UTSA Faculty Offer Insight at AERA 2017 Regional Area Scholars Meeting

August 08, 2016

by Nicole Duff at 8:49 AM in Campus CommunityInteresting, Staff News

Regional Area Scholars Meeting.jpg 

Dr. Vanessa Hammler Kenon (far left) and other UTSA faculty members including Dr. Harriett Romo (second from the right) at the 2017 AERA Regional Area Scholars Meeting.

The American Educational Research Association (AERA) will host its annual meeting in the Southwestern United States for the first time next spring. Several UTSA faculty members including Assistant Vice Provost for IT Dr. Vanessa Hammler Kenon met with the President of AERA Dr. Vivian Gadsden and AERA Executive Director Dr. Felice Levine, along with other AERA members, to discuss planning this event, slated for April 27th – May 1st, 2017 in downtown San Antonio.

The Regional Area Scholars Meeting provides AERA members from the upcoming annual meeting's host city a forum to engage in dialogue regarding themes that would be best suited for the annual meeting program. Participants delved into a myriad of topics pertaining to issues in education in the region for ideas for tours, sessions, and other events for next year's conference.

"This was a wonderful opportunity to be invited by AERA to represent UTSA, OIT, and South Texas for the nation's largest professional organization devoted to scientific study in education," said Kenon.

Next year's AERA meeting will be co-chaired by Dr. Angela Arzubiaga, associate professor at Arizona State University (ASU) and Dr. James Earl Davis, professor at Temple University. It will focus on the theme "Knowledge to Action—Achieving the Promise of Equal Educational Opportunity."

The meeting's first two days in San Antonio will coincide with the city's Fiesta celebrations. This will allow attendees an opportunity to experience San Antonio's rich and unique culture first-hand.

"This is a first and a really major event for the City of San Antonio and South Texas," Kenon stated.

The AREA comprises over 250,000 members including faculty, researchers, graduate students and other professionals with experience in workplace education. Current AERA membership from the UTSA Office of Information (OIT) also includes Associate Vice Provost for Digital Learning Sunay Palsole, Project Coordinator for the Customer Relations and Communications (CRC) team Rosalind Ong De Treviño and Communications Specialist Nicole Duff.


To read the UTSA COEHD's press release about the Regional Area Scholars Meeting via UTSA Newswire, visit:


Click here for more information about the AERA.