Faculty


Emeritus

 

Ursula Alvarado-Miller
Ursula Alvarado-Miller, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Ursula.Alvarado-Miller@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Law
  • Plant Ecology
Jessica Beckham
Jessica Beckham, Ph.D.
Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Phone: (210) 458-8292
Email: Jessica.Beckham@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Entomology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Environmental Zoology
Janis Bush
Janis Bush, Ph.D.
Professor, Department Chair, and Associate Dean for Graduate Studies

Office: FLN 4.02.28
Phone: (210) 458-5660
Email: Janis.Bush@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Statistics
Kevin Eddy
Kevin Eddy, Ph.D.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: Kevin.Eddy@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Climate Change Ecology
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Environmental Systems
  • Plant Ecology
Afamia Elnakat
Afamia Elnakat, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Practice

Phone: (210) 458-5168
Email: Afamia.Elnakat@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology
  • Environmental Remediation
  • Fate and Transports of Chemicals
Julie Foote
Julie Foote, Ph.D.
Lecturer III

Office: FLN 4.03.20
Phone: (210) 458-8605
Email: Julie.Foote@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Microbiology
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Restoration Ecology
  • Soil Biogeochemistry
Jason Gagliardi
Jason Gagliardi, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.34
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Jason.Gagliardi@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Chemistry and Toxicology
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Environmental Remediation
  • Environmental Statistics
  • Environmental Systems
Stephanie Gdovin
Stephanie Gdovin, M.S.
Lecturer III

Office: FLN 4.02.34
Phone: (210) 458-5652
Email: Stephanie.Gdovin@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Desert Biology
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Flowering Plants
  • Woody Plants
Matthew Grunstra
Matthew Grunstra, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 1.01.02C
Phone: (210) 458-5103
Email: Matthew.Grunstra@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Geology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Geographic Information Systems
Jeffrey Hutchinson
Jeffrey Hutchinson, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.56
Phone: (210) 458-5396
Email: Jeffrey.Hutchinson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Freshwater Ecology
  • Natural Resource Policy and Administration
Jeffrey Jackson
Jeffrey Jackson, M.S.
Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02A
Phone: (210) 458-7880
Email: Jeffrey.Jackson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Desert Biology
  • Environmental Zoology
  • Field Biology
  • Ichthyology
Vonnie Jackson
Vonnie Jackson, M.S.
Lecturer II

Office: FLN 4.02.32
Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: Vonnie.Jackson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Botany
  • Environmental Zoology
Monica Juarez
Monica Juarez, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Monica.Juarez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • General Environmental Science
Brian Laub
Brian Laub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.36
Phone: (210) 458-5124
Email: Brian.Laub@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Fisheries
  • Freshwater Ecology
  • River Restoration
  • Watershed Processes
Melissa Markgraf
Melissa Markgraf, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Melissa.Markgraf@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Introduction to Soils Lab
Fernando Martinez
Fernando Martinez, Ph.D.
Lecturer III

Office: FLN 4.02.28
Phone: (210) 458-8163
Email: Fernando.Martinez@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Assessment
  • Environmental Botany
  • Environmental System
  • Herpetology
  • Wildlife Biology
Terri Matiella
Terri Matiella, Ph.D.
Senior Lecturer

Office: FLN 4.02.32
Phone: (210) 458-8268
Email: Terri.Matiella@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Systems
  • Survey Topics
Kareem Mattis
Kareem Mattis
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: Kareem.Mattis@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Intro to Environmental Science I Lab
  • Principles of Ecology Lab
Whitney O'Connell
Whitney O'Connell, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 4.03.18
Phone: (210) 458-5426
Email: Whitney.Oconnell@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Systems II Lab
  • Environmental Zoology Lab
Jennifer Smith
Jennifer Smith, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.03.32
Phone: (210) 458-7037
Email: Jennifer.Smith@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Field Ecology
  • Ornithology
  • Wildlife Biology
Robert Thompson
Robert Thompson, J.D.
Senior Lecturer

Email: Robert.Thompson@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Law
Matthew Troia
Matthew Troia, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.38

Areas of Specialization

  • Ichthyology
Allison Veach
Allison Veach, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor

Office: FLN 4.02.30
Phone: (210) 458-5136
Email: Allison.Veach@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Ecosystem Ecology
  • Environmental Microbiology
  • Plant-Microbe Interactions
  • Stream and Soil Ecology
Thomas Willmott
Thomas Willmott, M.S.
Lecturer I

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: Thomas.Willmott@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Environmental Botany
  • Environmental Ecology
  • Environmentl Geology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Soil Biogeochemistry
Gwen Young
Gwen Young, Ph.D.
Lecturer II

Office: FLN 1.01.02B
Phone: (210) 458-5798
Email: Gwen.Young@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Conservation Biology
  • Environmental Systems
  • Survey Topics
  • Technical Writing

Emeritus

Oscar Van Auken
Oscar Van Auken, Ph.D.
Professor Emeritus

Office: FLN 3.01.08
Phone: (210) 458-5489
Email: Oscar.Vanauken@utsa.edu

Areas of Specialization

  • Physiological Plant Ecology
  • Woody Plants