Tuesday, September 18, 2018

UTSA joins Desert Southwest Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit

UTSA joins Desert Southwest Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit

(Sept. 25, 2017) -- The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA) is now part of the Desert Southwest Cooperative Ecosystem Studies Unit (DSCESU)a network of universities, government agencies and NGOs studying cultural and natural resources across five Southwestern states — Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada and California.

UTSA's collaboration will be coordinated through the UTSA Center for Cultural Sustainability, housed in the UTSA College of Architecture, Construction, & Planning, and will include the university’s Center for Archaeological Research. The university is primed to contribute scholarship that aligns with DSCESU’s research objectives in historic preservation, cultural resource conservation and planning, climate change impacts, and sustainable development.

CACP faculty contributions can include:

  • master planning
  • archival research and architectural history
  • heritage documentation by photography and measured drawings
  • existing condition assessment
  • historic structure reports
  • research and recommendations on conservation methods
  • adaptive use design with energy retrofits
  • remote sensing and other non-destructive testing
  • heritage tourism analysis and design
  • heritage conservation training/education
  • feasibility analysis
  • building maintenance planning

 All nine of UTSA’s colleges include academic programs and departments relevant to DSCESU activities.

Disciplines germane to DSCESU work include:

  • Anthropology
  • Architecture
  • Art and Art History
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Civil and Environmental
  • Engineering
  • Construction Science
  • Demography
  • Education
  • Economics
  • English
  • Geographic Information Science
  • Geography
  • Geological Sciences
  • History
  • Historic Preservation
  • Management
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Physics
  • Public Administration
  • Real Estate Finance
  • Sociology
  • Urban and Regional Planning

Federal partners in the cooperative include U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management, U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) National Park Service, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Bureau of Indian Affairs, U.S. Department of Agriculture, U.S. Forest Service, Natural Resources Conservation Service, U.S. Department of Defense (DoD) and U.S. Army Corps of Engineers.

UTSA is recognized as one of the top five young universities in the nation by Times Higher Education.

- Tracie Quinn

Learn more about the UTSA College of Architecture, Construction and Planning.

Learn more abou the UTSA Center for Cultural Sustainability.

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to news@utsa.edu. Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.