Faculty


Adjoint  |  Emeritus

Aanuoluwa Adelani
Aanuoluwa A. Adelani, DVM, Ph.D.

Lecturer

Email: Aanuoluwa.Adelani@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Anatomy and Physiology
  • Antimicrobial Activities
  • Biosciences
  • Immunology
  • Microbiology
Bernard Arulanandam
Bernard Arulanandam, Ph.D., M.B.A.

Professor and Vice President for Research, Economic Development, and Knowledge Enterprise

Phone: (210) 458-5492
Email: Bernard.Arulanandam@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Cellular Immunology
  • Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Mucosal Immunity
Hong Cai
Hong Cai, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-6493
Email: Hong.Cai@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics
  • Genomic Signal Processing
  • Systems Biology
Astrid Cardona
Astrid E. Cardona, Ph.D.

Professor and Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5071
Email: Astrid.Cardona@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neuroinflammation and Mechanisms of Tissue Damage in Diabetic Retinopathy and Multiple Sclerosis
  • Neuroprotective Approaches via Modulation of Innate Immune Function
Sandra Cardona
Sandra Cardona, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-4089
Email: Sandra.Cardona@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Function of Glial Cells in Neuroinflammation
  • Neurodegeneration during Multiple Sclerosis and Diabetic Retinopathy
James Chambers
James P. Chambers, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5477
Email: James.Chambers@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Acinetobaster baumannii Enzymology
  • Biosensor Sensing Element Development
  • Francisella tularensis Enzymology
  • Glycoconjugate Isolation/Characterization
  • Influenza Nucleic Acid Based Detection
Ashok Chaturvedi
Ashok Chaturvedi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: Ashok.Chaturvedi@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Biofilm
  • Fungal Proteomics
  • Immunology
Mark Eppinger
Mark Eppinger, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6276
Email: Mark.Eppinger@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Microbial Genomics
Thomas Forsthuber
Thomas G. Forsthuber, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5760
Email: Thomas.Forsthuber@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Mechanisms Promoting Autoimmune Diseases
  • Translational Research That Can Be Directly Applied
Jettin Fuqua
Jettin Fuqua, M.S.

Lecturer

Email: Jettin.Murphy@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • General Biology Labs
  • Microbiology Lab
Neal Guentzel
M. Neal Guentzel, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-4473
Email: Neal.Guentzel@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Acinetobacter baumanii
  • Chlamydia trachomatis
  • Francisella tularensis
  • Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Microscopy
  • Vaccines
Kirsten Hanson
Kirsten Hanson, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5904
Email: Kirsten.Hanson@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Antimalarial Drug Discovery
  • Automated high Content Imaging
  • Host-Parasite Interactions
  • Plasmodium Cell and Developmental Biology
Hans Heidner
Hans W. Heidner, Ph.D.

Professor and Assistant Department Chair

Phone: (210) 458-5767
Email: Hans.Heidner@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Alphavirus-Based Vectors for Cell Targeting and Vaccine Applications and Development
  • Replication of Alphaviruses
Chiung-Yu Hung
Chiung-Yu Hung, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7018
Email: Chiungyu.Hung@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Immunology
  • Fungal Pathogenesis
  • Medical Mycology
  • Vaccine Development
Karl Klose
Karl E. Klose, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6140
Email: Karl.Klose@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bacterial Pathogenesis
  • Francisella tularensis
  • Vibrio cholerae
Soo Chan Lee
Soo Chan Lee, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Phone: (210) 458-5398
Email: Soochan.Lee@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Fungal Morphogenesis
  • Host-Pathogen Interactions
  • Medical Mycology
  • Mucormycosis
  • Mycobiome
Jose Lopez-Ribot
Jose L. Lopez-Ribot, Pharm.D., Ph.D.

Professor and Associate Dean for Research

Phone: (210) 458-7022
Email: Jose.LopezRibot@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Antifungal Drug Development
  • High Throughput Screening
  • Immunopathogenesis of Fungal Infections
  • Medical Mycology
  • Microbial Biofilms
Rahul Raghavan
Rahul Raghavan, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Email: Rahul.Raghavan@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Coxiella burnetii Evolution and Virulence
  • Microbial Genomics
  • Regulatory RNA Evolution and Function
  • Tick Endosymbionts Evolution and Function
Stephen Saville
Stephen P. Saville, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7023
Email: Stephen.Saville@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Genetic Regulation of Candida albicans Cell Shape
  • Role of Morphogenetic and Associated Changes in Candida albicans Virulence
Janakiram Seshu
Janakiram Seshu, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6578
Email: J.Seshu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Lyme Disease
  • Q-Fever
Sara Shields-Menard
Sara Shields-Menard, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Instruction

Phone: (210) 458-3990
Email: Sara.Shields-Menard@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Biofuels
  • Bioremediation
  • Biosciences II Lab
  • Diversity and Inclusion in STEM
  • Environmental and Industrial Microbiology
Yufeng Wang
Yufeng Wang, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-6492
Email: Yufeng.Wang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bioinformatics and Computational Biology
  • Comparative Genomics
  • Molecular Evolution and Population Genetics
  • Systems Biology
Jieh-Juen Yu
Jieh-Juen Yu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-5210
Email: Jiehjuen.Yu@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Mucosal Immunity
  • Vaccine Development against Bacterial Infection
Guoquan Zhang
Guoquan Zhang, DVM, Ph.D.

Professor

Phone: (210) 458-7020
Email: Guoquan.Zhang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Immunology
  • Vaccine Development
  • Vector-Borne, Emerging, and Zoonotic Infectious Diseases
Yan Zhang
Yan Zhang, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7020
Email: Yan.Zhang@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Developing Vaccines against Cancer and Infectious Diseases
  • Mechanisms of Host Cell-Microbial Pathogen Interaction
Xhavit Zogaj
Xhavit Zogaj, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Research

Phone: (210) 458-7033
Email: Xhavit.Zogaj@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Bacterial Biofilms
  • Vaccine Development against Tularemia

Adjoint

Garry Sunter
Garry Sunter, Ph.D.

Chair, Department of Biological Sciences

Northern Illinois University
gsunter@niu.edu

Floyd Wormley Jr.
Floyd L. Wormley Jr., Ph.D.

Associate Provost for Research and Dean of Graduate Studies

Texas Christian University
Email: floyd.wormley@tcu.edu

Texas Biomedical Research Institute (TBRI)
Timothy Anderson
Timothy Anderson, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

tanderso@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Epidemiology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Genetics and Genomics
  • Parasite Biology
Ricardo Carrion
Ricardo Carrion, Jr., Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

rcarrion@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Hemorrhagic Fever
  • Vaccine Development
Ian Cheeseman
Ian Cheeseman, Ph.D.

Adjoint Associate Professor

ianc@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Complex Malaria Infections
  • Drug Resistance in Malaria Parasites
Marcel Daadi
Marcel Daadi, Ph.D.

Adjoint Associate Professor

mdaadi@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Therapeutic Neural Stem Cell Lines
Diako Ebrahimi
Diako Ebrahimi, Ph.D.

Adjoint Assistant Professor

debrahimi@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Quantitative Biology
Marie Claire Gauduin
Marie Claire Gauduin, Ph.D.

Adjoint Associate Professor

mcgauduin@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Correlate of Protection
  • Infectious Diseases
  • Mucosal Immunity
  • Vaccine Development
Deepak Kaushal
Deepak Kaushal, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

DKaushal@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Mycobacterium tuberculosis
Luis Martinez-Sobrido
Luis Martinez-Sobrido, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

LMartinez@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • DNA Viruses
  • Negative-Strand and Positive-Strand RNA
Smriti Mehra
Smriti Mehra, Ph.D.

Adjoint Associate Professor

skulkarni@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Crohn’s Disease
  • HIV Disease
  • Immunogenetics
Jean Patterson
Jean Patterson, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

jpatters@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Host Pathogen Interactions
Corinna Ross
Corinna Ross, Ph.D.

Adjoint Associate Professor

cross@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Development of the Marmoset as a Model for Human Health and Disease
Larry Schlesinger
Larry Schlesinger, M.D.

Adjoint Professor

lschlesinger@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Cellular Immunology
  • Lung Innate Defense and Models
  • Microbial Pathogenesis
  • Tuberculosis
Diana Scorpio
Diana Scorpio, D.V.M.

Adjoint Professor

DScorpio@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Laboratory Animal Care and Medicine
Vinay Shivanna
Vinay Shivanna, Ph.D.

Adjoint Professor

VMenon@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Animal Model Development for Infectious, Metabolic, and Toxicology Studies
  • Comparative Pathology
  • Confocal Microscopy
Jordi Torrelles
Dr. Jordi Torrelles

Adjoint Professor

JTorrelles@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Bacterial Cell Wall Biochemistry
  • Cell Biology
  • Immunology
Joanne Turner
Dr. Joanne Turner

Adjoint Professor

joanneturner@txbiomed.org
Areas of Specialization

  • Aging
  • Immunology
  • Tuberculosis

Emeritus

Judy Teale
Judy M. Teale, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Phone: (210) 458-7024
Email: Judy.Teale@utsa.edu
Areas of Specialization

  • Neurocysticercosis
Λ