Wednesday, September 19, 2018

UTSA employees nominated for Regents’ Outstanding Employee Award

UTSA employees nominated for Regents’ Outstanding Employee Award

(March 5, 2018) – Four employees from The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) have been selected for consideration for the 2018 UT System Regents’ Outstanding Employee Award (ROEA). The award recognizes full-time, benefits eligible, non-faculty employees across the UT System that have shown outstanding performance, innovation, enthusiasm and dedication in their job. 

This year, the ROEA nominations were reviewed by a selection committee made up of the Executive Committee of the UTSA Staff Council. Out of several nominations, four UTSA employees were selected based on the impact they have made individually and to improve the university.

The four UTSA ROEA nominees are:

Kristi Meyer, director of the Top Scholar Program and senior director of Special Programs and Student Development in the Honors College, was nominated for devoting tireless service to developing the top 10 students in the UTSA Top Scholar incoming class. Throughout her 15 years at UTSA, Meyer has succeeded in advising, mentoring, and coaching the students to the highest levels of knowledge, leadership and service.

Can Saygin, associate vice president for Sponsored Projects Administration, was nominated for his recognition as a world-class researcher in the field of advanced manufacturing systems and his extensive impact role in the UTSA Office of Research.

John Shaffer, associate director of Graduate Student Success in The Graduate School, was nominated for his role with providing programming to more than 4,000 graduate students, and for working with internal and external teams to create an orientation experience that gains praise from attendees.

Brent Tyroff, electrician III in the Facilities Operations and Maintenance Department, was nominated for his display of customer service, partnership, technical acumen and compassion through his efforts to assist a Ph.D. student in setting up a weather station, giving the student hope and ensuring a successful project.

“Cultivating the excellence of our people is an important aspect of our vision for UTSA,” said President Taylor Eighmy. “I’m delighted that this new award program was launched to recognize outstanding staff members system-wide, and am proud of the many accomplishments of all four of UTSA’s nominees.”

The ROEA will recognize 30 UT System employees from across the UT institutions at a luncheon awards ceremony hosted by the UT System Chancellor William H. McRaven and Board of Regents in Austin on May 14, 2018. Each awardee will also receive $10,000.

- David Diaz

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.