2020 News

UTEP and UTSA Collaborate to Create Bipartisan Water Research Focus Group

UTEP's Center for Inland Desalination (CIDS) and Sustainable Water Through Integrated Modeling (SWIM) met with UTSA's Institute of Water Research Sustainability and Policy (IWRSP) to create the Bipartisan Water Research Focus Group.
SWIM and CIDS represented by Drs. James Kubicki, Lin Ma, Deana Pennington, Alex Meyer, Shane Walker, Lixin Jin, Mark Engel, Malanda Cappelle, Hugo Gutierrez, and Ramirez Moreno; IWRSP represented by Drs. Hatim Sharif, Hongjie Xie, Drew Johnson, Marcio Giacomoni, and Saugata Datta.

Geology MS Student Ashley Aguilar Awarded 2020 Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) Grant

The DDETFP awards fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines.

Roundtable: Discover Transdisciplinary Research at UTSA

Dr. Saugata Datta presented "Water Sustainability and Innovations at IWRSP" in a roundtable discussion with UTSA research institute directors.
UTSA Research »

Institute for Water Research, Sustainability and Policy to Explore the Resource's Impact on Society

The institute brings together faculty across UTSA to collaborate in the areas of water quality, water quantity, flood control, and water policy.
UTSA Today »

Creation of the Institute for Water Research, Sustainability and Policy Approved

In July 2020, the UTSA Transdisciplinary Research Council approved the proposal to create a multi-disciplinary institute focused on water issues.