Wednesday, September 19, 2018

Leadership UTSA welcomes 2017-18 cohort

Leadership UTSA welcomes 2017-18 cohort

(Sept. 22, 2017) -- Leadership UTSA recently welcomed its 9th cohort. Leadership UTSA (LUTSA) is a leadership development program comprised of faculty and staff from every division of the University. The twenty participants are nominated by their divisional vice president. UTSA executive leadership look for leadership potential within their staff and faculty and nominate those who display potential to be the university’s next generation of leaders.  This program has proven to be one of UTSA’s most dynamic programs in leadership development and supports the UT System Chancellor’s Leadership Initiative.  LUTSA has been shared with other universities at conferences and research regarding the success of the program is in the 2017 SACRAO Journal.  

The 2017-2018 cohort is listed below:

  • Tulio Sulbaran (Construction Science)
  • Tim Yuen (Interdisciplinary Learning)
  • Abraham DeLeon (Educational Leadership)
  • Erica Sosa (Health & Kinesiology)
  • Patricia Sanchez (Bicultural Bilingual Studies)
  • Drew Johnson (Civil and Environmental Engineering)
  • Stacey Davis (Music)
  • Isabel Muzzio (Biology)
  • Kirstin Wilsey (Engineering)
  • Anne Peters (President's Office)
  • Christian Clark (Institute of Texan Cultures)
  • Rosanne Gorny (Financial Services)
  • Jacqueline Ortiz (Business Affairs)
  • Kathleen Carter-Stiggers (Human Resources)
  • Lydia Bueno (Student Affairs)
  • Sherman Corbett (Athletics)
  • Beverly Woodson-Day (Student Affairs)
  • Heather Green (Annual Giving & Development Communications)
  • Jaclyn Shaw (Research)
  • Belinda Dovalina (Facilities)

The cohort meets once a month September through April. Each participant is paired with a senior level executive mentor during the spring to further explore leadership styles while attending meetings and discussing the experiences of their mentor. This involvement along with dedicated opportunities to interact with each division’s vice president office provides participants with a deeper understanding of the university in which they work. Following a peer selection process, participants have the opportunity to serve on the leadership team the following year for the next LUTSA cohort.

Alumni of the program have achieved success after LUTSA as ACE Fellows, Department Chairs, Deans, Directors and Associate Vice Presidents. In addition to career advancement, participants leave with an increased awareness of their leadership potential and a better understanding of their university and their colleagues within it.  It is an invitation to critically think about leadership and one’s relationship with leadership long after the 8 monthly sessions have ended.

The 2017-2018 LUTSA Leadership Team:

  • Cié Gee (cohort 2)
  • Amy Chanmugam(cohort 7)
  • Ben Garcia(cohort 7)
  • Hillary Klingman(cohort 7)
  • Carol Gonzalez(cohort 7)
  • Barry McKinney (cohort 8)
  • Denise Moore (cohort 8)
  • Lindsay Ratcliffe (cohort 8)
  • Aaron Parks (cohort 8)
  • Andra Kiser (cohort 8)

For a complete list of cohorts, visit the Leadership UTSA website. 

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.