Coronavirus Updates: The latest information for students, faculty & staff >>


Keep Running with the College of Sciences!

Good news, ‘Runners! Current undergraduate students who meet their program’s criteria will now be automatically admitted to their department’s master’s program for the Fall 2020 semester. This is a great opportunity to further your education, boost your foundational knowledge, and make connections in your field. Learn more about graduate opportunities in the College of Sciences.



Changing the Future of Science

Leaders emerge from the College of Sciences — in research and in education. Our programs impart the knowledge and skills required for success in competitive global marketplaces. We seek to inspire students of all ages and backgrounds to pursue research and applied sciences through traditional learning; collaborative, hands-on work; and outreach to pre-college aged students.


San Antonio Weather


Faculty Job Postings

No postings at this time.



Finis Stribling is a Physics M.S. student at UTSA.

» read Finis' story


Attention COS Staff

Show your appreciation for your fellow coworkers -- nominate them for the Staff Council Appreciation Award.

Click here for information.


Recent News
Drs. Dakai Zhu, Amanda Fernandez, and Wei Wang are part of one of the two projects awarded FY 2021 Transdisciplinary Teams research awards » read more
Dr. Afamia Elnakat joins Telemundo to discuss the relationship between air quality and the coronavirus pandemic » watch video
Class of 2020: Matt Moore, Computer Science BS program » read more
Geology undergraduate student Ethan Fagan received the South Texas Geological Society UTSA Chair Award
Class of 2020: Juan Morales, Neurobiology PhD program » read more
Geology undergraduate student Maria Solis selected by the Geological Society of America to receive a J. David Lowell Field Camp Scholarship
Dr. Karl Klose is leading a team of scientists developing a novel vaccine to combat COVID-19 » read more
Dr. John Quarles and student Eric Nave have launched the first worldwide Accessibility VR Game Jam » read more
Drs. Bernard Arulanandam, Doug Frantz, Juan Gutiérrez, and Karl Klose discuss their efforts to monitor and treat COVID-19 » read more
Congratulations to Physics doctoral student Emil Peñafiel for his Chateaubriand Fellowship » read more
COS seminar hosted by Dr. George Perry: Publication Ethics in the Open Access Era » watch video
Dr. Juan Gutierrez studying the transmission of COVID-19 » read more

COVID-19 in Texas Interactive Mapping Tool
developed by Dr. Hongjie Xie and PhD student YoungHyun Koo

Faculty Highlights
Dr. Banglin Chen Dr. Banglin Chen and his team's work on hydrogen storage has been highlighted in Nature Reviews Materials » read more
Dr. Hector Aguilar Dr. Hector Aguilar received the UTSA University Excellence Awards President's Teaching Award for Excellence in University Service » read more
Dr. Chiung-Yu Hung Dr. Chiung-Yu Hung received the UTSA University Excellence Awards President's Teaching Award for Research Achievement » read more
Dr. Murtuza Jadliwala Dr. Murtuza Jadliwala awarded a five-year $499,512 NSF CAREER grant » read more
Office Hours
#OfficeHours highlights our non-tenure-track faculty
NTT faculty

» meet Dr. Raquel Vallines Mira


Upcoming Events

calendar icon
Find Us