Tuesday, September 01, 2015

UTSA community members honored at University Excellence Awards

Share this Story

(April 9, 2013) -- UTSA faculty and staff members are invited to the 2013 University Excellence Awards Ceremony at 2 p.m., Tuesday, April 9 in the University Center Ballroom (1.104) on the Main Campus. Awards went to 20 faculty members, 20 staff members and two students.

The ceremony included presentations of the University Excellence Awards, President's Distinguished Achievement Awards, President's Distinguished Diversity Awards and Richard S. Howe Excellence Awards.

The awards listed below were presented and 2012 service milestones and retirees were recognized.

>> Download the 2013 University Excellence Awards Ceremony program including the lists of service awardees, retirees and award winners.

The program was opened by Jude Valdez, vice president for community services, followed by retiree and service recognition by Kerry Kennedy, vice president for business affairs.

Julius Gribou, executive vice provost, presented the President's Distinguished Achievement Awards to faculty members and President Ricardo Romo presented the staff University Excellence Awards, the President's Distinguished Diversity Awards, the Richard S. Howe Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Awards, and the Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Award.

The University Excellence Awards Planning Committee includes Stacey Blum, Tim Brownlee, David Diaz, Maria Espericueta, Debbie Howard, Carlos M. Lopez, Rebecca Luther, Edda Petiton, Sharmaine Walker, Vicki Weber and Claudia White.


2013 University Excellence Awards

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Teaching Excellence

  • Randall Manteufel
  • Jill Hernandez
  • Eileen Achorn

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Core Curriculum Teaching

  • Lydia Martinez-Rivera

The Rising Star Award

  • Kathryn McCloud

The Team Spirit Award

  • Access Services team: Tomas Fuentes, William Lowak, Jessenia Skelton, Helen White and Taniesa Williams

President's Distinguished Diversity Awards

  • Jenna Burns
  • Victoria Garrett
  • Ann Eisenberg
  • Women's Professional Advancement and Synergy Academy team: Marietta (Em) de la Rosa, Ann Eisenberg, Marcheta Evans, Rhonda Gonzales and Raquel Marquez

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Excellence in University Service

  • Mary McNaughton-Cassill
  • Thomas Cannon

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Excellence in Community Service

  • Francine Romero

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Research Achievement

  • William Cooke
  • Zachary Tonzetich

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Performance, Creative Production or Other Scholarly Achievement

  • Matthew Dunne

President's Distinguished Achievement Award for Advancing Globalization

  • Carlos D. Garcia

The Extra Mile Award

  • Irene Maldonado

The Leadership Award

  • Christi Fish

Order of the Roadrunner Award

  • Paul Duke

Richard S. Howe Outstanding Undergraduate Teaching Award

  • Donovan Fogt
  • Anita Leffel
  • Ronald Sweet

Richard S. Howe Excellence in Service to Undergraduate Students Award

  • Student Health Services team: Beth Wichman, Lorelei Salazar, Alonzo Guzman, Christina Palafox, Lisa Pecor, Ellen Bridges, Amanda Marin, Amanda Graves, Tanya Quinones and Barbara Reyes



Did You Know?

Football standouts make Roadrunner history

For Ashaad Mabry and Triston Wade, football is not just a passing fancy. Both players were part of the UTSA football program almost from the beginning. When UTSA opens the 2015 season Thursday at Arizona, it will be the first time the Roadrunners take the field without them. But Mabry and Wade will still be playing football; their uniforms will just be a different color.

Mabry, a defensive tackle from San Antonio's MacArthur High School, was an honorable mention All-Conference USA selection his final two seasons as a Roadrunner and second among the team's defensive linemen with 49 tackles last year. Wade, a defensive back from Tyler, was the most decorated player in school history. He was a semifinalist for the 2014 Jim Thorpe Award – for the nation's top defensive back – a three-time all-conference honoree and two-year team captain who set a school record of 293 tackles in his career. Both men had outstanding college careers that allowed them to make UTSA history.

Did you know? Mabry and Wade both agreed to terms as undrafted free agents with the New Orleans Saints and Seattle Seahawks, respectively, becoming the first UTSA players to move to the professional ranks.

Read More »
Sept. 7, All Day

Labor Day Holiday

All campuses will be closed for the Labor Day holiday.
All Campuses

Sept. 12, 11 a.m.

UTSA Football vs. Kansas State

Cheer on the UTSA Roadrunners at their home-opener against the Kansas State Wildcats.
Alamodome, 100 Montana St.

Sept. 15, 5:30 - 7 p.m.

Changing the Conversation: Recovery Works!

As part of National Recovery Month, a panel of substance abuse practitioners and members of the recovery community will discuss issues related to substance abuse treatment and recovery.
Durango Building 1.124 (DB 1.124), Downtown Campus

Sept. 24, 6 p.m.

The Power of Story in the Landscape of Memory and Identity

The UTSA College of Education and Human Development will host award-winning children’s author and illustrator Yuyi Morales. Morales will share personal stories that have influenced her work as an author and illustrator.
Buena Vista Building Aula Canaria (BV 1.328), Downtown Campus

Other Calendars
» UTSA Events | » Academic | » Institute of Texan Cultures

Submit an Event

Meet a Roadrunner

Mairin Derk exits the stage for academic life at UTSA

Love of theater, history leads Lee grad to pursue anthropology degree

UTSA's Mission

The University of Texas at San Antonio is dedicated to the advancement of knowledge through research and discovery, teaching and learning, community engagement and public service. As an institution of access and excellence, UTSA embraces multicultural traditions and serves as a center for intellectual and creative resources as well as a catalyst for socioeconomic development and the commercialization of intellectual property - for Texas, the nation and the world.

UTSA's Vision

To be a premier public research university, providing access to educational excellence and preparing citizen leaders for the global environment.

UTSA's Core Values

We encourage an environment of dialogue and discovery, where integrity, excellence, inclusiveness, respect, collaboration and innovation are fostered.

Connect with UTSA News


Related Links

Back to Top

2015 © The University of Texas at San Antonio  |  Produced by University Communications and Marketing