Join President Eighmy as he reflects on the university's recent accomplishments, looks ahead to new opportunities and moderates a panel discussion with faculty, staff and students.

Monday, January 22, 2024 |  9:00-10:15 a.m
Buena Vista Theater | UTSA Downtown Campus

Faculty and staff are encouraged to attend the event in person at the Downtown Campus Buena Vista Theater (BV 1.326) or by viewing the livestream below.

Click here to add to calendar



Dr. Taylor Eighmy

Eighmy is the 6th president of The University of Texas at San Antonio (UTSA). He is passionate about the critical role that research universities play in creating and applying knowledge to improve the world.

Erica Clark

Erica Clark
Director of Student Innovation

Clark has worked in higher education for over ten years and currently serves at the Najim Center for Innovation and Career Advancement with a leadership focus on career readiness.



Jennilee Garza

Jennilee Garza
Senior Director of Strategic Communications

Garza has worked in higher education for more than a decade and leads strategic communications in the Office of the Vice President for Advancement and Alumni Engagement with a focus on the university's largest fundraising campaign in history, Be Bold: A Campaign for Our Future.


Josh Gerkin

Joshua Gerken
Senior Assistant Vice President, Asset Management

Gerken is a part of the Real Estate and Property Management team and leads the Asset Management department that oversees space management, campus planning and standards, the office of sustainability and real estate.



Karen Aston

Karen Aston
Head Coach, Woman's Basketball

Aston is the 10th head coach in program history at UTSA. She has been consistently recognized as one of the top coaches in the nation and was formerly the head coach at Texas, North Texas, and Charlotte.

Melissa Hernandez

Dr. Melissa Hernandez
Associate Dean of Students, Wellbeing Services

Dr. Hernandez has worked at UTSA for over 20 years with a focus on counseling and wellbeing services surrounding mental health for students.


Dhisreesha Kudithipudi

Dr. Dhireesha Kudithipudi
Director of MATRIX AI Consortium. Endowed Chair & Professor of Electrical & Computer Engineering/ Computer Science

Dr. Kudithipudi worked at Rochester Institute of Technology for 13 years before joining UTSA as a Robert F McDermott Endowed Chair in Engineering, professor of electrical and computer engineering/computer science and founding Director of the MATRIX AI Consortium.



Anna Almaraz

Anna Almaraz
Alumnus, M.B.A Candidate, Entrepreneur 

Almaraz founded her own company, Social Sophie Marketing LLC, at age 15. As the company's CEO, she was recently inducted into the Texas Business Hall of Fame as a future legend. She earned her B.B.A. in marketing in May 2023 and is currently pursuing an M.B.A. in entrepreneurship and leadership.



Watch: 2024 State of the University recording