Thursday, March 17, 2022

Roadrunners honored during remembrance ceremony

Roadrunners honored during remembrance ceremony

The Roadrunner Memorial Garden is a place where the UTSA community can reflect on those who have passed away.

(March 15, 2019) -- The UTSA community will pay respects to UTSA students, faculty, staff and alumni who passed away in 2018 at the 11th annual Roadrunner Remembrance. The ceremony takes place at 3 p.m. on Friday, March 22 in the Student Union Retama Auditorium (SU 2.02.02). The university will also honor two individuals who have been great champions for UTSA – Tom C. Frost and Edith McAllister.

Roadrunner Remembrance will feature readings and music to honor the individuals’ contributions to UTSA. A feather is placed in a nest to symbolize and honor each Roadrunner’s legacy. A reception will immediately follow the ceremony at the Memorial Garden where a symbolic feather wreath will be placed.

2019 honorees:

Ryan Alanis
Delfino Amador
Adrian Amaya
Nelda Andrewartha
Guillermo Nicolas Angelino
Alfredo Arias
Gloria Arriaga
Vincent Avallone
Guadalupe Balli
Joe Barnes
Christian Barrientos
Ron Beck
Jodi Bell
Konrad Besch
Nelwyn Borgens
Leroy (Roy) Braswell
Kimberleigh Briggs
Cecilia Brookins
Elizabeth Broussard
William Brown
John/Jack Buentello
David Burleson
Ann Butler
Antonio Calabria
Sean Caldwell
Debi Campsey
Patrick Carmack
Anita Carpenter
Robert Carr
Peter Casey
David Castello
Ricardo Castillo
Leticia Castro
JoAnna Chapa
Claude Cisneros
Harvey Cobb
Thomas Collins
Edmund Ray Comsti
Jacqueline Cormie
Clayton Cross
Anita Cruz
Melanie Davis
James De Leon
Anita Delgado
Brian Derrick
Robert Diaz
JoAnn Diaz
Jean Dickman
Nancy Donovan
Patrick Dossey
Natalie Dunmore
Wilson Dunn
Nathan Efron
Damon Erpelding
Martha Esparza
Linda Evans
Bobbi Jean Fickle
Judith Fisher
Jane Flood
Maria Flores
Sharon Foss
Nicole Foster
Sarah Fox
Maurie Freddie
Phyllis French
Nicole Galván
Melissa Galván
John Garcia
George Garcia
Ezequiel Garcia
Jennifer Garcia
Adrian Garza

Alexander Gobbi
Karla Gonzalez
Martha Gonzalez
Pete Gonzalez
David Gorman
Robert Grazulis
Lynn Green
Andrew Greene
Renata Griswold
Michael Guilmino
Steven Hallford
Michael Hamilton
Joseph Haro
Shirley Harris
Keith Harrison
Jone Hedrick
Joseph Heflin
Roberto Hernandez
Ottillia Hodgkinson
Ann Hoeksema
Sharon Homuth
Randall House
Jeffrey Hulgan
Dan Humbert
Sue Hutchison
Maxie Inman
Joyce Jablonski
Diana Jackson
Maria Jimenez
Lois Kemmy
Clarence King
Matthew Kliewer
Kaleb Kloppe
Anna Kutchins
Kay Kutchins
Kimberly Kvernes
Susan Landreth
Robert Le Pere
James Leach
William Lewis
David Liebmann
Lynn Lindemann
Richard Longfellow
Randall Lott
Alejandro Martinez
Cornelius Mathis
Karen May
Cheryl Mead
Guillermo Mendez
Manuel Mendez III
Albert Meneses
Nicholas Milanovich
Betty Moczygemba
Veronica Moczygemba
Margaret Monsibais
Guillermo Moreno
Patricia Morse-McNeely
Christina Narvaez
Peggy Neff
Kathryn Nicholson
Leticia Nuncio
Kimbro Ogilvie
Leonard Ohmes
Cynthia Ottinger
Marian Owczarzak
Mary Ozuna
Daniel Palacios
Edward Pallazola
Scott Payne
Jorge Peña
Christopher Peterson

Chris Polk
Anthony Pons
Helen Pratt
Sharon Raisch
Norbert Ramon
Alfred Rasmussen
Courtney Ray
Catherine Rea
Thomas Recknagel
Rolando Revilla
Jerry Reynolds
Andrew Rice
Diana Rivas
Caesar Rivera
Mark Rodriguez
Oscar Rodriguez
Dianne Ross
Joe Rubio
Manuel Ruiz
Hector Salinas
Eduardo Sanchez
Elvi Sanchez
Elodia Sandoval
William Schellenger
Donna Schorr
Jamera Scott
Emebet Selassie
Genevieve Semler
Homer Shanks
Susan Sheehan
Jennifer Sholund
Clint Shussler
Mary Simon
James Skaines
Zachary Slough
Lilia Smith
Amy Snowden
Barbara Snyder DeCuir
Marcela Sobrevilla
Steven Solsbery
Carolyn Starkey
Courtney Syfert
Mario Telles
Ruben Tey
Stanley Thomas
Ronald Toney
Haydee Treviño
Juana (Janie) Treviño
Tiffany Treviño
Amy Triplett
Delia Valdez
Regina Valdez
Eduardo Valenzuela
Kenneth Van Damme
Michael Warden
Dean Watson
Christina Welch
Richard Welker
Theresa Werick
Fred (Fritz) Wernli
Patricia (Patti) White
Randall White
William Whiteman
Guie Wong
Emma Woodlee
John Worch
Julia Wright
Dusty Young
Julietta Young
Imelda Zuniga

Families that want to commemorate the time their loved one was at UTSA are encouraged to purchase a brick to be included on the Paseo. The Pave the Paseo project, a brick pathway along the Student Union Paseo, features bricks engraved with names and organizations.

Ann Margaret Trujillo

Celebrate UTSA’s 50th Anniversary and share social media posts about the 50th using the hashtag #UTSA50.

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.




University of Texas at San Antonio receives ‘transformational’ $40M gift

UTSA’s Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA’s Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA’s Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

UTSA’S Destinations

UTSA is a proud Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) as designated by the U.S. Department of Education.

Our Commitment to Inclusivity

The University of Texas at San Antonio, a Hispanic Serving Institution situated in a global city that has been a crossroads of peoples and cultures for centuries, values diversity and inclusion in all aspects of university life. As an institution expressly founded to advance the education of Mexican Americans and other underserved communities, our university is committed to ending generations of discrimination and inequity. UTSA, a premier public research university, fosters academic excellence through a community of dialogue, discovery and innovation that embraces the uniqueness of each voice.