Office of the President

President's Student Advisory Council

The President's Student Advisory Council is an elite group of undergraduate thought leaders who provide diverse insights into the student experience at UTSA. Through regular dialogues with the President, the Council offers feedback on student priorities and acts as a sounding board for new ideas and university strategic initiatives.


The council meets 1-2 times a semester with President Eighmy to discuss topics pertinent to the UTSA student experience. Council members may occasionally be requested to attend special meetings or events to gather input or share their perspective.


The Council is comprised of 16 undergraduate students representing various academic programs, co-curricular experiences and demographic backgrounds. 

Members serve a two-year term. 

2019 President's Student Advisory Council Members

Zainab Adams Biology 2019
Gabriel Alvarez Criminal Justice & Psychology 2019
Naomi Alyafei Biomedical Engineering 2020
Jay'Len Boone Global Affairs & Sociology 2019
Montse Castro Kinesiology 2019
Qiwei Chen Biochemistry 2020
Mufaro Chitakure Actuarial Science 2020
Victor Feagins Actuarial Science 2020
Brenda Leal Psychology 2019
Kirby Hansen Construction Science & Management 2019
Leon Hein Psychology 2020
Samuel Mayes Medical Humanities 2019
Daniel Naiem Computer Science & Biology 2020
Daisy Paredes Anthropology & Public Health 2020
Valerie Quintana Finance & Marketing 2020
Katherine  Rico Biology 2020
Kae  Roemershauser Politics & Law 2020
Trinity Schaefer Biomedical Engineering 2020
Christian Strong Chemical Engineering 2020
Tiffany Tabourne Computer Science    2020

Nomination Process

All freshmen, sophomore and juniors in good academic standing are eligible for nomination to the Council. All student nominations must be forwarded to the president by a college dean or other designated members of the administration. 

Nominated students will then be asked to complete an online application form, requiring a resume and statement of interest. All applicants will be reviewed by the Office of the President, and finalist interviews will take place to determine final appointments.

All interested students can be nominated by the dean of their academic college or by one of the other campus administrators listed below. 

JoAnn Browning
Dean, College of Engineering 

Lisa Campos
Vice President for Intercollegiate Athletics and Athletics Director

Margo DelliCarpini
Dean, College of Education and Human Development

Lisa Firmin
Associate Vice President for Veteran and Military Affairs

Rhonda Gonzales
Interim Dean, College of Liberal and Fine Arts

David Silva
Dean, College of Sciences

Sean Kelly
Dean, Honors College

Barry McKinney
Associate Dean of Students

JoAnn Browning
Interim Dean, College of Architecture, Construction & Planning
LT Robinson
Dean of Students
Lloyd Potter
Interim Dean, College of Public Policy

Gerry Sanders
Dean, College of Business

Heather Shipley
Dean, University College

Mary Larson Diaz
Chief of Staff, Office of the President