Latest campus and coronavirus information Roadrunner Return Fall 2020
Skip to Search Skip to Global Navigation Skip to Local Navigation Skip to Content
Show/Hide University Links

Bacterial Meningitis

Texas state law requires all new incoming college and university students under the age of 22 to show proof of meningitis vaccination or a booster dose within five years from the first day of the school semester. Students must get the vaccine at least 10 days before the semester begins. Only the quadrivalent vaccine, which protects against 4 types of meningitis (MCV4, MPSV4) will be accepted. Meningitis B vaccines do not meet the requirement.

The following students are exempt from the vaccine requirement:

  • A student 22 years of age or older by the first day of the semester

  • A student enrolled only in online or other distance education courses

  • A student enrolled in a continuing education course or program that is less than 360 contact hours

  • A student that cannot take the vaccine because of medical reasons (must be verified by physician)

  • A student declining the vaccine due to reasons of conscience, including a religious belief. Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) Vaccine Exemption Affidavit Form.

For more information about meningitis, please visit CDC Meningitis Information Website.

Acceptable Documentation

We will accept any one of the following:

  • A document bearing the signature or stamp of a physician or the physician’s designee or the public health official that administered the vaccination that shows the month, day and year the required vaccine was administered;

  • A copy of an official immunization record issued by a licensed health care provider or local health authority in your country;

  • A copy of an official record received directly from a school official

    • Conscientious Objection form
      • We only accept originals (no copies) of the official Texas Department of State Health Services (TDSHS) form. The TDSHS form must be completed, notarized, and sent to Student Health Services within 90 days from the date it was notarized.

    Required documentation must:

    • Be written in English;

    • Please be sure that your name, birth date, and doctor/clinic name are listed on EACH page of your documentation

      • Clearly identify that the required vaccine was administered to the individual.

        • A receipt from a pharmacy is not acceptable documentation

      Submission Instructions:

      To avoid a delay in registering for classes, please submit documentation at least two weeks prior to attending/completing Orientation.

      To expedite documentation processing, please include your Banner ID (@01234567) or your MyUTSAID (ABC123).

      Submit your immunization records to UTSA Student Health Services by one of four ways:

         By Mail or In Person
          UTSA Student Health Services
          One UTSA Circle, RWC 1.500
          San Antonio, TX 78249
         By Fax: (210) 458-4151
         Email:StudentHealthServices@utsa.edu

      Please Note

      Documents will be processed Monday to Friday 8:00 am to 4:00 pm. Any documents received after 4:00 pm will be processed on the next business day. Holds are not removed on weekends and holidays.

      The submission of documents will not remove holds automatically. Students will be notified if submission does not meet requirements. Students can check the status of a hold via their ASAP account.