Strategic Communications


The Strategic Communications Committee will develop a comprehensive, integrated marketing program that builds brand awareness and positive perceptions of UTSA. A recently conducted market perceptual survey, presidential priorities, established institutional strengths and key differentiators should be used as resources to create the new brand positioning. Development of this program should include strategic messaging, visual brand identity, web and digital media, earned and paid media strategies, and internal communications and campus activation.

Operational and Infrastructure Excellence

Task Force Members

Joe Izbrand
Associate Vice President for Communications & Marketing, Chief Communications Officer
Marjie French
Vice President of External Relations
Suman Basuroy
Chair, Department of Marketing, College of Business (COB), Chairs Council
Sean Kelly
Dean, Honors College
Lisa G. Blazer
Senior Associate Vice President for Student Affairs (VPSA)
Jordan Lindsey
Student (Communications/PR), College of Liberal and Fine Arts (COLFA), Student Government Association
Brett Calvert
Executive Director of University Marketing, University Communications and Marketing (VPER)
Red Madden
Lecturer III, Communication, College of Liberal and Fine Arts (COLFA)
Lisa Campos
Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics and Athletic Director
Chad Mahood
Associate Professor, Department of Communications, College of Liberal and Fine Arts (COLFA)
CJ Craig
Vice President of Marketing Strategy, Community Housing Resources Partners, UTSA Alumni Association
Jan McKinney
Director of Communications and Administration, Student Affairs (VPSA)
Mary Dixson
Associate Vice Provost, Teaching and Learning (VPAA)
John Murphy
Dean, College of Architecture, Construction and Planning (CACP)
Christi Fish
Executive Director of University Communications, University Communications and Marketing (VPER)
Anne Peters
Executive Director Communications, Office of the President
Kristina Garza
Director of Enrollment Services Marketing & Communication, VPSA
Brandi Raschke
Program Manager, Center for Community Engagement & Inclusion (VPSA), Staff Council
Dan Gelo
Dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts (COLFA)
Jaclyn Shaw
Director, Office for Research Support, (VPR)
K.C. Gonzalez
Director of Communications and Special Projects, Vice Provost for Academic and Faculty Support (VPAA)
Mitzi Shipley
Creative Services Manager, University Communications and Marketing (VPER)
Dean Hendrix
Dean of Libraries
Thomas Tunstall
Senior Research Director, Institute of Economic Development (VPCS)
Nicholas Hernandez, Sr.
Undergraduate Admissions Counselor/UTSA Welcome Center (VPSA)
Morris White
Associate Athletics Director of Marketing, Broadcast & Community Relations
Patricia Jaramillo
Lecturer III, Public Administration, College of Public Policy (COPP)
Floyd Wormley
Professor and Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Studies, College of Sciences (COS)



  • Market research and perceptual survey
    October-December 2017

  • Messaging and advertising collateral development
    December 2017-April 2018

  • Launch of new brand identity
    September 2017-December 2019

  • Earned and paid media strategies
    December 2017-April 2018

  • Measurement and assessment
    March-October 2019