Leadership Team

Dr. Jenny Hsieh, Director

Dr. Jenny Hsieh is Professor and Chair of Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology in the College of Sciences, the Semmes Foundation Distinguished Chair in Cell Biology and Director of the UTSA Brain Health Consortium. The UTSA Brain Health Consortium is a campus-wide transdisciplinary research initiative which spans stem cells/precision medicine, neuroscience, biomedical engineering, psychology and behavior with over 40 participating full-time faculty members.

Dr. Hsieh comes to UTSA from UT Southwestern, where she and her team made significant contribution to understanding the role of epigenetic and transcriptional regulation in adult neurogenesis. A major focus of her work was to understand the transcriptional/epigenetic regulatory circuitry that guides neural stem cell fate decisions in both normal and pathological states, and this work continues at UTSA through the Brain Health Consortium. Beyond her role at UTSA, Dr. Hsieh serves as a study section member for the National Institutes of Health and the American Epilepsy Society. She is also on the editorial board as a Reviewing Editor for The Journal of Neuroscience.

Jenny Hsieh, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology Department, College of Sciences, Semmes Foundation Distinguished Chair in Cell Biology, Director, UTSA Brain Health Consortium

Phone: 210-458-4707
Fax: 210-458-7017
Email: jenny.hsieh@utsa.edu

Dr. Charles Wilson, Associate Director

Dr. Charles Wilson is a Professor in the Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology Department as well as the Ewing Halsell Distinguished Chair in Biology. He is the founding Director of the UTSA Neurosciences Institute (NI) that has merged with the Brain Health Consortium and he now serves as an Associate Director for the Consortium.

Dr. Wilson studies the circuitry and neurons of the basal ganglia, with the goal of understanding the computational function of these structures at the cellular and network level, and their dysfunction in diseases, especially Parkinson’s Disease.  His experiments are focused on the ionic mechanisms that endow each cell type with its characteristic responses to synaptic input, the patterns of connectivity that deliver specific inputs to each cell, and the dynamics that arise from the combination of these.


Charles Wilson, Ph.D.
Professor, Neuroscience, Developmental and Regenerative Biology Department, College of Sciences, Ewing Halsell Distinguished Chair in Biology, Associate Director, UTSA Brain Health Consortium

Phone: 210-458-5654
Email: charles.wilson@utsa.edu

Dr. Leslie Neely, Associate Director

Dr. Leslie Neely, BCBA-D, is an Associate Professor in the Department of Educational Psychology at the University of Texas at San Antonio and Director for both the UTSA Behavior Analysis Program and Director for the Child and Adolescent Policy and Research Institute (CAPRI). CAPRI has also merged its efforts with the Consortium making Dr. Neely an Associate Director of the BHC as well.

Dr. Neely’s research focuses on progressing the treatment of problem behavior for individuals with AUIDD using the science of ABA. She advances the science through (1) investigation of novel technological applications such as telehealth, artificial intelligence, and virtual/augmentative reality in the assessment and treatment process, and (2) development of pre-emptive interventions for infants and toddlers aimed at preventing progression of symptomology. She engages local and international transdisciplinary teams in her work including computer scientists, engineers, special educators, neurologists, developmental pediatricians, and community leaders to tackle research questions with multiple levels of analysis.

Leslie Neely, Ph.D., BCBA-D, LBA
Associate Professor, Department of Educational Psychology, College of Education and Human Development, Director, Child & Adolescent Policy Research Institute, Associate Director, Brain Health Consortium

Phone: 210-458-2650
Email: Leslie.Neely@utsa.edu