Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Internal Audit Committee

The University of Texas at San Antonio Internal Audit Committee is an essential part of the risk management and internal control infrastructure of the University and The University of Texas System. Its primary responsibilities are to assist and advise the UT System Audit, Compliance, and Management Review Committee (ACMRC) and the institution’s President in the following matters:

· Oversight of management activities and processes put in place to manage business risk to the institution’s mission(s) and objectives;
· Oversight and direction of the internal audit function to ensure alignment of activities with areas of high risk and/or high potential for adding organizational value;
· Oversight of any external audit firms and review of their results; and
· Evaluation of risks identified by management or through audit, advising management and elevating reporting of risk management and audit activities to the UT System (through internal audit or direct processes), including the ACMRC.

The institutional internal audit committee members are:

• Mr. Frank Burk, Committee Chair, External Member
• Dr. Taylor Eighmy, President
• Ms. Yvonne Fernandez, External Member
• Mr. John Lazarine, External Member
• Mr. Jason Sechrist, External Member

The UTSA Internal Audit Committee meets quarterly to discuss the activities of our office. The Internal Audit Committee Charter and the Handbook of Operating Procedure (HOP) 9.27 Guidelines for the Internal Audit Committee provide further details regarding the roles and responsibilities of the Institutional Internal Audit Committee.