Thursday, March 17, 2022

Outstanding Roadrunners recognized at annual University Life Awards

Outstanding Roadrunners recognized at annual University Life Awards

Vice President for Student Affairs Sam Gonzales with the 2019 Golden Feather recipients. Photo credit: Brandon Fletcher

(April 8, 2019) -- Shining a spotlight on the incredible contributions of UTSA students, faculty and staff, winners of the 2019 University Life Awards were announced during a special two night ceremony. UTSA President Taylor Eigmhy and several members of his leadership team, including Vice President of Student Affairs Sam Gonzales, were on hand to honor these students and organizations for their impressive accomplishments.

The University Life Awards recognize outstanding students, student organizations, staff and faculty for their contributions to the quality of student life at UTSA. The awards, coordinated by both the Council of Student Organizations and the Student Government Association, are presented annually during the spring semester.

More than 300 nominations from organizations and individuals were submitted this year for consideration in categories including Outstanding Registered Student Organization, Outstanding Program Celebrating Culture, Diversity and Inclusion, and Outstanding Students by Classification, among many others.

The highest honors for individual students go to the recipients of the Jane Findling Award, recognizing individual achievements over the 2018-2019 academic year, and the Golden Feather Award, recognizing students that have crafted a powerful legacy over the entire course of their academic careers at UTSA.

The Golden Feather Award winners:

  • Aileen Montana
  • Bharath Ram
  • Brittany Ashley Garcia
  • Cameron Nguyen
  • Jacob Mauceri
  • Joshua Guerra
  • Marielle Gaspar
  • Sanah Jivani
  • Simon Karottakuttu

Jane Findling Award winners:  

  • Beanna Okeugo
  • Elvira Carias
  • Kelsey Bauers
  • Stephanie Opah
  • Yasemin Dinibutun

The full list of student organization winners include:

Outstanding Collaborative Program

  • Honors Alliance

Outstanding Community Activism Organization

  • Women in Leadership

Outstanding Community Service Program

  • Hunger and Homelessness Movement

Outstanding Educational Program

  • Rowdy Women in Physics

Outstanding Membership Development Program

  • Hunger and Homelessness Movement

Outstanding Performing Organization

  • Overly Chromatic

Outstanding Professional Development Program

  • Pre-Pharmacy Student Organization

Outstanding Program Celebrating Culture, Diversity and Inclusion

  • Iranian Students Association

Outstanding Religious/Spiritual Program

  • Voices in Praise

Fraternity Man of the Year     

  • Nick Ng of Gamma Beta Fraternity

Sorority Woman of the Year  

  • Rachel Jendrzey of Alpha Delta Pi Sorority

Diane Abdo Outstanding Advisor Award

  • Mary McNaughton-Cassill of Active Minds

Outstanding President

  • Osasu Ewansiha of the National Society of Black Engineers

Outstanding New Student Organization


Outstanding Registered Student Organization

  • Hunger and Homelessness Movement

Outstanding Sponsored Student Organization

  • Honors Alliance

The full list of individual student, faculty, and staff winners include:

Outstanding Freshman           

  • Anjali Shah
  • Karla Madrigal

Outstanding Sophomore       

  • Lacee Barnes

Outstanding Junior    

  • Denise Guerra

Outstanding Senior    

  • Roxanne Rodriguez

Outstanding Graduate Student          

  • Victoria Castellanos

Male Athlete of the Year

  • Jhivvan Jackson

Female Athlete of the Year    

  • Julie Houston

Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Beanna Okeugo
  • Elvira Carias

John Kaulfus Outstanding Professional Staff Member

  • Jessica Dawson

Outstanding Faculty Member

  • Gilberta Turner

Nominations for the 2020 University Life Awards will open in December.

Charlin Jones-Chávez and Andrew Shelnutt

Get involved with the UTSA Student Government Association.

Celebrate UTSA’s 50th Anniversary and share social media posts about the 50th using the hashtag #UTSA50.

Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, Instagram and LinkedIn.

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.




University of Texas at San Antonio receives ‘transformational’ $40M gift

UTSA’s Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA’s Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA’s Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

UTSA’S Destinations

UTSA is a proud Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) as designated by the U.S. Department of Education.

Our Commitment to Inclusivity

The University of Texas at San Antonio, a Hispanic Serving Institution situated in a global city that has been a crossroads of peoples and cultures for centuries, values diversity and inclusion in all aspects of university life. As an institution expressly founded to advance the education of Mexican Americans and other underserved communities, our university is committed to ending generations of discrimination and inequity. UTSA, a premier public research university, fosters academic excellence through a community of dialogue, discovery and innovation that embraces the uniqueness of each voice.