Thursday, March 17, 2022

UTSA Alumni Association announces new leadership, board members

UTSA Alumni Association announces new leadership, board members

Phillip Morales ’08 and Yvonne Addison ’09, ’18, serve as president and vice president of the UTSA Alumni Association. They lead a board of 25 directors responsible for supporting UTSA higher educational goals and charitable engagement relevant to the mission of the university.

(Sept. 24, 2018) -- The UTSA Alumni Association Board of Directors announces new leadership and the addition of three new members. Phillip Morales '08 has succeeded Andrew Waterman '03 as president. Yvonne Addison '09, '18, was elected vice president.

The rest of this year’s executive committee includes Noel Ayala '07, who was elected treasurer, and at-large committee members William Di Filippo '91, '11, John McFall '92, Nancy Ozuna '93, '95, and Mike Setser '97.  Each will serve a one-year term on the executive committee.

“This is an exciting time for our new leadership team to help move our alumni engagement efforts forward as we support UTSA President Taylor Eighmy’s vision for UTSA,” said Kristin Ludwig, associate vice president for alumni engagement and analytics and executive director of the UTSA Alumni Association. “I know that Phillip and Yvonne will continue our history of strong leadership of the board as we prepare to celebrate the university’s fiftieth anniversary next year.”

The board also welcomed three new members: Cynde Bard '10, Laura B. Garcia '06 and Fidel I. Moreno '91.

Addison, for one, is proud to continue volunteering for the Alumni Association, especially as it grows in service to UTSA students and alumni.

“This year we had a record-breaking gala with more attendees and funds raised in our silent auction than in years past,” Addison said. “Our gala is our largest fundraising event for scholarships and the support we draw directly translates into financial support for UTSA students.”

She mentioned that over the last few years there has been increased engagement from graduates and the association with new events, including the start of a new alumni group for the College of Engineering and co-hosting a casino event with a UTSA marketing class.

The Alumni Association Board of Directors is comprised of 30 elected members representing various class years, majors, backgrounds, professions and geographic areas, who volunteer their time to direct the association budgeting and programming. Each director serves a three-year term unless elected to fill a vacant position.

Additional board directors include:

  • Shawn Bacon ’00
  • Joshua Bar-Yadin ’05
  • Chuck Clark ’94
  • Ciria (C.J.) Craig ’08
  • Bethany Eggleston ’14
  • Artie Garcia ’98
  • Tami Griffin ’94
  • Dana M. Jones ’09
  • Armando Marroquin ’98
  • Tina McDaniel Mendler ’06
  • Scott Metzger ’05
  • Tim Morrow ’97
  • Brittany Pratt ’06, ’11
  • Christopher Rackley ’08, ’14
  • Becky Salinas ’00, ’11
  • Craig Saucier ’00
  • Steven Schipull ’89
  • Abby N. Smith ’09
  • Steven Thompson ’82
  • Brittany Garcia – SGA President

The UTSA Alumni Association supports the educational activities of The University of Texas at San Antonio and policies generally favorable to higher education, as well as to engage in other benevolent and charitable undertakings relevant to the mission of the university.

Donald Sparks

Learn more about the UTSA Alumni Association board including how to nominate someone.

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.




University of Texas at San Antonio receives ‘transformational’ $40M gift

UTSA’s Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA’s Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA’s Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

UTSA’S Destinations

UTSA is a proud Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) as designated by the U.S. Department of Education.

Our Commitment to Inclusivity

The University of Texas at San Antonio, a Hispanic Serving Institution situated in a global city that has been a crossroads of peoples and cultures for centuries, values diversity and inclusion in all aspects of university life. As an institution expressly founded to advance the education of Mexican Americans and other underserved communities, our university is committed to ending generations of discrimination and inequity. UTSA, a premier public research university, fosters academic excellence through a community of dialogue, discovery and innovation that embraces the uniqueness of each voice.