Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content

Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards

In November 2008, the UT System Board of Regents introduced the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Awards for UT’s nine academic institutions. The awards recognize faculty who deliver the highest quality of undergraduate instruction, demonstrate their commitment to teaching, and have a history and promising future of sustained excellence with undergraduate teaching.

The Regents have allocated $1 million this year for these teaching awards. It is intended that no fewer than 30 total awards will be made this year. The awards are $25,000 and are believed to be among the highest in the nation for rewarding outstanding undergraduate faculty performance and innovation. Actual awards will be made on the strength of individual faculty, not proportionally by campus.

Timeline for Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award, 2016




Fri., Oct. 16, 2015

Memo to the Academic Deans announcing the Regents’ Outstanding Teaching Award nomination and selection process.

Mon., Oct. 19-Dec. 3, 2015

Colleges determine internal selection process and internal deadline(s); distribute call for nominations to departments. Nominees vetted at the College level.

Fri., Dec. 4, 2015

College Deans’ Offices submit names of nominees to Nancy Martin via e-mail:
Tenured, 2; Tenure-track, 1; Non-tenure track/adjunct, 1.

Wed., Jan. 13, 2016

Phase I: nominees submit required materials to Nancy Martin ( for the selection process:
(1) Application form (6 pages, maximum); (2) CV emphasizing teaching accomplishments (15 pages, maximum); and, (3) Teaching philosophy statement (3 pages, maximum).

Thurs., Jan. 14-Fri., Jan. 29, 2016

Selection committee scores applications and teaching philosophy statements using rubrics and reviews nominees’ CVs

Mon., Feb. 1-Fri., Feb. 5, 2016

Phase II: selection committee meets to determine UTSA’s candidates:
Tenured, 8; Tenure-track, 3; Non-tenure track/adjunct, 3. 

Mon., Feb 8-Fri., March 11, 2016

Candidates are paired with a member of UTSA’s Academy of Distinguished Teaching Scholars (ADTS) who will serve as an “Award Mentor” throughout the e-portfolio development process.

Candidates develop full e-portfolio.

Tuesday. March 15, 2016

Completed PDF e-portfolios (no more than 150 pages in a single document) due to Nancy Martin. E-Portfolios should be uploaded to SharePoint or saved to a thumb drive.
*Note that this due date falls within Spring Break.


Past UTSA Recipients


Kathryn Brown, Anthropology
Kirsten Gardner, History
Patricia Jaramillo, Public Administration
Jerome Keating, Management Science & Statistics
Ram Krishnan, Electrical & Computer Engineering
Deborah Moon Wagner, Anthropology
Valerie Sponsel, Biology


Dennis Davis, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Eugene John, Electrical and Computer Engineering
Hazem Rashed-Ali, Architecture
Bruce Rudy, Management


Matthew Gdovin, Biology
Mark Leung, Management Science and Statistics
Lindsay Ratcliffe, Writing Program
David Ray Vance, English


Aaron Cassill, Biology
David Han, Management Science and Statistics
Randall Manteufel, Mechanical Engineering
Elizabeth Pate, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Can Saygin, Mechanical Engineering
Heather Shipley, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Daniel Tablada, Marketing


John Alexander, Architecture
Mark Allen, English
Karen Dodwell, English
Daniel Engster, Political Science and Geography
Janis Harmon, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Amy Jasperson, Political Science and Geography
Ermine Orta, Management Science and Statistics


Diane Abdo, English, Writing Program
Sazzad Bin-Shafique, Civil and Environmental Engineering
Thomas Cannon, Marketing
Kolleen Guy, History
Maria Kaylor, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Alycia Maurer, Interdisciplinary Learning and Teaching
Mary McNaughton-Cassill, Psychology
John Morris, Political Science and Geography
Richard Utecht, Marketing


Richard Gambitta, Political Science and Geography
Chunjiang Qian, Electrical and Computer Engineering