A. Texas Governor Greg Abbott signed Senate Bill 11 ("campus carry"), which allows for the carrying of concealed handguns on Texas public institution campuses by license to carry a handgun (LTC) holders. The purpose of the campus carry policy is to provide guidance on how the law will be implemented at UTSA while maintaining the safety of the campus community.
A. Campus carry takes effect on Aug. 1, 2016. UTSA implemented education and training initiatives before the law took effect.
A. Campus carry is limited to license to carry a handgun (LTC) holders. To obtain a concealed handgun license, a person must be 21 years old (with the exception of active duty military and police officers), meet state and federal qualifications to own a handgun and receive training from a LTC instructor that is certified by the Texas Department of Public Safety.
A. Yes. Senate Bill 11 makes it legal for license to carry a handgun (LTC) holders to carry handguns on campus, starting Aug. 1, 2016. Since LTCs do not permit rifles and other weapons, those items remain prohibited at UTSA.
A. A campus carry task force comprised of UTSA students, faculty members, staff members and administrators was appointed in fall 2015 to develop recommendations to implement campus carry at UTSA. The task force organized listening sessions while it conducted its work to obtain input from the larger UTSA community and other university supporters. After those recommendations were submitted, a campus carry policy on April 13, 2016 and revised exclusion zones on July 29th, 2016.
A. Senate Bill 11 gave the presidents of Texas' public universities the option to designate handgun-free zones on their campuses. UTSA's task force considered areas that could be designated as gun-free zones, how and where to place signage to notify the UTSA community and visitors about the law, whether lock-boxes and storage units would be needed and how to educate the campus community about the new law.
A. Yes. Texas Senate Bill 11 – known as "campus carry" – becomes law on Aug. 1, 2016 and allows people with a license to carry a handgun (LTC) to carry concealed handguns in permitted areas on campus. The handguns must remain concealed.
Texas House Bill 910 – known as "open carry" – became law on Jan. 1, 2016 and made it legal for LTC holders to carry visible handguns in the state of Texas. However, open carry does not apply at public universities, including UTSA, so even when both laws are in effect, individuals will not be allowed to visibly carry handguns at UTSA.
A. Texas Senate Bill 11 only allows individuals with a license to carry a handgun (LTC) to carry a weapon on a university campus. It's the law, and as a public university, we must follow the law.
A. Violating the campus carry law by intentionally displaying a handgun or going into a restricted gun-free area is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a $4,000 fine. Individuals without a valid License to Carry a Handgun (LTC) who enter a campus building with a handgun commit a third degree felony punishable by jail time of 2 to 10 years and a fine up to $10,000.
A. The Texas Department of Public Safety administers licenses to carry a handgun. Visit www.txdps.state.tx.us and click on the "Handgun Licensing" link for more information.
A. Probably not. With few exceptions, the law prohibits international students from purchasing handguns and ammunition.
A. No. To obtain a LTC, an individual must first be a legal Texas resident for six months. Undocumented students are not legal Texas residents.
A. In adherence to the Clery Act, UTSA posts annual security reports on the Police Department website. To view the most recent Clery data, visit www.utsa.edu/utsapd and click on the appropriate link on the left side of the web page.
A. If you see someone carrying a handgun on campus, contact the UTSA Police Department at 210-458-4242. Emergencies should be reported to the Police Department by calling 210-458-4911.
A. UTSA prohibits the visible display of handguns. Contact the UTSA Police Department if you have a concern.
A. Yes. Anyone may ask, but the individual asked is not required to reply unless asked by a police officer.
A. Faculty members may ask, but students are not required to provide that information. Faculty members may not take any action against a student who chooses not to answer. Any voluntary reporting by a student to a faculty member about his/her concealed carry permit status should be done privately. Faculty members should not, under any circumstances, attempt to coerce students into revealing their concealed carry status or pressure them to answer concealed carry queries.
A. Faculty and staff who are the sole occupant of an office that is not generally open to the public may designate their office as an exclusion zone.
A. To comply with the policy, faculty and staff will be required to give verbal notification to office visitors that handguns are not permitted and, when feasible, to provide written notice.
A. Faculty and staff MUST give verbal/oral notification to office visitors that handguns are not permitted. When feasible, they also should provide written notice, but that written notice CANNOT be in the form of a sign because doing so would invoke the statute's (Texas Penal Code - Section 30.06) specific signage requirements. See guidelines here. Instead, faculty and staff should consider including the written notification in their class syllabus, a small hand-out postcard that can be stationed on a table near the entrance to the office, an email footer notification, a notification message included in Outlook meeting invitations, or on the department website.
A. No. The mere act of carrying a concealed handgun (with a concealed carry permit as authorized by law) is not in and of itself a disruption of class activity. Likewise, another person's adverse reaction to someone carrying a handgun in accordance with the concealed carry act is not grounds to eject the permit-holder from the classroom.
A. No. This information is not a matter of public record.
A. UTSA faculty and staff members should use the Employee Assist Program. Visit www.utsa.edu/hr for details. Or, contact the Employee Relations team in the Office of Human Resources at 210-458-7891 for guidance.
A. The law does not expressly state where a weapon needs to be in order to be considered "concealed." The weapon cannot be in plain view or discernable by ordinary observation. Further, the weapon must be on the license holder's person or in close proximity (as to be readily accessible).
A. A person with a license to carry a handgun (LTC) must conceal the weapon. If a person's coat opens in the act of raising his or her arm to ask a question, for example, and a handgun can be seen, it is not a violation. A violation would occur when a person knowingly and intentionally displays the handgun in plain view of another person.
A. UTSA students, staff members, faculty members and visitors may not display their handguns on UTSA campuses. They must keep their handguns concealed at all times, barring life-threatening emergencies. If you see a handgun on campus, it should be reported to the UTSA Police Department so it can be documented and properly investigated. You can reach the UTSA Police Department at 210-458-4242 (for general calls) or 210-458-4911 (for emergencies).
A. Your location would determine whether open carry is legal. If you encounter a situation at a UTSA-sponsored event that makes you uncomfortable, you should speak with the UTSA staff member who oversees the group that held the event. If you're unaware of what type of UTSA event it was, conduct Student Conduct and Community Standards at 210-458-4720.
A. Senate Bill 11 states that a university president has the authority to enact "reasonable rules and regulations" but the rules may not either "generally prohibit" or "have the effect of generally prohibiting" license holders from carrying concealed handguns on campus. Banning concealed handguns from classrooms would be considered a general prohibition and so would violate the law.
A. If you have a valid license to carry a handgun (LTC) and you keep your handgun concealed, you may bring your handgun on campus starting Aug. 1, 2016. However, you may not display it publicly.
A. Concealed handguns in shared occupancy housing units are not allowed. UTSA's campus carry plan only permits handguns in single occupancy units.
A. Concealed handguns will be permitted on public university campuses starting Aug. 1, 2016. If you have a license to carry a handgun (LTC), you may bring your concealed handgun to convocation.
A. Handguns are not permitted in the John Peace Library (JPL) food court or in Roadrunner Café.
A. No. The museum serves school-aged children from various school districts, and UTSA locations providing care for minor children are designated exclusion zones.
A. No. UTSA locations providing care for minor children are designated exclusion zones.
A. Starting Aug. 1, 2016, handguns will be permitted at UTSA, except in designated exclusion zones. The policy is consistent year round, including during finals week.
A. No. The Alamodome is a handgun-free zone.
A. Texas has an existing law that prevents concealed carry at locations that serve alcohol. Because Chili's Too serves alcohol under a TABC license, it is a designated exclusion zone.
A. No. The Alamodome is a handgun-free zone.
A. Texas Senate Bill 11 takes effect at public four-year institutions like UTSA on August 1, 2016 – one year before it takes effect at community colleges.
A. No. UTSA will not track LTC holders.
A. It is a criminal act to exhibit threatening behavior with a gun, regardless of the individual's concealed carry permit status. When a crime is committed on campus, UTSA police officers will respond and take appropriate law enforcement action.
A. Yes. If a police officer reasonably believes a safety risk exists, he/she may disarm you. Be courteous and non-confrontational and follow the police officer's directions.
A. A weapon may be used in self-defense only as allowed by law. By doing so, the person acting is acting as a private citizen and not as an authorized agent of UTSA.
A. The UTSA Police Department will offer training for students, faculty members and staff members that provides detailed information regarding the new law and its application at UTSA. Visit the UTSA Training website (http://training.utsa.edu) to review classes offered.
A. Do not confront the person; call Police. Help others to escape and run away if you can. Otherwise conceal yourself. Fight back if you have no choice. If you encounter police officers, follow their instructions.
A. Forty-two states have reciprocity with Texas. However, while at UTSA, those license holders must follow Texas law.