Business Affairs Employees Nominated for University Excellence Awards

April 20, 2022

Congratulations to the Business Affairs employees who were nominated for a University Excellence Award! These awards celebrate outstanding members of the UTSA community who have made a positive difference in their work environment.  The exceptional nominees from Business Affairs were chosen for their dynamic leadership skills, extraordinary initiative, exemplary teamwork and overall excellence. 

Award recipients will be recognized during a pre-recorded ceremony on Tuesday, April 26, 4–5 p.m. Anyone wishing to participate can view, comment and cheer on the winners during the ceremony through the YouTube chat feature. Two on-campus watch parties will feature the broadcast on the big screen: 

  • Main Campus: Business Building, University Room (BB 2.06.04)
  • Downtown Campus: Durango Building, La Villita Room (DBB 1.116)

More information about the event can be found on UTSA Today.

The Business Affairs nominees are:

University Excellence Staff Awards

Leadership Award

Frances Whitaker, Director of Payroll Management Services
Molly Ralph, University Police Sergeant
Kelly Rock, Assistant Director of Disbursements & Travel Services 

Rising Star Award

Katy Madden, Senior Manager, HR Business Partner

Extra Mile Award

Jonathan J. Jarrell, Assistant Director, Major Capital Projects
Jolyn Demarest, Occupational Health Coordinator  

Team Spirit Award  

RowdyLink and R25 Integration Team

Douglas Carter, Campus Planning Senior Systems Analyst

Pandemic Response Team

Lauren Beaver, Senior Director, Business Affairs Strategic Communications
Andrea Fernandez, Project Manager, Recovery Operations
Kareem Salama, Public Health Program Coordinator, Recovery Operations
Jolyn Demarest, Occupational Health Coordinator
Elyse Brown, Senior Communications Specialist 

Transportation Team

Ricardo Escobar II, Associate Director, Parking & Transportation
James Greene, Transportation Supervisor, Parking & Transportation
Irasema Boatright, Lead Driver
Michael Silva, Lead Driver

Special Shout Out to University Drivers
Kristin Boatright, Jimmie Booze, Brian Buggs, Yevgenia Capriatti,
Markus Carter, David Castillo, Almaluz Cornejo, Benjamin Espinosa,
Martin Gaytan, Israel Gaytan, Richard Guerra, Kenneth Johnson,
Maria Lopez, Catherine McKalpain, Farah Nadela, Steven Ruiz,
Emmanuel Ruiz, Natie Sutton, Michael Talbert, Robert Taylor
Facilities Team

Fred Wiedner, Events and Operations Manager
Della Reyes, Quality Assurance Manager
George Martinez, Grounds Quality Assurance Coordinator
Raymond Rosalez, Housekeeping Quality Assurance Coordinator
Henrietta Mercado, Housekeeping Quality Assurance Coordinator
Eunice De La Cruz, Housekeeping
Quality Assurance Coordinator
Juan Morales, Physical Plant Service Worker I
Scott Reuter, Assistant Director of Facilities Customer Services
Juan Villarreal, Physical Plant Service Worker II
Kim Norton, Work Control Manager

- Diane Gomez