The Office of Risk and Emergency Management (OREM) prevents, prepares, and responds to campus emergencies to mitigate the lasting impact of these events. OREM consists of Business Continuity and Emergency Management (BCEM) and Risk Management and Life Safety (RMLS). BCEM develops all-hazard plans, programs, outreach, and training to prepare the campus community for emergencies and/or disasters that may affect our campuses. RMLS provides full-circle operational risk management through consultation and insurance (including Workers’ Compensation) administration, and fire prevention and code compliance, using engineering, enforcement, and education. Our highest priority is to help provide a safe and secure academic and research environment for the UTSA community of students, faculty, staff, and visitors. In addition to our partnerships at UTSA, OREM works cooperatively with the University of Texas System, the City of San Antonio, and the State of Texas to achieve this objective.

Our Staff

Lorenzo Sanchez

Dr. Lorenzo D. Sanchez, CEM, CBCP
Director of Risk & Emergency Management
Email: lorenzo.sanchez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6756

  • Provides oversight of all OREM personnel, operations, programs, and services
  • Responsible for maintaining preparedness, response, recovery, and mitigation strategies for the UTSA community
  • Advises university leadership on emergency response recommendations

Risk Management & Life Safety Team
John DeLaHunt

John DeLaHunt, ARM
Risk & Life Safety Manager
Email: john.delahunt@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-4420

  • Fire code inspections and enforcement
  • Construction plan review and system acceptance
  • Training and education
  • Insurance requirements
  • Property conservation
  • Tort Claims

Risk Management (riskmgt@utsa.edu)

Randy Spencer

Randy Spencer
Workers’ Compensation/Risk & Claims Coordinator
Email: randy.spencer@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-8178

  • Workers Compensation
  • Injured employee Return to Work
  • Tort claims
  • Risk Information Management Systems

Adelaida Torres

Adelaida Torres
Risk Assessment Specialist
Email: adelaida.torres@utsa.edu

  • Occupational Safety
  • Hazard Risk Assessment and Mitigation

Fire Prevention (fire@utsa.edu)
Scott Swetnam

Scott Swetnam
Fire & Life Safety Specialist II
Email: scott.swetnam@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-5809

  • Plan review, construction inspection, system acceptance
  • Fire prevention in construction
  • Training and education



Xavier Santos

Xavier Santos
Fire Prevention Program Coordinator
Email: xavier.santos@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-5809

  • Inspection of the built environment
  • Fire extinguishers
  • Fire alarm evacuation exercises

Business Continuity & Emergency Management (BCEM) Team (beprepared@utsa.edu)
Cory Garcia, CEM

Cory Garcia, CEM
Business Continuity & Emergency Management Coordinator
Email: cory.garcia@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6704

  • Assists the Director in implementing a comprehensive emergency management program across the UTSA community
  • All-hazards planning lead
  • Business Continuity program lead


Elizabeth Rodriguez-Santo

Elizabeth Rodriguez-Santo
Business Continuity & Emergency Management Specialist
Email: elizabeth.rodriguez-santo@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-3668

  • Floor Captain Safety Liaison Program
  • Outreach, training, and exercise programs



John Yanez

John Yanez
Student Assistant
Email: john.yanez@utsa.edu
Phone: (210) 458-6851

  • Inspects life safety equipment
  • Updates public safety information centers