About Us

The Campaign Leadership Council serves as the primary volunteer leadership group for The University of Texas at San Antonio's comprehensive campaign. The Council consists of key influencers who provide visionary philanthropic leadership. This group of leaders advises the university on impactful fundraising opportunities in concert with the Division of Advancement and Alumni Engagement. Members of the Council were selected due to their broad range of affinities to UTSA to ensure the university's representation across the community.

Volunteer Leaders Campaign Leadership Council

  • Dr. Taylor Eighmy, UTSA President
  • Sam Dawson, Chair
  • Carlos Alvarez (In Memoriam), Co-Chair
  • Nancy Kudla '87, Co-Chair
  • Graham Weston, Co-Chair
  • Kathy Acock
  • April Ancira '03
  • Michael Anderson '86
  • Darryl Byrd
  • Ruth Chang '95
  • Henry Cisneros
  • Pete Cortez '89
  • Trish DeBerry
  • Myron East
  • JJ Feik
  • Don Frost
  • Oscar Garza '82
  • Polly Gauthier '88
  • Jim Goudge
  • Phil Green
  • John Gutzler
  • Sarah Harte
  • Keith Herndon '81
  • Norman Jacobson
  • Bill Klesse
  • Kathleen Martinez '94
  • Red McCombs (In Memoriam)
  • John T. Montford
  • Harvey Najim
  • Gabi Niederauer
  • Cathy Obriotti Green
  • Jan Puckett
  • John Richardson
  • Sheryl Sculley
  • Pat Semmes
  • Bob Watson '74
  • Tullos Wells
  • Melissa Whitaker
  • Greg Whitaker '90
  • David Zachry

Creating a Bold Future Together

Our community leaders believe in the mission of our great university, and UTSA is grateful for the leadership of our entire Campaign Leadership Council. Learn more about the personal stories of our CLC Co-Chairs and why they chose to Be Bold for UTSA.

Sam Dawson, CLC Chair

Sam Dawson serves as CEO of Pape-Dawson Engineers, Inc. - San Antonio's largest engineering firm with headquarters in San Antonio and locations in Austin, Houston, Dallas, and Fort Worth. Sam Dawson and the company have supported UTSA's mission for many years, providing significant support to Roadrunner Athletics, the Klesse College of Engineering and Integrated Design, and other programs.

Carlos Alvarez, CLC Co-Chair

Carlos Alvarez proudly supported UTSA, a Hispanic Serving Institution where many of its students, like him, are first-generation Mexican Americans. His support for the university dates back to 2006; he and his wife, Malú, donated $20 million to name the College of Business, now the Carlos Alvarez College of Business. He was thrilled to support the largest business school in San Antonio, the same city in which he built his own business. Sadly, Carlos Alvarez passed away on April 9, 2024, but his incredible impact on UTSA and San Antonio will forever be cherished.

Nancy Kudla, CLC Co-Chair

Nancy Kudla '87 graduated from the first female class at the Air Force Academy and went on to receive her MBA from The University of Texas at San Antonio in 1987. Nancy is involved in helping start-up companies and running the Kudla Family Foundation with her husband, Frank. In 2011, they created the Nancy and Frank Kudla Endowed Fellowship in Cybersecurity through their Family Foundation.

Graham Weston, CLC Co-Chair

Graham Weston has supported UTSA for nearly 20 years. He believes in building constructive environments for business start-ups and helping students and entrepreneurs flourish. Graham co-founded the cloud-computing company, Rackspace, in 1998 and served as its former chairman and CEO. Today, he remains an avid entrepreneur and is involved with various efforts to advance San Antonio's tech district among other initiatives.

Go to Giving Home

UTSA Main Campus,
North Paseo Building, 5th floor

Who We Are

We are committed to helping friends and supporters of The University of Texas at San Antonio engage with the university in ways that will create a bold future for our students, faculty, and staff. Whatever your interest at UTSA, we can help you make a lasting impact on Roadrunner Nation.