College of Sciences

Department of Physics and Astronomy

 

Richard Anantua
Richard Anantua, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.386
Phone: (210) 458-6564
Email: Richard.Anantua@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Astronomy
  • Black Holes
  • Computational Astrophysics
  • General Relativity
Arturo Ayón
Arturo Ayón, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: MEMS 1.100
Phone: (210) 458-7245
Email: Arturo.Ayon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Materials Science of Thin Films
  • Metamaterials
  • Microdevices
  • Photovoltaics
  • Sensors
Cristian Botez
Cristian Botez, Ph.D.
Professor and Assistant Vice President for Research

Office: 2.130K GSR
Phone: (210) 458-8227
Email: Cristian.Botez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Materials Physics
  • Nanomagnetism
  • X-ray and Neutron Scattering
Lorenzo Brancaleon
Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.378
Phone: (210) 458-5694
Email: Lorenzo.Brancaleon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Molecular Biophysics
  • Optical Spectroscopy
  • Photophysics
Andrey Chabanov
Andrey Chabanov, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.356
Phone: (210) 458-6426
Email: Andrey.Chabanov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Advanced Photonic Materials
  • Wave Phenomena in Periodic and Random Media
Chonglin Chen
Chonglin Chen, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.354
Phone: (210) 458-6427
Email: Chonglin.Chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Electronic Thin Films and Heterostructures
  • Energy Materials and Catalysis
  • Smart Materials and Control Systems
  • Surface and Interface
Liao Chen
Liao Chen, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record

Office: AET 3.396
Phone: (210) 458-5457
Email: Liao.Chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Biophysics
  • Theoretical and Computational Physics
Dina Drozdov
Dina Drozdov, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.344
Phone: (210) 458-8179
Email: Dina.Drozdov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Interstellar Medium
  • Supernovae
Lindsay Fuller
Lindsay Fuller, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Research

Office: AET 3.358
Email: Lindsay.Fuller@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Active Galaxies
  • Environments of Supermassive Black Holes
  • Infrared Telescopes
Robert Hamby
Robert Hamby
Lecturer II

Office: MS 3.02.24
Phone: (210) 458-5749
Email: Robert.Hamby@utsa.edu

Zlatko Koinov
Zlatko Koinov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.388
Phone: (210) 458-5446
Email: Zlatko.Koinov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Bose-Einstein Condensation
  • Magnetooptics
  • Nanophysics
  • Strongly Correlated Systems
Ichishiro Konno
Ichishiro Konno, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.376
Phone: (210) 458-5759
Email: Ichishiro.Konno@utsa.edu

Nicolas Large
Nicolas Large, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.392
Phone: (210) 458-8279
Email: Nicolas.Large@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Condensed Matter Theory
  • Nanophotonics
  • Plasmonics
  • Physics of Materials and Nanostructures
Xóchitl López-Lozano
Xóchitl López-Lozano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.380
Phone: (210) 458-5062
Email: Xochitl.Lopezlozano@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Condensed Matter Theory
  • Optical Spectroscopy
  • Physics of Nanostructures
Rafael Lopez Mobilia
Rafael Lopez-Mobilia, Ph.D.
Professor of Instruction and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: AET 3.350
Phone: (210) 458-5460
Email: Rafael.Lopezmobilia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Cosmology
  • Foundations of Quantum Mechanics
  • Theoretical Particle Physics
Marcelo Marucho
Marcelo Marucho, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.374
Phone: (210) 458-7862
Email: Marcelo.Marucho@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Computational and Theoretical Biophysics
  • Computational and Theoretical Nanomaterials
  • Computational and Theoretical Neurophysics
  • Scientific Software Developer
Kathryn Mayer
Kathryn Mayer, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: SRL 1.416
Phone: (210) 458-8278
Email: Kathryn.Mayer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Biophysics
  • Optical Techniques
  • Plasmonics
  • Single Molecule Studies
Jose Morales
Jose Morales, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.01.40
Phone: (210) 458-5735
Email: Jose.Morales4@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Electronics
  • Inverse Problems in Electrochemistry
  • Kinetic Theory
  • Quantum Information
Kelly Nash
Kelly Nash, Ph.D.
Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Office: AET 3.203
Phone: (210) 458-6153
Email: Kelly.Nash@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Biophotonics
  • Nano-Bio Interfaces
  • Nanoparticle Synthesis and Spectroscopy
  • Nanotransducers
Chris Packham
Chris Packham, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.384
Phone: (210) 458-8671
Email: Chris.Packham@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Active Galactic Nuclei
  • Infrared Instrumentation
  • Infrared Observations
  • Stellar Discs
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza, Ph.D.
Professor and Assistant Department Chair

Office: AET 3.205F
Phone: (210) 458-8267
Email: Arturo.Ponce@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Nanostructured Materials
  • Structural Defects in Materials
  • Transmission Electron Microscopy and Electron Diffraction
James Powell
James Powell, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: AET 3.363
Phone: (210) 458-5698
Email: James.Powell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Cosmic Microwave Background
  • Cosmology
  • Early Radiation Universe
Eric Schlegel
Eric Schlegel, Ph.D.
Professor

Office: AET 3.324
Phone: (210) 458-6425
Email: Eric.Schlegel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Astrophysics of Interacting Binary Stars
  • Supernovae
  • X-ray Emission of Spiral Galaxies
David Silva
David Silva, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean

Office: BSE 2.110D
Phone: (210) 458-4450
Email: DavidR.Silva@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Astronomical Data Services and Systems
  • Extragalactic Stellar Populations
  • Host Stars of Exoplanets
  • International Observatory Development, Implementation, and Operation
Elizabeth Sooby
Elizabeth Sooby, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: SRL 1.414
Phone: (210) 458-7901
Email: Elizabeth.Sooby@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Corrosion
  • High Temperature Materials Synthesis
  • Materials Physics
  • Nuclear Materials
  • Reaction Kinetics
  • Thermal Analysis
Angela Speck
Angela Speck, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair

Office: AET 3.205C
Phone: (210) 458-6954
Email: Angela.Speck@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Astronomy
  • Astrophysics
  • Infrared
  • Mineralogy
  • Optical Properties
Tyler Sutherland
R. Tyler Sutherland, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.530
Email: Robert.Sutherland@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics
  • Quantum Computing
  • Quantum Optics
  • Quantum Simulation
  • Quantum Technology
Xinting Yu
Xinting Yu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Email: Xinting.Yu@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Astronomy
  • Exoplanets
  • Material Characterization
  • Planetary Science
  • Theoretical Astrophysics
  • Titan

Research and Visiting

Larry Tankersley, Ph.D.
Specialist

Email: Larry.Tankersley@utsa.edu

Adjoint

Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

Click here to view the SwRI faculty involved in the Space Physics Graduate Program through UTSA.

 

© The University of Texas at San Antonio