrunner

Julian Acosta '12 is a musician with business cred

After graduation, Queretaro native founded a music label recognized by SXSW

UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top