Roadmap: Latest Campus & Coronavirus Info | Scheduled System Maintenance Dec 2-10
Friday, December 4, 2020

New Alumni Association leaders ready to start bold plans for UTSA

New Alumni Association leaders ready to start bold plans for UTSA

Yvonne Addison and Chris Rackely are the associations board's new president and vice president.

AUGUST 28, 2020 — The UTSA Alumni Association’s board of directors has announced new volunteer leadership for the 2020–2021 academic year as well as the addition of five new members.

Yvonne Addison ’09, M.B.A ’18 will succeed Will Di Filippo ’91, M.B.A. ’11 as board president. Professionally she is president for construction services firm Addison Prime.

Others elected to the association executive committee:

  • New vice president is Chris Rackley ’08, M.B.A. ’14, vice president at MARC III.
  • New treasurer is Chuck Clark ’94, president at Cohen, Berg & Co. P.C.
  • New members at large: Noel Ayala ’07, vice president of health care economics at WellMed Medical Management; C.J. Craig ’08, vice president of marketing at Big Brothers Big Sisters of South Texas; Yvonne Fernandez ’85, vice president of commercial operations at Security Service Federal Credit Union; and Mike Setser ’97, senior director of corporate sales and retention with Spurs Sports and Entertainment.

Each will serve a one-year term on the executive committee.

“I believe that when Roadrunner Nation works together, we can ensure a bold future for UTSA.”

Addison is no stranger to leading nonprofit organizations. She recently completed a term as president of the Junior League of San Antonio, one of the area’s largest charitable organizations.

“I am certainly going to lean on my past experience and connections to lead the UTSA Alumni Association now as we set a course for the organization to thrive through these uncertain times,” said Addison. “As an engineer, I believe a good plan is key to any sustainable effort. I am ready to work with the board on behalf of our members on that plan—but also challenge all alumni to consider how they can get involved. I believe that when Roadrunner Nation works together, we can ensure a bold future for UTSA.”

“Our new leadership team will play a pivotal role in moving the Alumni Association forward postpandemic,” said Steve Woodall, interim executive director of the Alumni Association, “so I am excited to see these leaders step up. I know that Yvonne, Chris and the entire board will continue our history of strong advocacy for the association, our members and the university.”

The board also welcomed five new members: Jacob Cavazos ’06, senior vice president at Broadway Bank; Randy Daniels ’08, first vice president at Merrill Lynch; Rico Marfil ’06, area manager with Medtronic; Adam Paisley ’13, senior analyst with Phillips 66; and Mike Pantusa ’99, director of marketing with Big Insurance Solutions.

The Alumni Association’s board of directors is made up of 30 elected members who represent various class years, majors, backgrounds, professions and geographic areas. Each person volunteers time to direct the association’s budgeting and programming. Each director serves a three-year term, unless elected to fill a vacant position.

Explore membership in and activities of the Alumni Association at UTSA.

Additional, continuing board directors are: 

Shawn Bacon ’00
Joshua Bar-Yadin ’05
Cynthia M. Bard ’10
Leticia Cavazos Ph.D. ’12
Artie Garcia ’98
Laura Beth Garcia ’06

Tami Griffin ’94
Dana Palasota Jones ’09
Armando Marroquin
Tina McDaniel Mendler ’06
Fidel Moreno III ’91
Tim Morrow ’97

Robert Ochoa ’07
Brittany Pratt ’06, M.A. ’11
Becky Salinas ’00, M.A. ’11
Marissa Scheffler ’07
Steven Thompson ’82

The Alumni Association serves and engages Roadrunner alumni in order to foster their lifelong connection to UTSA. The division is a strategic partner with the university and supports today’s students—future alumni. The association offers valued opportunities for connection and growth to members. Association programs build pride and tradition, and generate support and goodwill for UTSA, and it leads a growing Roadrunner Nation that is proud, sometimes loud, and always Rowdy.

Heather Green

UTSA Today is produced by University Strategic Communications,
the official news source
of The University of Texas at San Antonio.

Send your feedback to

UTSA Today is produced by University Communications and Marketing, the official news source of The University of Texas at San Antonio. Send your feedback to Keep up-to-date on UTSA news by visiting UTSA Today. Connect with UTSA online at Facebook, Twitter, Youtube and Instagram.




UTSA launches new cybersecurity institute to aid U.S. manufacturers

UTSA’s Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA’s Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA’s Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

UTSA’S Destinations

UTSA is a proud Hispanic Serving Institution (HSI) as designated by the U.S. Department of Education.

Our Commitment to Inclusivity

The University of Texas at San Antonio, a Hispanic Serving Institution situated in a global city that has been a crossroads of peoples and cultures for centuries, values diversity and inclusion in all aspects of university life. As an institution expressly founded to advance the education of Mexican Americans and other underserved communities, our university is committed to ending generations of discrimination and inequity. UTSA, a premier public research university, fosters academic excellence through a community of dialogue, discovery and innovation that embraces the uniqueness of each voice.