Biology logo


Effective September 1, 2021, the Department of Biology has been reorganized into three new departments.
Please go to our new websites for the most current information.




The Department of Biology at UTSA offers undergraduate and graduate students research opportunities in four principal areas: Cell and Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Immunology, Neurobiology, and Plant Biology. The Department also encourages collaborations among different research groups, across campus, and with other institutions.

The Department is committed to conducting advanced research to increase the fundamental knowledge base, to train the next generation of biologists for industrial/academic careers as well as scientifically literate citizens, and to assist in educational, technological, and economic outreach to San Antonio and South Texas.

Visit each principal area for a more detailed description of the research activities performed. If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to contact us. We will be more than happy to discuss the possibilities to better fit your research interests.



© The University of Texas at San Antonio