Biology logo


About the Department


Department Chair

Department Chair - Dr. Garry Sunter

The Department of Biology at The University of Texas at San Antonio is a comprehensive academic unit that offers Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, and Doctoral degrees.

Our faculty members conduct research in a variety of areas including Cell and Molecular Biology; Microbiology and Immunology; Neurobiology; and Plant Biology. We are dedicated to the university mission of the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service.

Our goals are to advance scientific literacy and provide modern training in the biosciences to undergraduate and graduate students, enabling them to pursue careers in scientific research, biology, and biomedical careers. Outreach to local public schools and establishing partnerships in the community serve to promote UTSA’s activities and increase community awareness of the role of science in our society.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Biology department is to provide educational opportunities at the undergraduate and graduate levels in the many fields of contemporary biological sciences required by a diverse metropolitan population, as well as by South Central Texas. This will be accomplished with an ethnically representative productive faculty dedicated to research and teaching and committed to service to their respective professions as well as to the community needs of city, state, and nation.


© The University of Texas at San Antonio