Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Handbook of Operating Procedures (HOP)
Amendment Approval Process


The president has designated the Office of Institutional Compliance and Risk Services (OICRS) as the university office responsible for coordination of policy development and review, and to ensure institutional compliance with HOP policy 9.03.

HOP Amendment Approval Process

During the development and/or revision process, policies receive rigorous review by the HOP Committee. Policies are also reviewed by identified stakeholders, the Office of Legal Affairs, the president. and the University of Texas System Office of General Counsel. Click here for more information on the amendment approval process. Click here for a list of policy changes from the last 90 days.

HOP Committee Membership

Members of the committee are appointed by the president to review and make recommendations to the president regarding the HOP. The HOP Committee membership includes the president or his or her designee, the vice presidents or their respective designees, the Faculty Senate chair, Staff Council chair, Student Government Association President, the policy coordinator, and other individuals as appointed by the president. Click here to see the member list. It can also be found below.

HOP Committee Responsibilities

The HOP Committee has the responsibility for the following activities:
A. Review and make recommendations to the president regarding any significant change to the Handbook of Operating Procedures, including the reformatting, and / or addition, amendment and deletion of policies and procedures in accordance with HOP policy 9.03.
B. Develop and maintain a schedule for the timely review and maintenance of existing policy.
C. Consult with outside subject matter experts as necessary to clarify policy/procedural requirements, assure compliance, or otherwise discharge the responsibilities of the committee.

Policy Coordination

James Weaver, Director, Office of Institutional Compliance and Risk Services, HOP Committee Chair
Sarah Remmert, Compliance Management Analyst II

Contact Information

If you have any questions regarding the approval process, policy revisions, or just general comments contact Sarah Remmert at 458-4989 or

Policy Links

UTSA Handbook of Operating Procedures
UT System Policy Library
Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations

HOP Committee members FY18-19

Area Represented Committee Member Title
President Elvira Leal Assistant Vice President for Strategic Initiatives
VPAA Dr. Jesse Zapata Senior Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Support
VPBA Gary Lott Director, Financial Services and University Bursar

Annette Rabago

Assistant VP Human Resources
VPER Becky Anderson Assistant Vice President of Operations & Talent Management
VPIA Christine Moeller Associate Athletics Director/Sports Administration & Student-Athlete Welfare & Senior Woman Administrator
VPR Dr. Michelle Stevenson Assistant Vice President for Research Integrity


Kevin Price Senior Associate Vice Provost, Dean of Students
VPSE Ginnifer Cie Gee Director, Strategic Planning and Assessment, Registrar
VPSS Margaret Floyd Director for Supplemental Instruction
Faculty Senate Dr. Emily Bonner

Dr. Glenn Dietrich
Associate Professor / College of Education and Human Development
Delegate for Dr. Bonner/FS HOP Committee Chair
Staff Council Elisa Perkins Program Manager, Honors College
Student Government Brittany Garcia Student Government President
Institutional Compliance & Risk Services James Weaver Executive Director
Institutional Compliance & Risk Services Sarah Remmert Compliance Management Analyst II / Policy Coordinator