Seed Site

2022 University Excellence Awards Recipients

2022 University Excellence Awards Ceremony
Tuesday, April 26, 2022  |  4-5 p.m.
Click here to view all of the 2022 nominees

President’s Distinguished Faculty Awards

Advancing Globalization
  • Nicolas Large, Assistant Professor, Physics & Astronomy
Community Engagement
  • Neda Norouzi, Assistant Professor, Architecture
Core Curriculum Teaching
  • Rebecca Schroeder, Associate Professor of Instruction, University College
Faculty Mentoring
  • Johnelle Sparks, Professor, Demography
Innovation and Impact (I-Squared)
  • Explore STEM @ UTSA Team
    • Wei Wang, Assistant Professor, Computer Science (team lead)
    • Kathy Ewoldt, Assistant Professor, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
    • Mimi Xie, Assistant Professor, Computer Science
    • Alberto Mestas-Nunez, Associate Professor of Instruction, Earth and Planetary Sciences
Performance, Creative Production or Other Scholarly Achievement
  • Tracy Cowden, K. Blumberg Endowed Professor and Department Chair, Music
  • Thomas G. Forsthuber, Jesse H. and Mary Gibbs Jones Endowed Chair in Biotechnology and Professor, Molecular Microbiology and Immunology
  • Sandra B. Morissette, Professor and Department Chair, Psychology
  • Miltos Alamaniotis, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Willie J. Hale, Assistant Professor, Psychology
Teaching Excellence
  • Isabel Muzzio, Professor, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology
  • Jelena Todic, Assistant Professor, Social Work
  • Eddie Hernandez, Assistant Professor of Instruction, Integrative Biology and Honors College
University Service
  • Sara Oswalt, Professor and Department Chair, Public Health

Richard S. Howe Awards

Richard S. Howe Outstanding Undergraduate Award
  • M. Kathryn Brown, Lutcher Brown Endowed Professor, Anthropology
Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Award
  • Gail Taylor, Lecturer, Honors College and Associate Program Director, RISE and MARC programs

President’s Distinguished Diversity Award

  • Neda Norouzi, Assistant Professor, Architecture (faculty/staff individual)

  • Alpha Martinez-Suarez, Doctoral Candidate & Teaching Assistant II (student individual)

  • National Society of Black Engineers (student organization)

  • La Raza Faculty, Staff and Administrators Association (faculty/staff team)

    • Belinda Harmon, Senior Director of Communications, P-20 Outreach

    • Sonya Aleman, Associate Professor, Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Sexuality Studies

    • Rachel Cruz, Assistant Professor, Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Sexuality Studies

    • Mario Flores, Assistant Professor, Electrical and Computer Engineering

    • Syvia Mendoza, Assistant Professor, Race, Ethnicity, Gender and Sexuality Studies

    • Omar Valerio-Jimenez, Associate Professor, History

University Excellence Staff Awards

Team Spirit Award
  • Pandemic Response Team

    • Lauren Beaver, Sr. Director of Strategic Communications

    • Andre Fernandez, Project Manager

    • Kareem Salama, Program Coordinator

    • Jolyn Demarest, Occupational Health Coordinator

    • Elyse Brown, Sr. Communications Specialist

Order of the Roadrunner Award
  • Tina Garza, AVP Enrollment, Marketing, Communications and Systems

Leadership Award
  • Molly Ralph, Sergeant, UTSA Police Department
Rising Star Award
  • Daniel Ramirez-Escobedo, Director of Student Success Center for the College of Science
Extra Mile Award
  • Allyn Rede, Senior Administrative Associate