Faculty


Joint  |  Emeritus

Hector Aguilar
Hector Aguilar, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction
Distinguished Teaching Professor

Office: BSE 1.104J
Phone: (210) 458-5455
Email: Hector.Aguilar@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Biology
  • Induction of Stem Cell Differentiation by Small Molecules
  • Medicinal Chemistry, Organic Chemistry
Hadi Arman
Hadi Arman, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: BSE 1.653
Phone: (210) 458-5757
Email: Hadi.Arman@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Crystal Engineering Focusing on Hydrogen and Halogen Bonding Interactions
  • Departmental X-ray Crystallographer
Stephan Bach
Stephan B.H. Bach, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104D
Phone: (210) 458-6896
Email: Stephen.Bach@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Imaging
  • Mass Spectrometry
  • Metal Clusters
  • Nanomaterials
Banglin Chen
Banglin Chen, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104C
Phone: (210) 458-5461
Email: Banglin.Chen@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Functionalization of Nano-Sized Cavities
  • Nanoparticles
  • Nanoporous Metal-Organic Frameworks
Mark Davidson
Mark Davidson

Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: BSE 1.658
Phone: (210) 458-8229
Email: Mark.Davidson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Basic and General Chemistry
  • Physical Chemistry Lab
Victoria Dougherty
Victoria Dougherty

Assistant Professor of Practice and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: BSE 1.660
Phone: (210) 458-5473
Email: Victoria.Dougherty@utsa.edu

Michael Doyle
Michael P. Doyle, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104G
Phone: (210) 458-4196
Email: Michael.Doyle@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Catalytic Oxidation Processes
  • Design and Development of Chiral Catalysts
  • Diazo Chemistry
  • Highly Enantioselective Catalytic Reactions
  • Medicinal Chemistry
Gerardo Elgu├ęzabal
Gerardo A. Elgu├ęzabal, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.654
Phone: (210) 458-7675
Email: Gerardo.Elguezabal@utsa.edu

Walter Ermler
Walter C. Ermler, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104E
Phone: (210) 458-7005
Email: Walter.Ermler@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Computational Spectroscopy
  • Modeling Heavy-Element Compounds
  • Theoretical Chemistry
Doug Frantz
Doug E. Frantz, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 4.258
Phone: (210) 458-7048
Email: Doug.Frantz@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Asymmetric Catalysis
  • Heterocyclic Synthesis
  • Medicinal Chemistry
  • Physical Organic Chemistry
  • Process Chemistry
John Frederick
John H. Frederick, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: AET 1.363
Phone: (210) 458-7553
Email: John.Frederick@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Chemical Physics
Waldemar Gorski
Waldemar Gorski, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104M
Phone: (210) 458-4961
Email: Waldemar.Gorski@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Electrochemical Enzyme Assays
  • Electrochemical (Bio)sensors and Modified Electrodes
  • Electrode Films
Hyunsoo Han
Hyunsoo Han, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: BSE 1.104K
Phone: (210) 458-5456
Email: Hyunsoo.Han@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Asymmetric Catalysis
  • Organic Synthesis
  • Polymer and Combinatorial Chemistry
Audrey Lamb
Audrey Lamb, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair

Office: BSE 1.106A
Phone: (210) 458-5478
Email: Audrey.Lamb@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Mechanistic Enzymology
  • Metabolic Pathways
  • Structural Biology
Oleg Larionov
Oleg V. Larionov, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 4.117
Phone: (210) 458-6050
Email: Oleg.Larionov@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Enantioselective Catalysis
  • Medicinal Chemistry
  • Synthesis of Biologically Active Natural Products
Aimin Liu
Aimin Liu, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 4.206
Phone: (210) 458-7062
Email: Aimin.Liu@utsa.edu  |  Feradical@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cofactor Biosynthesis
  • Mechanistic Enzymology
  • Metabolism
  • Oxygen Activation
  • Protein Biochemistry
  • Redox Regulation
Blain Mamiya
Blain Mamiya, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Office: BSE 1.660
Phone: (210) 458-5448
Email: Blain.Mamiya@utsa.edu

Akanksha Matta
Akanksha Matta, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.652
Phone: (210) 458-7680
Email: Akanksha.Matta@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Exploration of New Pathways for Synthesis of Novel Heterocyclic Compounds
  • Biological, Photophysical, and Catalytic Applications of Novel Heterocyclic Compounds
  • Heterogenous Catalysis including Ziegler-Natta and Phillip's Catalyst
Stanton McHardy
Stanton F. McHardy, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Office: SRL 1.438
Phone: (210) 458-8676
Email: Stanton.McHardy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Medicinal Chemistry
  • Small Molecule Drug Discovery in Cancer, Infectious Disease, and Neuroscience
  • Synthesis of Natural Products
  • Synthetic Methodology
Ghezai Musie
Ghezai T. Musie, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record

Office: BSE 1.104F
Phone: (210) 458-5454
Email: Ghezai.Musie@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • Catalysis and Materials
  • Green Chemistry
  • Inorganic Chemistry
Sarah Oerther
Sarah Oerther

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.652
Phone: (210) 458-8230
Email: Sarah.Agudelo@utsa.edu

Wei Reeves
Wei Reeves, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.658
Phone: (210) 458-8236
Email: Wei.Reeves@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Develop New Class of Materials for Affinity Purification of Native Proteins
  • Design and Synthesis of Macrocycle Conjugates
  • Modification of Native Protein
  • Peptide Synthesis
  • Supramolecular Chemistry
  • Lecture: General Chemistry, Organic Chemistry, Organic Chemistry Lab, Organic Synthesis Lab
Raymond Sadeghi
Raymond Sadeghi, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Instruction

Office: FLN 3.01.28
Phone: (210) 458-5747
Email: Raymond.Sadeghi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Simulation of Chemical Reactions
  • Simulation of Photodissociation Dynamics
  • Theoretical Chemistry
Kirk Schanze
Kirk Schanze, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 4.322
Phone: (210) 458-6813
Email: Kirk.Schanze@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Conjugated Polymers
  • Luminescence Imaging
  • Photochemistry and Photophysics
  • Photoresponsive Materials
Susan Thomas
Susan Thomas, Ph.D.

Professor of Instruction and Undergraduate Advisor of Record

Office: BSE 1.648
Phone: (210) 458-7051
Email: Susan.Thomas@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Kinetics of Protein DNA Interactions
  • Thermodynamics of Protein Folding
  • Lecture in General Chemistry, Biochemistry, Basic Biophysical Chemistry, and the labs
Zachary Tonzetich
Zachary J. Tonzetich, Ph.D.

Associate Professor and Graduate Advisor of Record

Office: BSE 1.104B
Phone: (210) 458-5465
Email: Zachary.Tonzetich@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • Catalysis
  • Kinetics and Mechanism of Inorganic Reactions
  • Odd-Electron Organometallics
  • Synthetic Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry
Fang Xu
Fang Xu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.104L
Phone: (210) 458-5774
Email: Fang.Xu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Reaction Mechanisms for Heterogeneous Catalysis
  • Nanoscience
  • Scanning Tunneling Microscopy
  • Surface and Interface Science
Francis Yoshimoto
Francis K. Yoshimoto, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Office: BSE 1.104H
Phone: (210) 458-5459
Email: Francis.Yoshimoto@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Enzyme Mechanism
  • Mass Spectrometry
  • Target-Oriented Synthesis
Adrian Zapata
Adrian Zapata, Ph.D.

Senior Lecturer

Office: BSE 1.654
Phone: (210) 458-5743
Email: Adrian.Zapata@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • Small Molecule Kinetics Modeling
  • Reactive NOx Species
  • Metalloprotein Synthesis
John Zhao
John C.-G. Zhao, Ph.D.

Professor

Office: BSE 1.104A
Phone: (210) 458-5432
Email: Cong.Zhao@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Asymmetric Synthesis and Reaction
  • Oxidation
  • Phosphorus Chemistry
  • Small Ring Compound

Joint Appointments

Jenny Hsieh
Jenny Hsieh, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4707
Email: Jenny.Hsieh@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Epilepsy
  • Neurogenesis
  • Stem Cells
Ambika Mathur
Ambika Mathur, Ph.D.

Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Phone: (210) 458-6405
Email: Ambika.Mathur@utsa.edu

George Perry
George Perry, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-8660
Email: George.Perry@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alzheimer's Disease
  • Neurobiology
  • Oxidative Stress

Emeritus

Harry Jarett III
Harry Wellington Jarrett III, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: Harry.Jarrett@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Muscular Dystrophy and Signal Transduction
  • Transcription Factor Purification
Judith Walmsley
Judith A. Walmsley, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: Judith.Walmsley@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biomolecular Structure
  • Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry
  • Nucleotide Structures
Λ