Standard for Learning Management System Data Retention
The retention of UTSA courses data from the Learning Management System (LMS) Blackboard is governed by the university's records retention policy.
This standard pertains to the current LMS (Blackboard Learn 9.1).
The university data retention policy is currently located under Section 1.4 over here:
ONLINE LEARNING IMPLEMENTATION
|Course Status||Course Content and Student Data|
|Courses with student records: immediate live access||Online Learning will retain all data in for-credit courses live in Blackboard Learn, including student data, for the time period specified in the UTSA records retention policy. This includes content, faculty and student communication, assignments, tests and results, and students' papers used to determine the students' grades. These courses will be immediately available to pertinent faculty members and students who are completing Incompletes. The courses will not be available to any other students. Online Learning complies with the UTSA policy on Incompletes. After one year from the semester end date in which the courses were taught, these courses will be archived and removed from Blackboard Learn server and retained offline. For more information regarding Incompletes, please review the University's policy.|
|Courses with student records:
Online Learning will retain a copy of all for-credit courses offered through Blackboard Learn, including student data, for the time period specified in the UTSA records retention policy. This includes content, faculty and student communication, assignments, tests and results, and students' papers used to determine the students' grades. These courses can be restored and made available to pertinent faculty members upon request; please allow a minimum of two weeks to restore a course.
Only the Blackboard system administrator can "restore" an archived course to the Blackboard Learn production server. If you would like to request a course be restored, please email the following information to firstname.lastname@example.org.
The request should come from the course instructor, Department Chair, or Dean.
SCHEDULE OF COURSE REMOVAL
|Academic Term Course Offered||Blackboard Learning Platform||Course Content With Student Data Retained Live In Blackboard Until:||Course Archives With Content and Student Data Retained Offline Until:|
|Summer 2014||Learn 9.1||August 31, 2015||August 15, 2019|
|Fall 2014||Learn 9.1||December 31, 2015||December 31, 2019|
|Spring 2015||Learn 9.1||May 15, 2016||May 15, 2020|
|Summer 2015||Learn 9.1|| August 31, 2016|| August 15, 2020|
|Fall 2015||Learn 9.1||December 31, 2016||December 31, 2020|
|Spring 2016||Learn 9.1|||||
|Summer 2016||Learn 9.1
||August 31, 2017
||August 15, 2021|
|Fall 2016||Learn 9.1||December 31, 2017||December 31, 2021|
|Spring 2017||Learn 9.1||May 15, 2018||May 15, 2022|
|Summer 2017||Learn 9.1||August 31, 2018||August 31, 2022|
|Fall 2017||Learn 9.1||December 31, 2018||December 31, 2022|
|Spring 2018||Learn 9.1||May 15, 2019||May 15, 2023|
|Summer 2018||Learn 9.1||August 31, 2019||August 31, 2023|
|Fall 2018||Learn 9.1||December 31, 2020||December 31, 2023|
|Spring 2019||Learn 9.1||May 15, 2020||May 15, 2024|
|Summer 2019||Learn 9.1||August 31, 2020||August 31, 2024|
- All Blackboard courses created in Summer 2012 will be deleted on August 15, 2017.
- All Blackboard courses created in Fall 2012 will be deleted on December 31, 2017.
- All Blackboard courses created in Spring 2013 will be deleted on May 15, 2018.