Student Success Task Force


The Student Success Task Force will develop an integrated student success plan that includes goals, metrics, accountability and self-assessment. The plan will adopt a student-focused strategy and consider a pipeline continuum from K-12 through recruitment, enrollment, academic progress, career services and placement. This task force will examine best practices from other institutions and think expansively about administrative structure, accountability and resources.

Great Multicultural Discovery Enterprise
Student Excellence
Student Experience

Task Force Members

Rhonda M. Gonzales
Interim Vice President for Student Success
Evangeline Aguilera
Faculty Senate Representative
Assistant Professor, COEHD
Sharon Navarro
Associate Professor, Department of Political Science & Geography, COLFA
Edwin Barea-Rodriguez 
Associate Dean, COS
Benjamin Perry
Assistant VP for Facilities Planning & Development, VPBA
Lisa Blazer
Interim Vice President for Strategic Enrollment, VPSE
Antonio Petrov
Assistant Professor, Department of Architecture, CACP
Monica Bowden
Staff Council Representative
Senior Program Coordinator, COE
Kevin Price
Senior Associate Vice President & Dean of Students, VPSA
Óscar Chávez
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics, COS
Katherine Rico
Student Government Association Representative
Brian Cordeau 
Director, Institutional Research, VPAA
Francine Romero
Associate Professor & Associate Dean, COPP
Margo DelliCarpini
Dean, College of Education and Human Development
Patricia Sánchez
Department Chairs Council Representative
Professor, Department of Bicultural-Bilingual Studies, COEHD
Kevin Grant
Associate Dean, COB

Can (John) Saygin
Interim Senior Vice Provost for Institutional Effectiveness
Interim Vice Provost and Dean of the Graduate School

Elvira Jacquez
President’s Staff Representative
Assistant Vice President for Strategic Initiatives, Office of the President
Lorrenza Vandiver 
Assistant Director, Professional Development & Diversity, Career Services, VPSA
Joseph Kulhanek
Assistant Vice President, Institute for P-20 Initiatives, VPCS
Bryan Wilson
Interim Vice Provost for Information Technology and Chief Information Officer (CIO)
Rebecca Luther
Director of Communications, VPAA
Tammy Jordan Wyatt
Associate Vice President for Student Academic Success
Raquel Marquez 
Interim Associate Vice President for Student Success Initiatives
René Zenteno
Professor, Department of Demography, COPP
Harry Millwater
Associate Dean, COE
Kimberly Andrews Espy
Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Kathy Funk-Baxter
Vice President for Business Affairs
Sam Gonzales 
Vice President for Student Affairs



  • Richard Staley, Managing Director
  • Megan Wallace & Ashlie Prioleau

Meeting Minutes, Documents and Presentations


  • Launch Task Force
    mid-October 2017

  • Work with consultant on campus visit
    early-November 2017

  • Integrate with other two task forces
    December 2017

  • Draft report
    January 2018

  • Final report with implementation projects
    March 2018

  • Town Halls
    Monday, March 19 | 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. | Denman Room, UC 2.01.28 | Main Campus
    Thursday, March 22 | 4:00 – 5:30 p.m. | Location: TBD | Downtown Campus