Tenure/Tenure Track

Arturo Ayón
Arturo Ayón, Ph.D.
Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record

Office: MEMS 1.100
Phone: (210) 458-7245
Email: Arturo.Ayon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • materials science of thin films
  • metamaterials
  • microdevices
  • photovoltaics
  • sensors
Lorenzo Brancaleon
Lorenzo Brancaleon, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.378
Phone: (210) 458-5694
Email: Lorenzo.Brancaleon@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • molecular biophysics
  • optical spectroscopy
  • photophysics
Andrey Chabanov
Andrey Chabanov, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.356
Phone: (210) 458-6426
Email: Andrey.Chabanov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • advanced photonic materials
  • wave phenomena in periodic and random media
Chonglin Chen
Chonglin Chen, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.354
Phone: (210) 458-6427
Email: Chonglin.Chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • electronic thin films and heterostructures
  • energy materials and catalysis
  • smart materials and control systems
  • surface and interface
Liao Chen
Liao Chen, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.396
Phone: (210) 458-5457
Email: Liao.Chen@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • biophysics
  • theoretical and computational physics
Zlatko Koinov
Zlatko Koinov, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.388
Phone: (210) 458-5446
Email: Zlatko.Koinov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Bose-Einstein condensation
  • magnetooptics
  • nanophysics
  • strongly correlated systems
Nicolas Large
Nicolas Large, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: AET 3.392
Phone: (210) 458-8279
Email: Nicolas.Large@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • condensed matter theory
  • nanophotonics
  • plasmonics
  • physics of materials and nanostructures
Xóchitl López-Lozano
Xóchitl López-Lozano, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.380
Phone: (210) 458-5062
Email: Xochitl.Lopezlozano@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • condensed matter theory
  • optical spectroscopy
  • physics of nanostructures
Marcelo Marucho
Marcelo Marucho, Ph.D.
Associate Professor

Office: AET 3.374
Phone: (210) 458-7862
Email: Marcelo.Marucho@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • biophysics
  • chemical physics
  • nano-conjugates
  • polymer physics
Kathryn Mayer
Kathryn Mayer, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: SRL 1.416
Phone: (210) 458-8278
Email: Kathryn.Mayer@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • biophysics
  • optical techniques
  • plasmonics
  • single molecule studies
Kelly Nash
Kelly Nash, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs

Office: AET 3.203
Phone: (210) 458-6153
Email: Kelly.Nash@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • biophotonics
  • nano-bio interfaces
  • nanoparticle synthesis and spectroscopy
  • nanotransducers
Chris Packham
Chris Packham, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.384
Phone: (210) 458-8671
Email: Chris.Packham@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • active galactic nuclei
  • infrared instrumentation
  • infrared observations
  • stellar discs
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza
Arturo Ponce-Pedraza, Ph.D.
Associate Professor and Associate Chair

Office: AET 3.352
Phone: (210) 458-8267
Email: Arturo.Ponce@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • nanostructured materials
  • structural defects in materials
  • transmission electron microscopy and electron diffraction
Dhiraj Sardar
Dhiraj Sardar, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.332
Phone: (210) 458-5462
Email: Dhiraj.Sardar@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • biophotonics
  • laser spectroscopy
  • nanomaterials
Eric Schlegel
Eric Schlegel, Ph.D.

Office: AET 3.324
Phone: (210) 458-6425
Email: Eric.Schlegel@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • astrophysics of interacting binary stars
  • supernovae
  • x-ray emission of spiral galaxies
David Silva
David Silva, Ph.D.
Professor and Dean

Office: BSE 2.110D
Phone: (210) 458-4450
Email: DavidR.Silva@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • astronomical data services and systems
  • extragalactic stellar populations
  • host stars of exoplanets
  • international observatory development, implementation, and operation
Elizabeth Sooby Wood
Elizabeth Sooby Wood, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: SRL 1.414
Phone: (210) 458-7901
Email: Elizabeth.Soobywood@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • corrosion
  • high temperature materials synthesis
  • materials physics
  • nuclear materials
  • reaction kinetics
  • thermal analysis
Angela Speck
Angela Speck, Ph.D.
Professor and Department Chair

Office: AET 3.205C
Phone: (210) 458-6954
Email: Angela.Speck@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • astronomy
  • astrophysics
  • infrared
  • mineralogy
  • optical properties

Non-Tenure Track

Dina Drozdov
Dina Drozdov, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.344
Phone: (210) 458-8179
Email: Dina.Drozdov@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • interstellar medium
  • supernovae
Robert Hamby
Robert Hamby
Lecturer II

Office: MS 3.02.24
Phone: (210) 458-5749
Email: Robert.Hamby@utsa.edu

Ichishiro Konno
Ichishiro Konno, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.376
Phone: (210) 458-5759
Email: Ichishiro.Konno@utsa.edu

xAneta Koynovax
Aneta Koynova, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: AET 3.350
Phone: (210) 458-7103
Email: Aneta.Koynova@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • III-V semiconductor thin film materials
  • nanostructured solar cells
  • photo-converters and solar cells
  • semiconductor physics and technology
Rafael Lopez Mobilia
Rafael Lopez-Mobilia, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: AET 3.201
Phone: (210) 458-5460
Email: Rafael.Lopezmobilia@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • cosmology
  • foundations of quantum mechanics
  • theoretical particle physics
James Powell
James Powell
Lecturer I

Office: AET 3.363
Phone: (210) 458-5698
Email: James.Powell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • cosmic microwave background
  • cosmology
  • early radiation universe

Research and Visiting

Necip Guven, Ph.D.
Research Professor

Email: Necip.Guven@utsa.edu

Larry Tankersley, Ph.D.

Email: Larry.Tankersley@utsa.edu


Southwest Research Institute (SwRI)

Click here to view the SwRI faculty involved in the Space Physics Graduate Program through UTSA.

UT Brownsville (UTB)

Click here to view the UTB faculty involved with UTSA students.