Spring semester updates & COVID info Roadrunner Roadmap

HOP Approval Process

Amendment Approval Process


The president has designated the Office of Institutional Compliance and Risk Services (OICRS) as the university office responsible for the coordination of policy development and review, and to ensure institutional compliance with HOP policy 9.03.

HOP Amendment Approval Process

During the development and/or revision process, policies receive a rigorous review by the HOP Committee. Policies are also reviewed by identified stakeholders, the Office of Legal Affairs, the president. and the University of Texas System Office of General Counsel. Click here for more information on the amendment approval process. Click here for a list of policy changes from the last 90 days.

HOP Committee Membership

Members of the committee are appointed by the president to review and make recommendations to the president regarding the HOP. The HOP Committee membership includes the president or his or her designee, the vice presidents or their respective designees, the Faculty Senate chair, Staff Council chair, Student Government Association President, the policy coordinator, and other individuals as appointed by the president. Click see the member list below.

HOP Committee Responsibilities

The HOP Committee has the responsibility for the following activities:
A. Review and make recommendations to the president regarding any significant change to the Handbook of Operating Procedures, including the reformatting, and / or addition, amendment and deletion of policies and procedures in accordance with HOP policy 9.03.
B. Develop and maintain a schedule for the timely review and maintenance of existing policy.
C. Consult with outside subject matter experts as necessary to clarify policy/procedural requirements, assure compliance, or otherwise discharge the responsibilities of the committee.

Policy Coordination

James Weaver, Director, Office of Institutional Compliance and Risk Services, HOP Committee Chair
Evelyn Vanderburg, Compliance Management Analyst, HOP Policy Coordinator

Contact Information

If you have any questions regarding the approval process, policy revisions, or just general comments contact Evelyn Vanderburg at 458-4992

Policy Links

UTSA Handbook of Operating Procedures
UT System Policy Library
Board of Regents’ Rules and Regulations

HOP Committee members FY20-21

Committee Member


Area Represented

Carlos Martinez

Senior Vice President for Institutional Strategic Planning, Compliance Risk Management, and Office Operations Chief of Staff


Dr. Heather Shipley

Senior Vice Provost of Academic Affairs and Dean of University College


Dr. Tammy Wyatt

Vice Provost, Student Success


Dr. Steve Wilkerson

Associate Vice Provost, Institutional Research


Gary Lott

Clay Haverland

Assistant Vice President of Financial Services & University Bursar

Assistant VP, Campus Services

VPBA (Financial Affairs)

Wanda Boller

Denise Moore

Sylvia Enriquez

Assistant Vice President of Talent Cultivation

Executive Director Employee Services

Associate Vice President of People Excellence

VPBA (Human Resources)

Rebecca Anderson

Associate Vice President Operational and Advancement Services


Christine Moeller

Associate Athletics Director/Sports Administration & Student-Athlete Welfare & Senior Woman Administrator


Dr. Michelle Stevenson

Associate Vice President for Research Integrity


Herbert Ganey

Executive Director, Student Union

Student Affairs

Dr. Myron Anderson

Vice President for Inclusive Excellence


Vanesssa Kenon

Ben Garcia

Associate Vice President for Information Management and Technology
Director of Customer and Operations Support Services


Dr. Chad Mahood

Associate Professor / College of Liberal and Fine Arts/ Department of Communication

Faculty Senate

Jaime Fernandez

Senior Auditor

Staff Council

Taylor Edwards

Student Government President